We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
151
84
21
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
84
21
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate sitting roommain roadsmall dining areamonday lunchcountry retreatseparate walk in showerlarge pooljunior suiteperfect place to relaxthese pricesminutes by carpool areawonderful hotelbusy roadhotel is locatedhomemade jamsi highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2017

This hotel is situated near a main road about 15 minutes from the Aix TGV train station, just outside Aix-en-Provence. Trees shield the hotel from the main road, and traffic noise isn't a problem, but if you stay, you're going to need transport to get anywhere. It's not cheap, and, at these prices, excellence is expected, but not, frankly, achieved. Staff are reasonable attentive, but a bit aloof. Rooms in the main building are small, there is no protection from mosquitos, the balconies are not cleaned regularly enough, and bird mess, along with old leaves, is everywhere. The pool is lovely, but, again, the surroundings are not properly cared for, and everywhere needs a good sweep. Eating outside is a real treat - there is a lovely spreading tree with tables beneath, and all is truly lovely, but sadly, they are completely relaxed about smoking - so non-smokers may well find their pleasure somewhat short-lived. The food is good, and the prices reasonable. The breakfast is excellent too, as it should be for the 20 Euros they charge. The Wi-Fi is OK, but constantly drops out. So, all-in-all, I'd recommend this place, mainly for the eating out in the evening in their lovely setting, but it's all a bit sadly shabby, non-smokers are not protected, and they need to up their game.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jobetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

The hotel is located outside of Aix, and although in a commercial area, the hotel itself is in a secluded area with trees around so not disturbed. The hotel itself and the rooms generally are beautiful and of a high standard. There was free parking, and with a car access to Aix was easy (although would not like to do it without a car). The pool are itself is nice and there is an on-site gym.

We had a room in main hotel (a standard double room) which was large and comfortable with a balcony over the restaurant. However, there is no proper shower in the bathroom (which as far as I could see was not advertised), only a bath. This was a surprise and very inconvenient (not something you usually have to ask for). The hotel was indifferent about it when we raised the issue. Also, it was a bit uncomfortable having no blidns on bathroom window - it appeared to have partially opaque windows, but you could see out to area whilst showering clearly and could see in from balcony (not sure if you could actually see from dining area, but it was uncomfortable).

The service from staff was indifferent - not terrible, but not friendly or welcoming and not particularly attentive or helpful (other than a couple of individual exceptions).

There is an on-site restaurant which is convenient and ok - in our experience, the food was hit and miss (some great, some average), but the service was definitely average (slow and indifferent service at dinner twice - for example, on second dinner, still waiting for bottle of wine after entree finished even though ordered it 20 minutes before). It also closes for Sunday night and Monday lunch, with no other alternatives, so something to be borne in mind.

The breakfast was nice (although as it should for EUR20 per person), with home made yoghurt and jams, fresh fruit, pastries, scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon.

So overall, it has a great potential to be fantastic, but not having a shower in room, indifferent staff and on-site restaurant let it down.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms in main hotel (room 23) - ours did not have a shower (not advertised)
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westwing86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Entrance to hotel from Aix is a very tight left hand turn off the busy road, but once you get there it's a world apart. Lovely setting. Villas scattered thru the grounds. We had booked a Junior Suite with a lovely view over the mountains but not too happy with the hand held shower over bath and rather tired looking furnishings. Suite 37. Asked if we could be moved and were delighted to be offered a refurbished ground floor suite - room 36. Couldn't have been happier. It was spacious and beautifully finished. The dining room is gorgeous - large glass windows overlooking a garden with a large 'pond' with fountain. Beams and exposed stonework abound throughout the property.
Food a delight. Breakfast choices good. It's a beautiful place. Staff exceptional - most spoke English. Plenty of parking. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights during the Euro 2016. A Family run hotel with a beautiful property located around 5 minutes by car from Aix em Provence. Don't recommend go walking since the hotel is in the middle of a highway.

The room is huge and has an old fashioned decor. They offer a king bed and the bathroom had a bath and shower with separate toilet.

Breakast altough expensive is very good.

Staff was always very friendly and helpful.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LordBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

One thing I would mention -as this trip was paid for by the company we travelled under, so not quite the same as ordering a meal in a restaurant, as this was a set menu.
But the main point I would draw your attention it was a magnificent evening in a wonderful setting. I being one of a party of 11 friends, were seated together on a round table, in a beautiful room, along with, not sure how many, but say at least a 100 other guests The menu of smoked & marinated salmon with zucchini mousse followed by a Guinea fowl with mushrooms, dauphinoise potatoes & pea flan then goats cheese with honey then a dessert of vanilla macaroon on red fruit sauce. The food was served very professionally,and tasted wonderful, tables being watched in order that no one was rushed, tables cleared when apt to do so. In the mean time drinks were also being served ,as you requested, as well as a selection of wines available.Prior to going to this restaurant we had no idea of the outcome of the evening, But all my friends & myself agreed - what an amazing evening -you may think I am gushing -prove me wrong !

Room Tip: Just relax and enjoy
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Roy055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews