We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
All you need in a private wine tour.

Think about it, what are you looking for in a private wine tour? You want to learn about the area... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Dinertree
Top drawer wine tour

Mike is a chef, a sommelier, a history buff, and an all-around great guy to spend the day with... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
follychad
,
Charleston, South Carolina
Read all 145 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Avignon
from US$63.60
More Info
from US$63.60
More Info
from US$92.50
More Info
from US$75.20
More Info
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
131
8
3
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
8
3
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thanks mike du rhone his knowledge sandy soil food pairings educational tour grape varieties full day tour local vineyards quaint restaurant tasting experience behind the scenes provence area great tour visited several his passion french countryside
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Mike picked us up at our hotel and we spent a wonderful and memorable day with him learning about Rhone wines. He loves what he does and it certainly comes out in the knowledge he exudes. We went there trying to learn more about the area and it's wines, which are our favorite. After only one afternoon with Mike, we certainly achieved our goal. We would certainly recommend Mike for as much time as you can possibly spend with him. Thank you Mike!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank NewOrleansFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenacheblanc, Owner at Wine Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thanks dear Family, to stay ambassadors for the Rhonevalley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

In mid-March my wife and I did a full-day tour with Mike, and it was terrific. Mike adeptly walked us through the Rhone Valley's history and geology in a way that was fun and easy to understand. He tied that background to the vineyards and vines themselves, and, by the time we had our first tasting in Châteauneuf du Pape, we had a deeper appreciation for what we were doing and where we were. On top of that, the wines were plentiful and good. We ate lunch at a pleasant country restaurant. The food was amazing, and the menu had items that we didn't see anywhere else on our trip. In short, I can't imagine a better, more knowledgeable guide than Mike and the region is breathtaking. I can't overstate how much I recommend this experience.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Seanhmann86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenacheblanc, Owner at Wine Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thanks dear people, from now on you are ambassadors for the Rhone Sincere regards Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Mike Rijken has a passion for what he does everyday, which is to take wine lovers on a history and wine tasting experience in the Rhone Valley. He calls it Wine Safari and it is the best way to see, taste and learn all that is wine in this area of France. We were traveling through Provence on vacation with another couple and Mike was recommended to us by our B&B hosts. Mike is one-part wine professor and two-parts tour expert. His style of explaining the history and nuances of Provence/Rhone Valley wines is perfect for wine lovers looking to grasp as much information as they can in a short period of time. He picked us up in his new, well kept van and wasted not a minute getting us primed for our first stop in a historical vineyard. We were not disappointed. We did the half-day tour which included stops at vineyards, wineries and wine tasting, and a few ancient buildings with breath-taking views across the French countryside.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank mickanddeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenacheblanc, Owner at Wine Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thans for your kind words. You are now amabassadors for the Rhone for me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Our guide was superb. What a wonderful way to spend the day in Provence. Mike is so knowledgeable and spends a great deal of time explaining the various varieties of grape, how raised and most importantly, how used in each wine. I used to think Cote Du Rhône was just all red wine raised in a certain area. Boy was I wrong. For those readers who are wine experts, you may scoff at my comments, but you can’t argue with Mikes’ expertise and his knowledge of the region. If you want a great trip. Stop here. You found it.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank n75bg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenacheblanc, Owner at Wine Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thanks Bob for the nice words and stay a good ambassador for the Rhone wines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

A fantastic day with Mike on our Wine Safari! My husband and I were taken on a personal visit to several vineyards and we also stopped at the ruins of Chateâu Maucoil, where he taught us all about the different grape varieties. We were taken to a Chateâuneuf De-Pape winery - Roger Sabon, and tried some gorgeous reds. After lunch at a lovely recommended restaurant, we visited a second winery - Domaine Les Goubert, a family run vineyard.
We learnt so much and tried some fantastic wine. We highly recommend a day with Mike if you love wine!
Thank-you Mike for a superb day, Sam & Sam

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Samantha Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenacheblanc, Owner at Wine Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Sam and Sam , Thanks for your kind words and stay good ambassadors for the Rhone wines Greetings Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews