We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Visit local fresh food markets throughout the week
Saumur
Visit local Brocantes, flea-markets, at a weekend
Château d Angers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Saumur, Maine et Loire, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sallysing...
Wirral, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home.”
Reviewed 16 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Where do I begin.
The Gite was exactly what we wanted. Spotlessly clean and our welcome from Sarah Jane was wonderful. The Gite contained everything we could need and Sarah J even gave us a mid holiday clean.
We quickly realised we had made the right choice. Sarah Jane and her family were so kind and caring. Her children so polite and well mannered. We got to know the chickens and fell in love with Rose.
They helped with any information we needed and we got frequent food gifts from the hens.
We enjoyed a wine tasting in their cave on the property and followed that up with a vineyard and chateau tour both of which were amazing. Gerald certainly knows his stuff and has a passion for wines that is infectious. His knowledge taught us more in a few hours than any wine tasting in the UK.
Sarah J also offers cooking for her guests and we felt more welcome than we have at any other Gite we have stayed in over the years.
I would definitely recommend it to anyone else. Thank you Sarah Gerald and family for a fab two weeks xx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie N
Surrey, UK
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gets better with each visit!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The Barn, La Grange d'Henri is a stunning gite located in a rural village with lovely views over the fields towards the Loire. We first visited 5 years ago and have returned each year since then. The gite itself is well equipped, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The terrace is perfect for an evening barbecue with a glass of Loire Valley wine (recommended by the host Gerald).
Pouancay is a quiet hamlet, the nearest boulangerie and boucherie being in the next village. Montreuil-Bellay is a 10 minute drive away and has a large supermarket, numerous restaurants, cafes, bars and a lovely chateau.
We travel with our bikes, and are still finding new places to cycle to each year. The roads are generally quiet and we find the French drivers to be courteous to cyclists. The closer you get to the Loire, the more cyclists and hikers you see.
What really sets this gite apart from other places is the welcome from the host family. Nothing is too much trouble for Sarah-Jane, and we have developed an interest in the wine business thanks to the time we have spent with Gerald. They both go out of their way to make sure that their guests get the most out of their stay in this beautiful region of France, and their passion for the Loire Valley is infectious. We could never have imagined that we would have made such good friends from the very first day we met the family back in 2013.
We could not recommend The Barn highly enough to anyone wanting to visit the Loire Valley. Peaceful and relaxing yet with plenty to see and do nearby.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond M
2 reviews
“An ideal Gite for two people in Loire region”
Reviewed 20 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A lovely Gite in a good location to visit some Loire Chateaux. The Gite was well equipped and spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Sarah Jane was a delightful host and made us extremely welcome and we would certainly try and stay again if we are in this part of France.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IERat31
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Our love affair with Le Grange d’Henri continues.”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our love affair with Le Grange d’Henri continues. This great little Gite is in a very quiet location, which is a perfect retreat for us as a couple to forget daily life, to relax and to recharge our batteries. Nonetheless if you feel the urge a short drive will take you to many of the best attractions the Loire has to offer. If this is what you like then it’ll be perfect for you too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A perfect holiday”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is the second year we have stayed at The Barn, La Grange d' Henri previously we had stayed at Annie's House. Both Gites are excellent throughout and have everything you need. Located in peaceful surroundings near to Saumur. Owners Sarah-Jane and Gerald and their family will give you a warm welcome. A perfect holiday not to be missed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing