We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
78
140
73
28
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
140
73
28
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno lifttrain stationold buildingcomplimentary coffeespiral stairsbudget choicebudget hotelconvenient locationlovely little hotelone night staynight's sleepsmall hotelcentre of townstreetparkingluggageensuite
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 334 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017

We have fond memories of a driving holiday in France a few years ago.We stayed in a variety of accommodation places and all inexpensive.We enjoyed French hospitality in everywhere from spartan to elegant in private homes, pubs, small hotels, from old buildings to modern and all without exception were clean. We were not expecting all mod cons for the price this hotel were charging but we were expecting clean. It was far from. The Hotel Morand is an affront to French hoteliers. It is dirty, scruffy, dark and cold. We were shown two rooms, the first room was the most depressing I have ever seen and everywhere felt grimy so much so that I wouldn’t have unpacked my case to put my clothes in the broken, dusty wardrobe or dresser. You needed to be a contortionist to use the wc. We were shown a second room, marginally better and possibly acceptable if desperate but that is until we saw the shower curtain, not fit for human use. Some people think that because a place is cheap that anything goes, in my book it doesn’t. Not bothered about scratched furniture and worn rugs but not keeping a place clean is inexcusable because hot water, detergent and elbow grease is easily had. Needless to say we didn’t stay but they still charged us for one night ,if it had been in this country we would not have paid because it isn’t up to basic standards.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Barbar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This hotel is in need of some work. The room had holes in the cabinets and wall, and broken tiles. The location is good for visiting the cathedral but there is no parking although they have an agreement with the municipal parking group. We decided to move after one night although we initially reserved a room for two nights. Please be aware that the hotel does not have an elevator and the stairs are narrow and poorly lit - very difficult for anyone with mobility issues.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

The staff were very helpful and friendly and our inability to speak French was never a problem.
We parked on street the first night and then moved to the museum underground immediately the next morning as the area seemed a little rough for leaving our luggage in the trunk.
The ensuite bath facilities in our room were complete as advertised, but very cramped.
Our room was clean (in fact it had been mopped with bleach just before we arrived) but a little "tired" in its appointments. The bed was just OK, but we walked around Rouen so much that we were too exhausted to notice .

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

My wife and I stayed here 2 nights during a motorcycle tour in May 2017. We chose because of the old coaching house style.

Check in was efficient and the gent in reception was very helpful. Yes there are no lifts and the spiral stairs were interesting carrying 2 panniers and helmets, but the concierge gave us a hand without being asked.

Our room (no4) had comfy bed and plenty of space to lay out sweaty motorcycle gear. Complimentary coffee was good, and not always available in French hotels. The shower room ensuite was a bit of a home build job, but remember this is a 16th C coaching inn, so any additions to the rooms will be a compromise. The shower area does need a redecorate as the tiles were falling off the walls a bit and the shower head could do with a swap to a bigger one. Having said that we were able to have a nice wash off without whacking elbows on the walls so for us the space was adequate.

Breakfast was obviously continental in naturebut that suits us, but the coffee did put hair on your chest, Mrs C had to wax hers later .

Parking, at a reduced rate, is in the public underground car park 50mtrs away and the bikes were safe there.

Would we come back, yes and be quite content. But please guys do a bit of decorating before we get there please.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. It is very well situated in the centre of Rouen. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. It not the Ritz, but you get what you pay for. The breakfast was good and the hotel was clean, if in need of a lick of paint

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mharit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews