We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thanks for memories”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alcott

Alcott
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alcott
The pool Lounge with 2 sofa's, flat screen TV and log burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Alcott
The pool
Lounge with 2 sofa's, flat screen TV and log burner
Double bedroom with en-suite on first floor
Double bedroom with en-suite on ground floor
Your fully equipped kitchen, with dish washer
Your private outside dining area & BBQ
Your view of the garden
Sundeck over looking the 10x5m pool, with 8 seater table and sun loungers
Twin bedroom with en-suite on first floor
The pool 1.25m at the shallow end, 2m deep. Children friendly step all around the pool
View from the sundeck
Honesty bar with pub games, cards & darts
Evening meal served twice a week on the sundeck
View of Alcott from the garden
A stunning local Chateau
Piegut weekly market, a must for all our visitors
One of our Yurts
En-suite bathroom, twin room
En-suite bathroom ground floor bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Angouleme, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
marzy15
windermere
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Thanks for memories”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in August 2015

What a wonderful gem of a place. We can't fault this little piece of heaven.
Had a wonderful week with the help of out hosts John and Paula. They made us feel like old friend's rather than paying guests.
We were new to the area but with help and guidance we soon found our what around.
The accommodation was perfect with lots of little touches which made it even more perfect. A relaxing pool area and Paula's amazing food ended each day perfectly.
For a slight extra charge we were taken out in the horse and trap another thing ticked of my bucket list.
Thank you for a week to remember. Feel like not sharing this place as it so special

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquillity out hosts
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentFamil...
Larkfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Something for everyone of every age”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at La Voute in August 14 with our 3 children (10, 12 and 3) and another family with two children. We cannot fault this place. The gite was very comfortable and clean and well equipped for everything we needed for a weeks stay. The location is beautiful with large grounds so that you had your own privacy but also the older children could explore whilst you knew they were safe. There was a football goal, a badminton net and ping pong as well as the pool obviously which our kids all loved. The pool area was well maintained and you could take your own lilos and games, and there were some already there for you to use if you needed. Whilst around the pool we got to know the other three families on the same site who were also really friendly and our children loved playing with theirs which really made it. John and Paula were perfect hosts and were always on hand to give advice on places to visit and help with any questions etc. I would not hesitate to go back in the future and would recommend to anybody.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, grounds and friendliness
Liked least: The creaky floorboards!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frequentl...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is what life should be like”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just had a wonderful stay with owners John and Paula in their charming, comfortable and well equipped Gite. The Gite itself is detached and well away from their main house and has been sympathetically restored by them to enable the retention of some lovely character features. The weather was warm while we were there but the thick stone walls of the Gite kept it cool and comfortable. The view from the front door of the Gite is over rolling fields and woodlands most of which belong to the owners and therefore the opportunity to roam and explore in total privacy is just another tick in the box. Although we were alone, it would be a perfect place to bring children who would enjoy meeting horses, dogs, cats and mini goats and experience the general well being of an outdoor life which is sadly lacking in the modern world of playstations and mobile phones. John and Paula were perfect hosts being discreet and unobtrusive but charming and helpful when we needed their advice. There is nothing bad to say about our stay, the Gite, our hosts and the general area was perfect for us and we would recommend it without reservation. Well done and thanks to you both for a very enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Great facilities and privacy
Liked least: We had to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Thank you for this superb review , it has to be the best so far.....I even put it on our Facebook page lavoutelife
Hope you are both keeping well and it would be lovely to see you both again.
Best wishes
Paula & John x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hprentice
1 review
“Fabulously rural!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This holiday ticked all my boxes! Paula and John are amazing hosts in the beautiful surroundings of la Voute. We were made very welcome, nothing was too much trouble, even dinner was available to order two nights a week served at our own outside terrace. Paula's beautiful menagerie of horses, dogs and a very friendly cat kept my children entertained for hours! The pool was shared, but had plenty of room and was well maintained and the house was a typical, but well equipped French farmhouse with beautiful beamed ceilings and all three bedrooms with ensuite. We stayed for three weeks for maximum relaxation! The surrounding area was extremely rural but had lots of places to visit; ancient caves, historic towns like Angouleme, cognac tasting and the kayaking was great fun too. Would highly recommend both the holiday and the hosts!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2013
Thank you so very much for your fantastic review !!!
It was a real pleasure having you all staying with us and the dogs miss all the fuss that the girls made of them.
We would love to see you all again.
Best wishes
Paula & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acsweenie
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Idyllic solitude.”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Paula and John were great hosts. They were very welcoming and geneorous. They have created a beautiful gite, set in their tranquil estate. The Gite was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The children were kept entertained by a mixture of the swimming pool, goal posts, badminton and the horses. The area is very rural and you are only 20 minutes to Brantome, which is a must visit. Paula and John coked one evening - we all had a fantastic dinner and I would urge fellow guests to do likewise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing.
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2013
Thanks for the great review, it was a delight having you stay with us
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing