We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
134
117
26
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
117
26
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the train stationstarry night over the rhonerick steves recommendationno elevatorview of the riverfree parkingkey card systemsmall buffetrun establishmentmonoprix supermarketcroissantswithin walking distancejust the right amountfriendly and helpful ownerstiny roomrented bikesold town
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Hotel Regence is really pleasant hotel to stay. Good location on the quiet place but still very close to the center. The room was very clean, with comfortable bed and furnished in a nice romantic style. Hotel staff was very helpfull and friendly. As well we had not a problem to find a parking place. Unfortunately there is no elevator and no automatic lights on the stairway, but still it was a good experience and we can recommend this place.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Marcela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regence, Gérant at Le Regence, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Thank you for this message of encouragement.
We wish you a good end of year celebrations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

We arrived in Arles without a hotel reservation and really got lucky when the Regence had a double room available--with a view of the Rhone! The price was similar to what we had paid in Avignon, but with a larger room and bathroom, plus a nice buffet breakfast. We could walk alongside the river to get from the hotel to the Arles tourist attractions, the train station or bus depot. When we needed to arrange a place to stay at our next stop (Paris) and couldn't figure out how to use the hotel's computer, the manager very graciously did it for us.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regence, Gérant at Le Regence, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016
Google Translation

Thank you for your encouragement.
Sincerely your
Eric & Valérie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Having booked the hotel via email, and read the reviews on TA, we had hoped this would live up to expectations. However, it was let down by irritable service at the front desk and we ended up deciding not to stay.

On arrival into Arles by car we had become slightly lost due to our Satnav not taking account of the city centre electronic bollards, which give access only for certain businesses/hotels etc. It wasn't a problem, we managed to park in a small car park a few streets away and walk to the hotel. The man at reception (was this Eric? he did not introduce himself) was at first mildly polite, but became immediately irritated with me when I asked if he had access to the bollard system, telling us that he did not.

He proceeded to give us a friendly chat about the city, showing us the map, but then changed again and became irritated when we did not want to immediately commit to ordering the breakfast. Bearing in mind it was only 5pm when we arrived at the hotel, and after a long day's drive we wanted to take a few minutes to decide, I thought his response rather odd.

We then proceeded to the room, which looked small and clean, but smelt stuffy and like it needed a good airing.

The hotel pamphlet in the room stated that Wifi was charged at 2 euros a day; and in addition we could not get a signal. Our understanding from our booking was that Wifi was free. We went back to ask the man again, and he once again became irritated, to the point of rudeness, telling us that the charge was for use of the computers and not the Wifi. After trying the signal again upstairs, and having no luck, I returned to find the man was still irritated, demanding that I wait until his female colleague had reset the router. By now we had had enough, not of the lack of Wifi, but of the unfriendly and short tempered treatment, and we left.

We ended up walking around the corner to the Hotel Musee, where the rooms smelt fresh and lovely, the Wifi worked, and most importantly, the staff were friendly and polite.

So in summary, perhaps a good, central location. To be fair we did not stay, so I cannot comment on the full experience, but sadly our experience of the service was just unacceptable, so I could not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank TubsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regence, Gérant at Le Regence, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

dear sir,
We note your comments:
Access to hotel can not be through pedestrian streets of downtown, it must go through the boulevard outside the gps indicates poor management currently but we can not do anything except give you the right path .
wifi not working on arrival, we immediately go restart is 2 minutes after it worked.
the room did not tell you more we are sorry, too bad you soyer party sought your luggage and you are never returned.
We could offer you another room if we had asked.
politeness you could tell us that you do not would return.
the direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015

A nice, clean, quiet and comfortable hotel with a very convenient location along the Rhone. The rooms are not large but they are nice and the bathrooms are well appointed. Our TGV train from Paris was very late getting into Avignon and we ended up having to take a taxi (100 Euros) to Arles. We called the hotel where we had a reservation and told them we were going to be late and were concerned if someone was going to be there to check us in. They stayed a good 45 minutes past the usual desk closing time awaiting our arrival. There are no rooms on the ground floor and no elevator or lift so you have to be able to climb stairs. The stairs were wide so other than the physical effort it is not a struggle especially with suitcases. The stairwell lights are activated by a timed switch and do not go off as quickly as indicated in some of the other reviews where this was apparently an issue. One time I came down 2 floors to the ground floor when I realized I had forgotten something and was able to go back up retrieve the item and back down with the stairway lights still on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Rhone for the best view but even the side rooms have adequate views.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alanme44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regence, Gérant at Le Regence, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

thans very much

sincerly your
eric and valérie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015

From looking at TripAdvisor, my wife and I were expecting a hotel of a reasonable standard.
However from the lethargic attitude on check-in by Eric to the quality of the room, we were very disappointed.
The stairwell is painted dark red so no reflection and no advice on how to find nor operate the light switches - thus very dangerous. Indeed met a man on the stairs who had slipped and was badly shaken and only by us finding with difficulty a light switch could we help him.
The room décor seemed more 1960s than the present century and the ancient bed covers, complete with holes, were in a bright yellow colour - with the walls in a yellowish faded colour plus awful cream doors.
Even if one ignored the colours, there was nothing pleasant about the room, with old chipped room mirror and grotty bedside table.
The bathroom had been modernised but no maintenance as the shower tap dripped and the wash basin tap was jammed tight and impossible to move without a wrench.
The hotel claims toiletries provided - but only items in our shower room were poor quality towels, two very small cheap soaps and toilet paper!
The television allegedly was satellite but all that we could see were French channels.
However we had a good audio reception - of other peoples toilets flushing!
Immediately after arrival, we asked Eric (I can speak fluent French) if we could have another room but he claimed that all other rooms were occupied. However this seemed untrue as we saw two sets of couples arrive much later than us and check in.
Another strange thing is that on arrival that we were asked if we wanted breakfast "to avoid the hotel avoid ordering bread and croissants unnecessarily." Obviously the cost per person of say one or two euros of unpaid food is too much for this hotel management to bear.
Free parking in the street was possible but we saw remnants of one broken car window so perhaps crime is an issue.
Most of the town's restaurants and sights are accessible within about a 10 minute walk and the River Rhone is adjacent to the hotel - construction work on defences currently under way (autumn 2015) though no noise when we were there.
If driving to the hotel, do not use the minor streets - our updated Garmin GPS did not warn us of more recent hydraulic bollards blocking off numerous streets. Fortunately one very charming lady motorist helped us with the use of her access card.
Unfortunately with the hotel décor, stairway safety, poor maintenance and attitude of staff coupled with a relatively high price for a sub-standard accommodation, this is a hotel that we would advise anyone not to choose, based on our experience.

Room Tip: For a good sleep,stay in another hotel
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank westeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regence, Gérant at Le Regence, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015

The decoration of our hotel did not like you, you came to the front desk, ask to change rooms, but it was impossible, we were full and in addition all the rooms have similar decoration
You have threatened to put a bad review on tripadvisor ...., What you just did.
I understand that the hotel standards did not fit you, but do not be against dishonest in your comments.
The decor is new renovated hotel between 2010 and 2013.
The covers are new and non-perforated (blue in your room and not yellow) foreign channels work you had a list in the booklet, taps running smoothly.
We try not to waste for breakfast, we do not understand your point.
When you arrived, we show you the switch on the staircase, we have not heard of falling down the stairs, it's weird.
For parking I have never seen a broken car around the hotel.
That's a lot of things wrong.
the price of 72 euros for a twin room with views of the Rhone you seem very expensive, I do not see where with 36 euros for 2 people you can sleep in our region. ?
Damage to enjoy this site to convey false ideas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews