We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
92
200
124
39
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
200
124
39
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shower screen place to sleep old city wifi car ibis motorway
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Not even worth describing the appalling way we were treated, but as Trip Advisor calls for a minimum 200 word count... My group and I were treated as second class citizens. We were told where to sit down for dinner, where we could and could not eat from, what to eat, and what time we need to be down for dinner. We were treated like school kids at a cafeteria. When we went to have dessert from the buffet table, we were told with a very pleasant smile that we were not allowed to have dessert from the buffet...after we had already filled our plates. The waiter waited (lol) for us until we placed the items back on the table. We were instead given a sort of creme brulee (which was good), and half a slice (not even a full one) of that morning's cake (not even joking).

Also, get this, how much do you think it would cost them for me to use fresh cutlery for my main course after starter's? Quite a lot I think, since the waiters come running back with your used cutlery if you leave them on the plate. If not, then they'll just casually place them back on the table.

Service with a smile? No thanks! Much of the staff is rude and unwilling to help. The lady at reception wouldn't even give me change for a 50EUR note. When I asked where I could go or who I could ask to accommodate me, she plainly told me "nowhere". At that moment I was left wondering whether I should laugh or cry. Thankfully, the situations that came up were so ridiculous and absurd that we all had a good laugh about our most recent incidents at dinner.

The room was fine, thankfully, but the walls were thin as paper. We heard some very unsavoury things coming from the rooms next to us, to put it lightly.

I hate leaving a bad review without acknowledging any positives, and that would be Bruno, the waiter who patiently accommodated us when he can.

Unfortunately, this is not enough to enthuse me into ever staying at any Campanile hotel. Next time, try not to make it so obvious that you were differentiating between your customers. We paid too, unfortunately.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Corinnejoy95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campanile Aix S... P, Directeur général at Campanile Hotel Aix En Provence Sud Pont de l'Arc, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear guest,
We are also sorry to learn that you have been disappointed by your stay. In order to improve the quality of our service, we did conduct an investigation in order to understand what happened to you.
As mentioned you came in our hotel-restaurant with a group as part of an organized tour. The menus for your meals have been planned in advance with the organizer and the formula did not included our buffets.
Also, to get some change you can go on the cours Mirabeau or at the airport but only during working hours.
We will not miss to forward your compliments to Bruno.

We stay at your disposal for furthermore information and we look forward to welcoming you for your next stay in Aix-en-Provence!

Best regards,
Herve V. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Conveniently located just off Motorway A8, but for dinner you need to drive into town. Vending machines and bar on site. Breakfast room a little crowded. Very similar in architecture and amenities to American motels. Parking right in front of room. Basic, but o.k.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vesna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campanile Aix S... P, Directeur général at Campanile Hotel Aix En Provence Sud Pont de l'Arc, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you sincerely for your very nice feedback!
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our modern architecture and free car park.. We are also pleased the you note our good location near city center and the highway exit.
However we do have a restaurant with cold and hot buffets open from noon to 2pm and from 7pm to 10pm.
We hope to welcome you soon again in our hotel !
Best regards,
Herve V. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

This is the very good and reliable place to stay overnight. Hotel offers free wifi and free parking and good breakfast for 9 EUR. This is kind of IBIS hotels but with wider rooms and shower. Hotel also offers lunch and dinner service.

Room Tip: bes value for the money.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TuralV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campanile Aix S... P, Directeur général at Campanile Hotel Aix En Provence Sud Pont de l'Arc, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your very nice feedback!
We constantly work to improve and it’s a pleasure to know you’ve enjoyed staying with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the comfort, cleanliness and calm of our moderns rooms. We are also pleased the you note the quality of our restaurant and ou buffet breakfast à 9,90€. Thank you also for highlighting our free car park.
We can’t wait to welcome you again in our hotel and we hope to see you soon!
Best regards,
Herve V. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Quiet and pleasant . Food good quality with very kind staff. Rooms were a litle small measing a outside space but inline with price. Situation far away from center but close to highway. May be usuful a transport service to town.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Campanile.com - Louvre Hotels Group
Thank olivadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campanile Aix S... P, Directeur général at Campanile Hotel Aix En Provence Sud Pont de l'Arc, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your nice feedback!
It is always important to know our guests enjoyed their experience in our hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the comfort, cleanliness and calm of our moderns rooms. We are also pleased the you note the quality of our restaurant and the helpfulness of our staff! Our employees are dedicated to give you the best experience possible.
Thank you for highlighting our location. The hotel is indeed at less than 2km from the historic center. The bus stop at the entrance of our hotel will lead you to city center in less than 7 minutes, from Monday to Saturday.
We can’t wait to welcome you again in our hotel and we hope to see you soon!
Best regards,
Herve V. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

Delightful reception from Virginie. Wifi didn't work in my room, 331 on the third floor.
Room clean, bed good.
Shower screen directs water onto the floor, almost as though it was put in the wrong way round!
Food ok, but a bit pricey. In fact, everything was a bit pricey for this sort of chain hotel. I have used Louvre hotels for about twenty years and they are in danger of overpricing themselves.
Two rooms with breakfast, dinner and drinks, over €250 for three.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BartieAveyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campanile Aix S... P, Directeur général at Campanile Hotel Aix En Provence Sud Pont de l'Arc, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you sincerely for sharing your positive experience at Campanile Aix Pont de l’Arc. What a nice feedback!
We are delighted to read that you enjoy the cleanliness and confort of our spacious rooms. What a pleasure for us that you note our high end service and the attention of our staff, which is dedicated to give you the best experience possible in our hotel! Obviously, we will not miss to forward your compliments to our receptionist.
We assure you that we obviously take into account your observation concerning the wifi and we send our technician to fix the gasket in your bathroom. We are also sorry to learn that you have been disappointed by our value for money even if we are a little surprised by your remark since our value for money is the subject of numerous excellent review even during high season.

We hope to see you soon again in our hotel for your next stay in Aix!

Best regards

Herve V. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews