We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
125
75
77
28
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
75
77
28
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view main building beautiful hotel deauville tub
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 334 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2018

I booked in a quite new building called "La Maison d'à Coté", within the same complex only a few steps away from the main building of La Chaumière. The welcome and check-in process were nice and fast. The premises are really cozy, but I found my room (Ylang Ylang) a bit cold. I must say it was big and luminous, but the furniture and decoration didn't make me feel much comfortable. I missed a desk and a chair, a place to leave my suitcase, A/C unit or more choices of pillows. Just to mention a few improvement opportunities more, I would highlight some small maintenance failures, not critical, and a bit more variety on the breakfast buffet. The average experience, however, is great without any doubt. Will come back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Vicent70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Pier B, Gérant at La Chaumiere, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Hello,
We will not fail to put together your remarks to improve ourselves.
We will welcome you again with pleasure to the Maison d'à Côté.
Feel free to submit your opinion on the right page : https://www.tripadvisor.fr/Hotel_Review-g187189-d14095680-Reviews-La_Maison_d_a_Cote-Honfleur_Calvados_Basse_Normandie_Normandy.html
Nice evening to you,
La Chaumière

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

We were a group of 3 couples with 3 young children and we were sincerely disappointed. The place is definitely not child friendly, the rooms are small and the toilet had a bad smell; the linen was old and dirty. The staff was not welcoming or willing to make our stay more pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaJoaoReis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Came in very late in the evening and we're lovely welcomed by the friendly staff. Beautiful room, large and good bed and a superb pool with sea view! Staff in the morning was very helpful. We will return!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bull4550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

We have visited La Chaumiere once before and decided to return for Christmas.

We chose the separate sheepfold which is a small cottage about 50 yards up the hill from the main hotel.

The Good - it is quiet, it has a lot of character with oak ceiling and a mirrored window that allows you to sit in the bath and look out over the field above the carpark and if you look hard left you can see the estuary and the lights of Le Havre. It is spacious and has a nice little seating are downstairs with a coffee table. They accept dogs and there was plenty of space for the travel crate for our black labrador. Goof Wifi, comfortable sofa, nice seating area outside for an evening drink in the summer. easy access to the beach for a walk.

The Not Quite! - when you pay the premium price that La Bergerie commands, there are certain things that you might expect. Downstairs seating area doesn't have a television so if you want to watch television you have to do so in bed. There is nearly no cupboard space of any sort so you have to leave your clothes in their bag on the luggage stand or hang them on the approx 30cm piece of coat rack. If you are paying for a premium room, you might expect that there would be milk for the coffee making facilities or even a small fridge but no, a coffee machine and tea bags but no kettle! (they did provide one when asked but did so grudgingly). OK they may not want to provide cold milk but as a minimum individual UHT creamer or milk pods should be provided.
The lighting is dim in the room and although we stayed 4 nights and requested they fix the bathroom lights on the Saturday morning as either the dimmer in the bathroom was broken or the bulbs were faulty - the net result was being in semi dark in the bathroom area. Yes Sunday was Christmas eve, but the feeling we got was one of how dare we complain.
The staircase has small treads so be careful especially if you need the facilities at night in the dark.

It is always right to help the Hotel get it better so they could
1 - put another TV downstairs on a bracket on the wall under staircase
2 - put some sort of sound system in ( a simple airplay speaker would help)
3 - put a fridge with milk and water in the room (under the stairs possibly)
4 - provide some storage upstairs for clothes
5 - possibly some lighter cushions to make the place seem less dark

Room Tip: only choose La Bergerie (Rm 10) if you are looking for a romantic room for a short stay and are very mobile/young
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JASandSJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Lovely property, even better setting, peaceful place after the crowds of tourist in the nearby Honfleur and Deauville. Dinner was rather disappointing from the quality and choices and the service was not professional at all. But the view to the sea from your dinner plate is worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Pier B, Propriétaire at La Chaumiere, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Good afternoon,

We thank you very much for your comment and will pay lot more attention to the quality of our service. Although we believe our team is fully dedicated to our guests as our hotel in run with a family spirit.
It would have been nice of you to complain about it while you were here, so that we know where to improve.

As for the quality and the choice we offer in the restaurant, we tend to provide the best quality of ingredients, mainly local, often organic which normally guarantee an outstanding result in your plate. But we do understand and apologize for not fulfilling your expectations.

Any comments are always a great way for us to raise our standards and improve our quality of service, we therfere thank you again for your help.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews