We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,418)
Filter reviews
1,418 results
Traveller rating
801
389
147
56
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
801
389
147
56
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking glass floor beautiful hotel swimming pool traditional room martin luther king historic building steam room valet service spa area five star hotel modern inside prestige room joan of arc modern rooms old town breakfast buffet is
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,418 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2018

The Hotel de Bourgtheroulde is an example of an historic property that has successfully combined the character of the original historic structure with modern style/function and great service to create a great environment for visiting Rouen. The center of the hotel (bar, reception) have all been re-created with a contemporary flair, with the contrast helping not hurting the appeal.

Rooms are nicely updated keeping the traditional feel but providing all modern comforts. Bathrooms are upgraded/updated, fresh and clean feeling with a nice stone tile that echoes the design of the building. Beds were comfortable. Two minor comments: the sleeper sofa was needing replacement (as a sofa) and the showers would do well to have a soap dish / shelf and perhaps even a glass door to keep overspray from the bathroom floor. These are improvement opportunities but they did not detract from a lovely stay.

The staff was welcoming and attentive. They did everything they could to make the arrival a pleasure. If you are driving, trust your GPS and pull into the valet parking spots on the southern side of the hotel for check-in. There is a lot of road construction in the area, so it comes up on you rather unexpectedly. The staff took if from there so we didn't have to worry about hauling our baggage across the cobblestone walks.

Breakfast (included for Marriott platinum) was the nicest we saw in our week in Normandy. Great selection, fresh fare, good cappuccino, and helpful staff.

If our travels across Normandy permitted, we would have gladly stayed the entire week. Great experience.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank DavidATL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations H, Reservation & Revenue Manager at Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear David,
Thank you for taking the time to share your point of view in regards to your recent stay at the Hotel de Bourgtheroulde - Autograph Collection.
As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, be sure that we have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the exceptional service, bulding, rooms, breakfast ; we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Rouen.
Sincerely yours,
Ludivine Auzou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

What a place! We didn't know the hotel we'd booked was actually listed as a stop on the city historic walking tour. Courtyard has a frieze of Henry VIII's visit, 16th century. Very upmarket, modernized inside the hotel, with impressive original exterior intact. Cocktails are expensive but worth the memories in the outdoor courtyard on a hot August night. Valet indispensable -- rescued us at back of hotel when we arrived, not knowing where to leave the car. Note there are 2 valet parking spots there, for this purpose. Very centrally located to all city sites. Be sure to book at least 2 nights in this location to do the city justice. Hotel staff kindly advised us we could have valet load luggage in our car in the garage while we spent time after checkout touring some more. Don't miss the summer light show on the Cathedral.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations H, Reservation & Revenue Manager at Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Dave,
Thank you for choosing the Hotel de Bourgtheroulde - Autograph Collection and for your great comment after your experience with us.
We are glad to learn that you enjoy your stay, the history of our hotel, your room style and the location.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again .
Best regards,
Ludivine Auzou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Amazing hotel and facilities for a nice weekend in Rouen! The spa area is great!!! Nice, comfortable and very clean room. The bed was so great was hard to wake up in the morning! Very close to the main square with nice options for restaurants. People at the front desk always greet you with a nice smile and available to assist with anything you may need.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lilianbcortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations H, Reservation & Revenue Manager at Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Lilian,
Thank you for choosing the Hotel de Bourgtheroulde - Autograph Collection and for your great comment after your experience with us.
We are glad to learn that you enjoy your stay, your room style, the location, the SPA.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Ludivine Auzou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here. The hotel is very historic. The staff did a great job and the rooms were super. Also enjoyed breakfast at the hotel. We enjoyed drinks on the patio several evenings. Definitely recommend.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank NebraskaFan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations H, Reservation & Revenue Manager at Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to share your point of view in regards to your recent stay at the Hotel de Bourgtheroulde - Autograph Collection.
As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, be sure that we have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Rouen.
Sincerely yours,
Ludivine Auzou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

A great choice for accommodation in Rouen in a beautifully restored manor house from the Middle Ages that has survived fires, Allied bombings during WWII, and neglect. Excellent location near the Old Market where Joan of Arc was burned at the stake. Entrance to hotel is through carriage gate and into medieval courtyard and flamboyant facade. The hotel is primarily in a modern addition to the old manor with large, panelled bedrooms and contemporary baths. A very large bar/lounge and restaurant are in the modern section of the hotel. Spa and large pool are in basement. Staff were professional and friendly, especially at front desk and bar. Did not eat at hotel because of many excellent restaurants just around corner from hotel and throughout Rouen. Would recommend highly and return when in Rouen again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to large room; some rooms are in old manor house
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank charlese595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations H, Reservation & Revenue Manager at Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear Charlese,
Thank you for choosing the Hotel de Bourgtheroulde - Autograph Collection and for your great comment after your experience with us.
We are glad to learn that you enjoy your stay and the location.
It's a real pleasure to know that the staff was able to help you.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again .
Best regards,
Ludivine Auzou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews