We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Happened?”
Review of Plage du Festival

Plage du Festival
Ranked #59 of 810 Restaurants in Cannes
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 July 2022

I live in Cannes, and we went to this beach club every day, every summer for 10 plus years. The Plage du Festival was my favorite beach club. Food quality has really declined, and they now are charging 65 euros for a beach chair. Two years ago it was 30. I’d be happy to pay 65 if the food and service remained great, but it simply feels like they’re trying to cater to very wealthy Russian clientele. It’s a real shame they’ve let everything decline to such an extent, all the while ratcheting up the prices more than 100% whilst reducing the portion sizes and quality, sad state of affairs.

Date of visit: June 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NycNativelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2022

Our favourite beach & lunch restaurant in Cannes for the last decade. But our visit today was just underwhelming. The new booking system on beach chairs is not easy to understand, i am not sure the beach club themself understand it. Our fantastic hotel, Five Seas Cannes, tried their best to help us.
On the beach itself service is so poor its just a comedy. Friendly waiters, but they forgot half the orders they took. Everybody complaining. 30 min wait for a bottle of water & coffee. No strawberries & watermelon for sale at a fancy Cannes beach club. Extreme poor. Wake up!!
The lunch itself made our mood little better. Our table was ready on time. But they didnt have menus in english. Not to believe in a tourist place like this. First time we ever experience this in Cannes.
Service was friendly in the restaurant. Food was also ok. Not on the level we are used to at this restaurant, but we was told its a new team running it.
Missed lobster pasta & other deliscious dishes from earlier visits. Burger was also very plain & flat on taste this year. They have a huge job to do here to get back up on a decent level. It was also construction going on in the restaurant, strange choice of timing in main season...

Date of visit: June 2022
3  Thank Tool007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 June 2022 via mobile

25 mins after ordering for water @ 30C, 10 mins after for starter 1 plate, 10 mins after for basket of bread. Service is rude and do not even handle your requests for water

Date of visit: June 2022
2  Thank nickaronis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 June 2022

First time to visit this Beach Club, but we were not disappointed.
Very attentive service, clean and comfortable beach chairs, good food. As all other beach clubs on the Croisette, you pay more than in othet sections, but it is woth it!

Date of visit: June 2022
1  Thank Sugar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 June 2022

I took my mother and children for Sunday lunch but experience was ruined by terrible service. The restaurant was half empty when we arrived and I asked for a nice table, only to be told haughtily it was the manager’s table, the table stayed empty throughout our lunch, poor client service. As I was about to go for a quick dip in the sea before sitting down for lunch, the waiter told me aggressively that clients are not allowed to go for a swim. Outrageous and totally illegal. The beach is a public beach and belongs to the Cannes municipality, but the restaurant wants you to pay for a mattress to be allowed in the sea. Totally out of order, certainly for an Australian like me where free access to the sea is a fundamental right! Service was poor, slow and standoffish throughout. We told the waiter the risotto was listed as vegetarian on the menu even though it contained fish. He said he didn’t know vegetarians could not eat fish… lol… Overpriced and very average food. Stay away from that restaurant, plenty of other nice beach restaurants in Cannes.

Date of visit: June 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chiara77798
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Plage du Festival also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Plage du Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.