We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
117
83
14
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
83
14
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi bath breakfast room hotel door small hotel would stay again no elevator old building would highly recommend this hotel harbour view lounge area walk in shower main part location is excellent top floor air conditioning double room secure car park
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

This hotel is located right on the harbour, an old house conversion I suspect. We were very warmly welcomed and told not to park in the expensive car park across the way but to use their secure car park at €13 a day. Great except we got the last space and it was a challenge to park! We made it! We had room No.5 which was tight and no extra plugs for charging phones or tablets without unplugging the bedside light. The bath was a spa bath which was lovely. If you are bored, in the reception area there is a 2000 piece jigsaw that needs completing! Breakfast is included and this was lovely. Their restaurant is just across the way. I loved it. Honfleur is a lovely town and bustling in season. I would very highly recommend a visit.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Noelle251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

We had booked into a local B&B, Clementine's House or La Maison de Clementine, pre-paid and selected our room and confirmed all direct with the owner, yet when we arrived our room had been given away to someone who wanted to stay longer - we thought that this practice had died out with the dinosaurs! We eventually managed to get our cash back (less deductions for bank charges and exchange-rate differences), but were left without a room at 6 p.m. the night of our stay and hit Google - luckily availability showed up for L'Absinthe, an Hotel we had always thought of staying at, but somehow never got 'round to.

The Concierge who answered the 'phone couldn't do enough for us - taking us around the available rooms to make sure that we were happy with our choice, providing a map of how to get to the secure garage a few blocks away (at Euros 13 cheaper than leaving it on the nearby public car park) and offering to assist with a restaurant booking (L'Absinthe has a quality restaurant next to the Hotel).

The room (No. 1 if I recall) was immaculate, had AC (essential as we were there during the heatwave) and a huge bathroom with separate shower, and surprisingly quiet as we were next to a main road and in part of the old town, being an older building, it was quite amusing to sit having a coffee in the lounge while groups of tourists stopped to take photos of the hotel.

In the lounge area there was a complimentary supply of tea, coffee, water, fruit and shortbread biscuits (all excellent).

Breakfast (in the room next to our room), was substantial, fresh and varied, the Concierge answering every request for drinks, eggs, etc. with a smile and an nod - he really made out stay a cut above the norm.

Needles to say, we will be back!

Room Tip: Original Building has more character, if not the estuary views of the modern side
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KentCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

The location is really good, right besides the old port and across from the parking lot. However, we had a really bad check-in experience. We drove to Honfleur on a raining day after flying in an international flight to CDG. We came in a little bit after 7PM, but the reception was closed, and the door was locked. There was no Email ahead of time about this, and there was no sign out of the door about what to do in this case. We speak little French, and tried to ask people at the restaurants close by, but no one could tell us what to do. We wondered around for 15 mins in the rain, and finally we saw some guests inside the hotel lobby. We knocked on the window, and those guests let us in. There was a sign at the front desk inside, and it says to call 200. We called the hotel number with 200 extension, then a guy showed up afterwards. He was very mad and asked us how we got in. We told him that some guests let us in, and he wasn't happy about this. The hotel room was ok, but we were really disappointed with the checkin experience. The only good thing is that the breakfast was included, and the fresh orange juice was tasty. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you speak French and know that you will check in before 7PM.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank YingXY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

This is a great little hotel set right in the middle of the city, with plenty of places to eat and see just outside the door. The hotel has its own restaurant just across from the hotel where the food and service are outstanding.
The hotel breakfast was also very good, where nothing was too much trouble

Stayed: July 2018
Thank photoman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

First time at the L'Absithe but not the last. Just back from a lng weekend and the experience was super from start to finish.

Brilliant personal front desk service, amazing room, spotless and cleaned every day. Breakfast was included and was excellent.

Room Tip: If your driving take advantage of their secure parking at 13euros a day much cheaper than the public car park opposite.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank recruitmentsolutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews