We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
22
66
31
10
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
66
31
10
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bathroom window small hotel croissants no lift room was spacious the heart of the city narrow streets parking cathedral centre mercure euros
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2015

This is not your usual hotel. There's more than a sense of faded glory about it, which some have described as charming. It does have a certain feel from a bygone age but there is a downside to this. Everything is very worn and could do with deep cleaning, refreshing...or better still, refurbishing. All four of us got up with aching backs as the mattresses had seen better days. The bathroom lock in our room was on the outside and there was no handle. This meant you couldn't pull the door shut so there was no privacy in the bathroom. The towels were a little worn and though clean, had an aged greyness about them. The wifi was very patchy and there's no lift if you've heavy luggage though the owner did offer assistance had we needed it.
As indicated, the owner is friendly and helpful and everything was ready for us when we arrived. The hotel car parking definitely worth using and good value. The location is good too, though the square can get noisy at night and early mornings with the bin lorries.
We didn't take breakfast at the hotel, preferring to explore the local cafés, but it looked and smelt fine.
All in all, nothing to stop anyone from staying unless your environment and creature comforts are important to you.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBMUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

We stayed here for only one night whilst touring Normandy, booking two rooms. Hotel des Carmes is located in a wonderful city centre position very close to the cathedral, shops and restaurants. For our stay our room was in the chambres d'hôtes positioned on the first floor of another building across the square, a few meters away from the main hotel. Our rooms were in effect a self-contained two bedroom apartment. The front facing room had huge windows making it very light and airy. It was also a very good size with a comfortable seating area. The rear facing room was smaller. Both were equipped with tea and coffee making equipment and had good en-suit bathrooms.
The beds were very comfortable and enabled us to have a good nights sleep. However we were there on probably the hottest night of the year and we felt the absence of any air conditioning.
Breakfast was taken in the main part of the hotel; it was typically French and accompanied by some excellent home-made jams and preserves.
For first time visitors arriving by car, access to the hotel can initially be difficult because it is located in a small square down a small, narrow access road. Parking at the hotel can also be difficult because of few parking spaces in the narrow streets. However there is parking nearby at a shopping centre about 100 metres from the hotel and we found this perfectly OK.
There is no glitz or glamour; this is simply a small, charming hotel in a really central position.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GordnPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights on touring trip in northern France. It is situated very close to the cathedral in a busy square with many restaurants and cafes near by. Parking is difficult, but we did manage to park on the square and fed the meter during the day ( Herve, the proprietor helped us with this). Parking is free overnight. We were given a room in an annex across the square. We were concerned, as the entrance was shabby and hallway in need of redecoration. However room was fine with a modern bathroom and comfortable bed.
Breakfast was good and provided in the main hotel. The proprietor was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank uktravellingwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

This hotel is in an excellent location in an attractive square close to the Cathedral, the Grand Horloge and the shops in Rouen. As soon as we arrived we were made extremely welcome and the owner continued to look after us very attentively during our stay, finding us umbrellas to go out in the rain and recommending places to eat etc.

We loved the feel of the place which had a sort of "artists studio" vibe and the rooms were pleasant with lovely windows onto the square - and perfectly clean.

Breakfast was delicious - the bread, homemade jams and yogurts were of excellent quality - and we liked the cosy breakfast area. It is probably possible to get a slightly cheaper breakfast elsewhere in Rouen, but I doubt it would be as good.

It is also possible to park in a locked garage behind the hotel for a small fee - cheaper, closer and more secure than the public car parks - although we struggled to get to the hotel with the car due to the one way system in Rouen.

This is not a luxurious hotel, but it is quaint and charming and suits people who don't like the sterility of an Ibis or Mercure type chain. We loved it and found it excellent value for money - we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca_F_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Set in the centre of Rouen. Very dog friendly.
Lovely, bright, spacious first floor room, No.1. Big opening windows to the front to sit and view the street. 1 double and 1 single bed, TV, desk, no kettle (but brought our own). Nice, clean bathroom with a clever shower enclosure over the bath.
Extra blankets in cupboard space; radiator, phone, suitcase rack, table. Heavy locking door to the room.
As before, a nice warm welcome from Herve.
Breakfast was very quaint. 2 croissants, 2 bread, jams, juice, tea, a yoghurt and an orange.
There is parking, but for us high vehicle types, you can park on the street right in front, and see it from the front facing rooms. (XC90 & roof box!). On Saturday there is a meter €2.40 per 2 hours, 19:00 to 09:00 free and then free on Sundays.

For your dog, it is a 4 minute walk to the park - look it up first. Most restaurants allow dogs, and we could bring her to breakfast too.

Be sure to visit the bar next door, it is quirky and sells lovely Afflligem.

Truly lovely, and we will always stay here when we stay in Rouen. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShagratBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews