We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
9
25
42
21
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
25
42
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here convenience lift paris street
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017

My wife and I stayed here at the Hotel Astrid in Rouen for four nights during September 2017 having previously made our reservation online through Expedia who give Nectar points to customers who book through them. Upon our arrival at the Hotel Astrid the gentleman at the reception desk was very welcoming and helpful,and during the course of our stay we subsequently discovered that all the staff were very police and helpful also - So top marks here,and thank you all very much.

Our room, (number 21) was located on the 2nd floor and it had its own ensuite with a basin,bath/shower and a loo. The room itself was of a good size having a double bed and a wardrobe,and there was a television set (with french channels only) affixed to the wall, There was wi-fi provided,and our room and its ensuite were warm,clean and comfortable with daily room service being provided although no hospitality tray was provided.
Our room was actually next to the lift,but I was pleasantly surprised to discover that despite being so close noise from the lift was virtually non existent and we were not troubled in any way at all by this. Be warned though that the lift is very small and that it will only safely convey three passengers at a time. Room 21's windows overlooked the busy area in front of Rouen's main railway station,so there was always something to watch going on outside from our room's windows,and I must mention that despite how busy the street was,we did not hear any excessive noise overnight and my wife and I both slept very well in our comfortable bed.

A continental breakfast was served daily from 6.30am until 10.00am on the top (6th) floor of the hotel and there was a good variety of food items which one could select from the self service buffet provided. There was a machine dispensing teas/coffees etc. and I found that the white coffee (cafe au lait) was quite delicious.

The hotel was very well situated being just across the road from the railway station which was useful to us as we had arrived and departed by direct trains between Rouen and Dieppe,catching the UK ferry to Newhaven from there. Local tram services left from an underground station directly opposite the Hotel Astrid to various locations in Rouen,and there were bus stops for local buses just outside the hotel's entrance.
Most days we walked to Rouen city centre to take in the sights and allow my wife to indulge in some shopping,and it generally took us around fifteen minutes to stroll down to the city centre so you will see that the Hotel Astrid is very conveniently placed for everything and everywhere.

I'd certainly stay again at the Hotel Astrid should I re-visit Rouen, It's very conveniently placed for public transport,be it main line trains for Paris etc.,or for,local trams & buses operating within Rouen and its suburbs - It's an easy walk of just 15 minutes to the city centre and the tourist hotspots and there's many restaurants in the local area,in fact we even had a japanese meal one evening in a restaurant just around the corner from the hotel.
The hotel is clean and room 21 which we had was most suitable for our needs. The staff are most pleasant and helpful and Hotel Astrid is reasonably affordable - Four nights accommodation cost us €205.20 (£179.64) but we had to pay extra for our breakfasts (€8.50 each person every day) which admittedly did bump up the price a bit, but we were content to pay for the convenience of eating breakfast at the hotel each morning,and to be honest the breakfasts turned out to be most satisfactory.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Roger-from-Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

The only positive things about this hotel was polite staff at the reception and location (15 min.walk to the city center)
We stayed in the room on the 4th floor. The elevator was broken. It was frustrating for us to go up and down the stairs with a 5-month old baby.
The room had a stale smell. The bathroom united with the toilette was extremely small. Toilette was against the door with no space for the legs. There was no shower curtain, so every time one took a shower the bathroom was flooded. The door in the bathroom was not closing. The double bed in the room was too small.
We booked two rooms for 2 nights. One of the rooms was not clean even though we were told at the reception that it will be done.
As for payment, we were charged twice: by booking.com and by the hotel. To resolve the issue, we had to call to the hotel which redirected us to booking.com. It was time consuming to call and explain the situation every time. Hotel staff even did not care to call to booking directly and to sort this out for us.
As for the city, Rouen is a beautiful town. We will come back, but definitely stay in another hotel.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TanyaD1332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

We arrived at 22u30, the man at the desk was really friendly, he even tried to speak some dutch. We had booked 3 rooms. 1 of the fourth floor the other 2 at the fifht flour.

We took the stairs because there wasnt an elevator. The bathroom was really small, the same size as an average closset.the door woudnt close.

There were towels and soap and shampoo so that was allright. You pay 50euro for 1 room. That was easily 30euro to much..

The beds were allright.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Matthijs T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

This is a budget hotel and overall it was fine. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Really handy for the station and not too far to walk to the old town.
Unfortunately the lift was broken during our stay and we were on the 5th floor! For us it wasn't a major problem but other friends staying here at the same time did struggle. These things happen though.
Agree with other reviews that the bathrooms are very small and no shower curtain does make it difficult not to flood the bathroom floor.
The room was clean, the beds were comfy and I slept well.
Breakfast was good, lots of fresh bread which we could smell baking at night, pastries and good coffee.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Spoz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Stayed here from 6 to 10 April.

First the good stuff. The hotel is right across from the train station, it could not be any closer. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic, but clean and its very cheap. The free WiFi is very good. It seemed a bit patchy one evening, but otherwise it was great.

The not so good. The lift was out of order the whole time. If you are young and fit, you will have no problem. If you have a problem with stairs then you are out of luck. We weren't too bad as the room was on the 2nd floor, but the breakfast room was on the 6th floor...

Depending where your room is, you might find it a bit noisy. I can sleep through anything so street noise does not disturb me but bear in mind this hotel is in a busy area beside the train station so if you are looking for somewhere peaceful then this is probably not for you.

Overall it was good value for money and perfectly adequate for our trip.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiviJan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews