We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day in Provence”
Review of Wine Safari

Wine Safari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WINE SAFARI/SIMPLE-EDUCATIONAL-FUN-SENSATIONAL.IT IS THE SERVICE FOR TOURISTS WANTING TO VISIT AND UNDERSTAND THE VINEYARDS OF THE RHONEVALLEY.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were able to get a reservation with Mike at Wine Safari for a full day wine tour in the Southern Rhone valley. He was at our apartment exactly as arranged and off we went on a fabulous day full of wine information and tastings. He started with Wine 101 and took us through not only the grape varieties and their place in the wines but also the soil (and rock) importance in the process. He was knowledgeable, professional and answered our every question in an easy to understand manner. We enjoyed a very relaxing and enjoyable day with Mike. We highly recommend him as a wine guide, you will be amazed at what you will learn.

Thank Dutch2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roussanne, Owner at Wine Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks dear wine friends , stay good ambassadors for (Rhone) wine. But it is thanks to your curiousity that the word will spread for more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"du rhone"
in 7 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 11 reviews
"mike's tour"
in 2 reviews
"educational tour"
in 3 reviews
"local vineyards"
in 2 reviews
"food pairings"
in 3 reviews
"full day tour"
in 8 reviews
"grape varieties"
in 2 reviews
"tasting room"
in 2 reviews
"provence area"
in 3 reviews
"great tour"
in 5 reviews
"french countryside"
in 2 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 2 reviews
"small group"
in 2 reviews
"geology"
in 8 reviews
"gigondas"
in 10 reviews
"france"
in 27 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2018

Mike picked us up at our hotel and we spent a wonderful and memorable day with him learning about Rhone wines. He loves what he does and it certainly comes out in the knowledge he exudes. We went there trying to learn more about the area and it's wines, which are our favorite. After only one afternoon with Mike, we certainly achieved our goal. We would certainly recommend Mike for as much time as you can possibly spend with him. Thank you Mike!

Thank NewOrleansFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenacheblanc, Owner at Wine Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thanks dear Family, to stay ambassadors for the Rhonevalley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

In mid-March my wife and I did a full-day tour with Mike, and it was terrific. Mike adeptly walked us through the Rhone Valley's history and geology in a way that was fun and easy to understand. He tied that background to the vineyards and vines themselves, and, by the time we had our first tasting in Châteauneuf du Pape, we had a deeper appreciation for what we were doing and where we were. On top of that, the wines were plentiful and good. We ate lunch at a pleasant country restaurant. The food was amazing, and the menu had items that we didn't see anywhere else on our trip. In short, I can't imagine a better, more knowledgeable guide than Mike and the region is breathtaking. I can't overstate how much I recommend this experience.

Thank Seanhmann86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenacheblanc, Owner at Wine Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thanks dear people, from now on you are ambassadors for the Rhone Sincere regards Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Mike Rijken has a passion for what he does everyday, which is to take wine lovers on a history and wine tasting experience in the Rhone Valley. He calls it Wine Safari and it is the best way to see, taste and learn all that is wine in this area of France. We were traveling through Provence on vacation with another couple and Mike was recommended to us by our B&B hosts. Mike is one-part wine professor and two-parts tour expert. His style of explaining the history and nuances of Provence/Rhone Valley wines is perfect for wine lovers looking to grasp as much information as they can in a short period of time. He picked us up in his new, well kept van and wasted not a minute getting us primed for our first stop in a historical vineyard. We were not disappointed. We did the half-day tour which included stops at vineyards, wineries and wine tasting, and a few ancient buildings with breath-taking views across the French countryside.

Thank mickanddeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenacheblanc, Owner at Wine Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thans for your kind words. You are now amabassadors for the Rhone for me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Our guide was superb. What a wonderful way to spend the day in Provence. Mike is so knowledgeable and spends a great deal of time explaining the various varieties of grape, how raised and most importantly, how used in each wine. I used to think Cote Du Rhône was just all red wine raised in a certain area. Boy was I wrong. For those readers who are wine experts, you may scoff at my comments, but you can’t argue with Mikes’ expertise and his knowledge of the region. If you want a great trip. Stop here. You found it.

Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenacheblanc, Owner at Wine Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thanks Bob for the nice words and stay a good ambassador for the Rhone wines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wine Safari also viewed

 
Avignon, Vaucluse
 

Been to Wine Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing