We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
86
82
35
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
82
35
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews atelier room excellent location city hotel key sites top floor hotel bar one night stay park your car the main square small hotel old town few minutes walk small room central location bread cathedral parking
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Excellent stop off hotel to break up the journey home, just wished we'd allowed more time to take in the sights of Rouen. The hotel is perfectly located for the old part of Rouen with the historic quarter and cathedral all within a short walk.
Lovely decor in the bar and a tasty continental breakfast served in the morning.
Parking is quite tricky although the chap on the desk was super helpful in getting us parked up during the busy time.

Our room was quite warm (August) and some aircon would have helped) also the rear rooms have no views other than other buildings.

But all in all very satisfied with our stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
road76, Propriétaire at Hotel De L'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

bonjour jonathan .... well on these days the car park next to the hotel normally empty are making works to refresh all paints down the floor. So i'm happy of course to take care of my client. Secondly for the AC we work on it. had a new "rendez-vous" with a company to work on it. the point is we are an old building and it will, be easier to install in the late 50's at the construction, but at that period normandy was quiet cold area. Anyway these days are changing and even if i's not easy this will be our new challenge for next year.... so New client don't miss the next rendez vous.

Thanks again for your comment and hope you are a great time in france during your holidays

Regards

Geoges andre Piat
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

It was an adequate room. Although it was an unseasonably warm time in France. Our hostess, Marie, was a five star hostess. Breakfast was really nice too. Area is sketchy.

Just around the corner is the historic district with Rouen Cathedral and a great shopping district. It’s totally worth the walkabout.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CathyRayPierson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
road76, Propriétaire at Hotel De L'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

hey cathy,

well, as you noticed and said, very warm for this summertime. i'm not pretty sure to install A/C but we are thinking for a more realistic solution, but in the same time, refurnished 80% of the room. Why ? because we thought the high temperature can be regulated in a short period by a soft installation, but for your confort this , need a full work all over the year.
yes, the hotel is inside the historical part of Rouen and the only hotel very easy for access by car ( i think we are the only one) yes of course we are !!! , and for this you don't pay more !!! this is one more quality we have ..

anyway thanks cathy to take time for writing . and hope your visit in normandy was ok

Georges Andre Piat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

This hotel is well located. A few minutes walk from the main square with the cathedral and the old market square. The railway station is a little father, but still reachable on foot. The staff was nice and helpful. Good breakfast.
One advice: when booking / checking in, state that you prefer a room that is not facing the street. My stay was in hot summer, there was no AC unit, and when I opened the windows, it became somewhat noisy in my room. The town's thoroughfare is near.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Alexey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
road76, Propriétaire at Hotel De L'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

good afternoon,

we are actually working on AC plan, unfortunately won't be fixed 2018 we hope in the first 3 month .
only would be available on the category classic and Signature
thank's for the advice but summertime is nowadays more and more hot, that's why we thought to make your stay more enjoyable

merci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

We had an absolutely wonderful and memorable stay here. fantastic location -- easy to find when arriving by car, convenient parking -- then park your car and explore the city from this location in the center of everything. the staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. From the owner who gave us advice on restaurants and parking and city events even before we arrived, to checkin which was the fastest and friendliest ever, to the Michael the wonderful young man behind the in-hotel bar who took tremendous time to point out the high points of the city he really loves, providing us with a personalized map and wonderful conversation, to the desk staff who bade us farewell like old friends and let us leave our bags after checkout so we had a few more hours exploring -- absolutely top of the line service. We booked via their website -- best rate plus since you are going directly to them you get the personalized service - the clearing house websites couldn't care less about you, but this staff really does. Highly recommend our room, the atelier, on the top floor with an ENORMOUS terrace and an incredible view on 2 sides. How often do you get that anywhere? An incredible bargain. Bed was extremely comfortable and clean and the room wonderfully quiet, which is a must for us and increasingly hard to find. And has a bathtub as well as powerful shower -- again, harder and harder to find these days. Fast and free internet. If you are someone who likes cookie cutter chain hotel rooms and corporate vanilla everything, do not stay here. BUT if you value personalized service, eclectic and quirkily creative furnishings, and the sense that you are supporting the sadly dying breed of an independent spot with old-school values and personalized touches and attention to the client THIS IS THE PLACE!

Room tip: the atelier
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patapouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
road76, Propriétaire at Hotel De L'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

hy, my goodness !!!

And i wasn't there ... well i can't add anymore comment cause' you already said the most important things.
I just come back on one point. More you get contact directly by email talking, more you will get a pleasant stay. I don't mean your staying will be different if you book by a travel agency like expédia or booking, but as their general manager said, you are our client and hotelkeeper will be good enough to clean-up the room and give you the key. when you are able to think this, they should remember the verse 10 on text 25 from the book of Ezéchiel (LOL)
But sure, they prefer your money too your confort.
As Patapouf said if you are expecting a standard room where you prefer to be a reservation number instead of Mr or Mrs something forget this hotel. But if you prefer to be welcome by a team ( Maria, Emmanuelle, Georges, Michael and others ) come and visit us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

The hotel is well situated near most of the key sites and there is public underground parking just round the corner.
I was somewhat disappointed with the interior decor, as I expected the hotel to have a more modern feel. The film posters covering one bedroom wall didn't exactly make it a quirky boutique hotel. The bedroom furniture was old fashioned.
The bathroom had a very good shower and was clean but the towels looked dingy being pink and blue, unlike the fluffy white towels most hotels have.
There are plenty of cafes nearby where breakfast can be bought.
For one night, due to the location, the hotel was fine but I wouldn't want to stay much longer.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank whiteknight562018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
road76, Propriétaire at Hotel De L'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Sir,

Obviously you like "boutique hotel" ( we are not by the way) with white linen and white standard walls .. You have a room, which is unfortunately not a standard room.Look was very different from the standard hotels, and yes we have colors linen. this room was refurnished last year and we try to introduce something different than classic room, with decoration and vintage lamps from the 70s.
i think some people like and some people not ( unfortunately you are one of this)
Last why you recommend eating breakfast outside ? we do serving breakfast too, but you booked through an OTA's where everything is in extra, if you took time to book through our website you will have the breakfast for FREE... so you should provide to other travellers right informations. Anyway, nothing in terms of noise and sleep, we are delighted.... thank's for coming i'm george the owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews