We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple & NO Finesse”

L'Ecureuil Espagnol
Ranked #102 of 715 Restaurants in Antibes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$30
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Visited with friends, easy to locate, most eating in street as no aircon! Service good if lacking in consistency, wine list limited but cheap. Paella crude in presentation with large pieces of sausage and large portions. Taste average and not traditional but at €22 per person good value. One portion would feed two easily. Better restaurants than this in Antibes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank orangeMonteCarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017

After intending to visit this restaurant for many years, it was always closed or too busy on my visits to Antibes. This time we got lucky on the first Sunday evening they had decided to open for some time. Initially surprised at our 7.30pm reservation revealed us to be the only customers, with even Amandos wife admitting to being unsure of demand on a Sunday. She need not worry as 2 hours later the place was packed.
We opted for Tapas, whilst awaiting the creation of our Seafood/Chorizo Paella which was possibly a mistake as we struggled to finish what was a Paella stuffed with ingredients and not just a glorified rice dish, by far the best in our experience.
The house rose wine was a little lacking in character but the red Rioja was a better accompaniment.
Possibly not the cheapest meal on offer in Antibes but well worth the experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank harrydlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amando c, Propriétaire at L'Ecureuil Espagnol, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

thank you
hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

We make a point of eating in this, our favourite restaurant, when we come to Antibes. Amando and his wife are the owners and he is the chef. He is one of the nicest people you could meet!
If you want to order a paella, then please be prepared to wait 40 minutes. This is normal for a freshly cooked paella and by the time you've had your starter etc, it will be ready.
We had "black" ham starter, which while relatively expensive at €17, was plentiful and delicious. Our calamari paella was excellent, soft and cooked to perfection.
Taking into account the quality, L'Ecureuil Espagnol must be among the best value for money venues in Antibes.
Booking is advised.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brynboru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amando c, Propriétaire at L'Ecureuil Espagnol, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

thank you so much !
see you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

We went here for dinner.
Warm nice welcome
The old couple running this restaurant know how to treat theire guests
We orderd tapas as starter. Sooooo big! I am not a fan of cummin so I didnt fancy the moussels. But its me, not the chef!
The escalope was yummi, really yummi. I do not understand tagliatelle to go with it but it was ok
The chef (also a nice older man) came to our table to make sure that it was good food and to make sure that it was enough.
If you visit Antibes this is a good place to spend an evening, you will feel welcome and leave the restaurant realaxed and with a smile on your face
.....and BTW the use Langioleknifes when they serve meat!!!

Thank Siv-HildeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We have eaten at this restaurant a couple of times now and are going again tonight.
There are lots of places to eat in antibes but this little place offers a unique service usually with the chef getting involved with the ordering. They obviously buy in fresh produce and although meet what is on the menu will give you advice on what they have and specialities of the house. You can pre order Paella which is delicious but then so is every thing else. It's authentic honest fresh food and the ambiance is typically Spanish French fusion - if there is such a thing. Booking is advisable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank slj1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amando c, Propriétaire at L'Ecureuil Espagnol, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

thanck you so much !!!!
we hope you come back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Ecureuil Espagnol also viewed

Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Juan-les-Pins, Antibes
 
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Juan-les-Pins, Antibes
 

Been to L'Ecureuil Espagnol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing