We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
136
120
26
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
120
26
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews close to the train station starry night over the rhone rick steves recommendation view of the river no elevator free parking key card system small buffet run establishment monoprix supermarket croissants within walking distance tiny room friendly and helpful owners rented bikes old town stayed here for three nights
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

Very clean hotel and a great find as we were soaking wet. The room looked over the Rhone and straight across the river Van Gogh painted the starry starry night. Basic breakfast. Don't forget to ask how the coffee machine works or else you will be severely reprimanded

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regence, Gérant at Le Regence, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Thank you for your message.
We are always available to serve breakfast which seems to be fairly complete as it can find, in addition to croissants, Cereals, bread and white full, jam, ham and sausage, two kinds of cheese, eggs, yogurt, cottage cheese, homemade cake, brioche, fruit juice, applesauce, fruit in syrup .... all at the buffet and we are sorry if our instructions regarding the use of the espresso appeared to you guidelines.
We hope to see you again under a beautiful sun of Provence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We booked Le Regence while travelling Provence towns looking for a short visit to Arles’ roman ruins and a nice dinner. The convenient location allowed for walking distance to both objectives. Fortunately, our plan included only an overnight since accommodations were not inviting for a longer stay. Clearly in need of refurbishing, the two-star and rate combination appeared a bit excessive for some members of our party.

Room Tip: River view
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mlgtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

We loved staying at the Hotel Regence in Arles. Eric and Valerie were both exceedingly lovely proprietors, who were tremendously helpful to us in every way. They made our stay in Arles and our trips through Provence memorable. The rooms are well maintained, with great blinds that darken the room completely in the evenings. The only drawback was a showerhead with a loose fitting. The breakfast area is clean and lovely. There is free parking along the river, and the views of the river are very nice, despite construction at the ground level. The hotel is located about 5 minutes from the train station and is easy walking distance to all the sights in Arles. But the best thing about Hotel Regence is its helpful staff. They offered wonderful suggestions with regard to day trips, helped us negotiate a last minute car rental, and provided us with good information about buses and trains. We love the city of Arles, and we love the Hotel Regence.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Originally booked Hotel du Forum (walked by it when we were there, way too close to that noisy plaza), but finalized on this no frills inn based on Rick Steves recommendation and this was wonderful - quiet, clean & what a view! We had two double beds, top floor, facing the river, the sunset view was JUST like van Gogh had painted, my daughter (7 yrs) was soo thrilled to see the "real" thing before she saw the painting in Paris! Had a big room, big bathroom & renovated, didn't take the breakfast, went the to café & bakery on the next street. Wifi was extra, you need to ask for the password, I think it's about a euro or two a day. If you are coming via the train, this is really a close 5 min walk. Close to all the must-sees as well. Be aware that Arles restaurants close early, so eat way before 6:30 - 7! On a side note - must try the Lemon Sorbet with Vodka, yummy dessert!!

Room Tip: River view, top floor
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeavingDec30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015

It is easy for me to tell exactly who a recent reviewer when was describing when he/she was panning the lackadaisical, snooty service from the male desk man at this hotel. We missed our train because we did not receive our promised wake up call - spending 4 hours in the Marseilles train station rather than on the beach in Nice!).
All he said when we came down late was that "The system is WorkING. Ther system iis workING." Well, It Wasn't workING!!! And no apology, no offer to call a cab, no sympathy, no pretense of aid at all. And previously, Almost anytime we would ask for ANYTHING, it was like a big bother to him (unlike the woman, who was very nice -- but it was she who promised us TWICE the day before that the wake-up call was set).

I expect a hotel to be clean, safe, friendly, and reliable. -- Two out of 4 just doesn't cut it. (Also, the motion-sensor lights upstairs don't work very well.)

By the way, it's probably better to be clloser to the old town than on the concretized Rhone.

Also, if you are outside for dinner at dusk, the mosquitoes will also be out in force. Take insect repelant if you are going to Arles!!

No matter what type of response this hotel may write, I SWEAR that this is all true, and I feel bad for the female desk person who was always very nice. We've stayed in probably 100 hotels in Europe, and this was one of our very worst experiences.

Room Tip: Find another hotel! No elevator - lots of stairs - motion sensor lights don't work - sulky service
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SJTCHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regence, Gérant at Le Regence, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

ir,

we have noted your comments, we regret that your stay was unpleasant in our hotel, we always meet your demands.
The automatic clock system called you 2 times to 5 minutes apart and you do not answer, we're sorry that you did not hear.
To offer you a taxi or an alternative to go to Nice without wasting time it would have taken you to stop at the reception, but you went on to the station which is 300 meters, feet 5 minutes, we can understand.
We are sorry for your bad experience in Arles, we hope that the rest of your trip was comfortable for you.

Eric & Valérie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews