We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
11
18
10
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
18
10
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkroadworksrearsatnavreceptionstreetparking
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018

The staff were very nice and helpful, the man on reception was very good, (Antoine), he explained everything and when I struggled in French he spoke to me in English ( very good English). The caramel beurre sale was the best I have ever tasted, and I have lived in France for 15 years, well done to the chefs, when I’m back this way I will stay here for sure, thanks staff :)

Stayed: June 2018
Thank kelly56800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Pierre M, Directrice at Campanile Rouen Mermoz, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Customer,
First of all, we thank you for your nice advice concerning our hotel, particularly about our staff. It was a real pleasure receiving you in Rouen and we are very proud of your satisfaction.
We remain at your disposal and keep ready for your next trip in Rouen !
Yours sincerely,
Marie-Pierre M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

Easy to hard to find, despite others comments. We emailed for instructions re. the parking and got in no problem . The issue folks seem to find is that the likes of TomTom don't know where the hotel is. The hotel is on the left and an apartment block on the right. Access to the car park is below the apartment block so take the exit from the roundabout before the hotel. The access to the car park is on your left. We found it easier to go past and do a U turn in front of the garden centre. The car park entrance is then on your right. Get out and press the intercom. The door opens and gets you in to face a second door, another intercom and you're into the hotels car park. All just as the in email we'd been sent. A door then leads to the entrance to the hotel. The car park is very secure and the back of the hotel overlooks Rouen rugby club's ground, sadly no game when we visited. Very helpful and friendly staff. The hotel is very new and our room on the third floor (320) was very spacious and well fitted. Wide door to allow wheelchair access if needed. A good big shower and a very comfy bed. Restaurant was busy and looked good though we didn't use it. Certainly a hotel we'd use again. The only down side and not a criticism of the hotel is the roundabout outside was gridlocked both when we arrived and left (19.30 & 07.30). Obviously major roadworks locally, so something to be aware of.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have views of the lifting bridge and city the ones at the real overlook the rugby ground.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank digbyl177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Pierre M, Manager at Campanile Rouen Mermoz, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for chosing our new hotel for your trip in Rouen. We are pleased to see you did really enjoy it and we shared your comment with our staff.
We keep at your disposal for your next travel in France.
Yours faithfully,
Marie-Pierre M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Clean, cheap and cheerful. Difficult to find the entrance and messy to park the car. Nice people at the reception but not very organised: got different messages and communication between check-in and checkout. Nicely located at the back of a rugby pitch

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank DavideUK2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Pierre M, Directrice at Campanile Rouen Mermoz, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear Davide,
Thank you for your comment about your stay in our hotel. We are very pleased seeing that you did really enjoy it.
We look forward seeing you soon for your next travel in France.
Best regards,
Marie-Pierre M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

The hotel is new and is shown as a building site on Google maps. The satnav in my Lexus 300h could not find the street number in its' system but took us to the street on which the hotel is situated. After driving round the block a couple of times I stopped and asked a couple of locals in my best A-level french "Where's the Camponile hotel?" We weren't far away! Almost within eyesight. Take a wrong turn and you could be back on the motorway! The local gentleman pointed to a roadsign in the distance and told me in perfect english "Turn left at that roundabout and it is there!"
We drove round the roundabout (this roundabout is horrendously busy even on a Sunday evening, you need nerves of steel and an agressive driving nature to fight your way round it) and tried to find the hotel car park. It is not well sign posted so we did a large trip round the block to bring us back to the front of the hotel. The receptionist advised us where to go to get to the car park which involved a further trrip round the block and yet another whizz round the horrendous roundabout to get to the entrance to the car park which is marked with an A4 size piece of paper attached to the button linked to reception. Note to hotel management, you seriously need to improve your signage for the car park!!!
The artist's impression of the hotel is nothing like the reality. I challenge the hotel to post an accurate photo of the hotel. Prior to it being built I could accept an artist's impression but not now the hotel is open.
The surroundings are completely different. There are no nice lawns and trees in front, there is the massively busy roundabout, some scrubby, muddy wasteland but no trees.
Once in the hotel we were happy with our room. We'd previously stayed at the Campanile in Perpignan and knew what to expect.
We were greatly disappointed with the fact that on a Sunday there is no hot food. Having driven all day from northern Spain, to be offered a cold buffet is, to say the least, a kick in the teeth. Those of you who know Jeremy Clarkson (Top Gear and Grand Tour) will know he lost his job for punching an employee who failed to produce a hot dinner on a Sunday evening after a day's filming. Whilst not condoning violence, I can fully understand why Jeremy resorted to this action. Why a hotel thinks it is acceptable to have a restaurant and not offer its' guests hot meals seven days a week just beggars belief. It is a massive failure to meet the honest expectations of their guests. Campanile should be thoroughly ashamed of themselves to throw their guests out into the cold, rainy darkness of a strange city in search of hot food on a Sunday night. Get your act together and find another chef!
We tried to log on to the Wi-Fi, despite the fact that we could log on to the Wi-Fi at every stop en-route from Irun, we couldn't log on using either of our iphones or ipads. We went down to reception and they failed to get us on-line either. Eventually I did get on-line with my iphone but lost the connection after we left the hotel in search of some hot food.
There doesn't appear to be any other restaurants nearby either. We had to travel some distance to find somewhere to eat. Not great fun in the cold and rain.
There are five coat hangers in the room, two of them are broken. They are attached to the the rail by flimsy plastic hooks which hold the hanger in place when empty but put any clothes on them and they fall off.
If you don't fancy paying 9.90 euros for breakfast you can turn right out of the hotel and walk 200m to a little bakery called Paul's where you can have a very nice coffee and pastry for about 3.50€
I woke about 5am and took my Macbook down to reception and the gentleman on reception after a bit of effort finally managed to get me on line. I needed to get on line as Eurotunnel had messaged me to say that they'd changed their check-in details at Calais and I should check their webpage for further details.
I cannot fault the staff who were helpful and polite, nor can I fault the standard of equipment in the room.
The view from the rear of the hotel is of the local rugby pitch.
However, this hotel's management seriously needs to get its' act together with regard to the signage to the hotel and to the hotel's car park. It also needs to find a chef that will cook some hot food on a Sunday I repeat, it is completely and utterly unacceptable to fob customers off with a cold buffet on Sunday, you should be thoroughly ashamed of yourselves. Finally as a matter of urgency it should sort out the issue with the Wi-Fi customers have a right to expect these things to work properly without any hassle.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back should be quieter as they are away from any traffic noise.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Griff1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Pierre M, Gérant at Campanile Rouen Mermoz, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Guest
Thanks to take the time to tell us about your opinon.

I’m sorry about the signaling of the hotel and car park, but the hotel is a new one and we have asked for some panels and we are waiting for it.

We have sent many pictures of the hotel to the website, but our headquarters have to agree the pictures before to be viewed by the guests.

Last Sunday, 11.03 was a really special day because our Chef was ill and it was the only day where we dont propose hot buffet, but you can ask at any time for a snacking at the bar (pizza and so on are available at any time).

For the breakfast we are lucky to be near of a pastries factory, but about the number of things we propose on the buffet it ‘s not really possible to check the price of 1 pastries and the price of your breakfast.

I hope to see you back, to show you our improvement.

Your faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews