We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
88
217
95
41
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
217
95
41
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lidl supermarket busy road cleaning products pots and pans comfort apartment self catering reception staff are free parking on site room key heated pool min walk hotel breakfast no air con sitting room stayed here for nights spoke good english town centre
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2018

I booked a room with a kitchenette which was very pleasant. However when I booked I was not informed that the room faced a noisy main road. Traffic was not the only source of noise, unfortunately the room next door as occupied by persons with a dog. The dog unfortunately howled at night.
We had breakfast on the first morning of our three day visit. It was dreadful, a total lack of fresh fruit, uncleared tables and insufficient tables.
The parking facilities were inadequate and there was nobody to ensure that clients parked correctly. Upon checking in I would have thought that a note would have been made of ones car registration number. This did not happen and cars were left blocking other cars access.
The hotel was not manned after early evening which I thought was sadly lacking.
Definitely the worst hotel stay I have experienced in years.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trevordunco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Driving down to Migron for holiday, so we thought it best to stop over on the way down and The Wife had heard that Honfleur is nice, and found the Tulip in online and it looks lovely from the photos.

After a long day we eventually found the hotel, it is right off of a busy roundabout and up a steep hill, with a tiny car park which means there is not enough room for all guests and someone kindly parks you in over night.

Got to the reception, no one there, had to wait along with other guests. Eventually got a room key and told that reception closed at 6:30pm and given a code to let ourselves in.

Made it up to our ‘comfort’ apartment which was sandwiched between the lift exit and the reception canopy so quiet noisy (lucky we’d remembered the ear plugs) and also stank of smoke! Reasonable size, but the kids had an uncomfortable sofa bed. Also the shower was so poorly designed/set up it flooded the room when used. Overall it was fairly old and tired, not particularly dirty but no clean either.

Admittedly the pool area looked ok, but the breakfast look pretty basic for the price so didn’t bother. Once we got the car out we left thinking how lucky we were not to be spending more than 1 night.

Not recommended!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank hackerharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephane d, Gérant at Tulip Inn Residence Honfleur, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Monsieur,

Again another person not happy because we don't want to offer everything. When we ask people if everything is okay and if they had a good stay, they say : "yeah all fine but can we have the breakfast for free ?" We refuse and hop ! a bad comment on tripadvisor...

Please don't come back.

Best Regards,

Laura
Responsable réception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

I have never received such shocking and rude service from any hotel before.

To start with, the hotel is "ok". Upsides are the pool, which looked lovely, and the size of the room, and the fact that it was air-conditioned.

Before I explain about the service, there were a couple of other negatives.

The curtains did not close together. Pretty basic requirement for a good night's sleep.

The standard of cleanliness was low. The carpet felt sticky, the plates were smeared and it just felt a bit tatty. No overhead shower. The "kitchenette" was not well equipped. The microwave / combo oven was not self explanatory and the hob didn't work, which was a shame as we had planned a hob-cooked dinner.

(We have been told latterly that the hob does work, but that wasn't our experience).

On arrival, with our two dogs, which I had sent a message about upon booking the hotel, the receptionist seemed surprised to see them and made no delay in pointing out to me the 10 euro surcharge per dog, about which we had no problem.

I noticed the receptionist, whose name I shall not divulge, as I don't wish to be personal, outside smoking cigarettes and on his mobile phone, more often than we was behind the desk. Not very professional!

In the morning upon check out, I was presented with the bill of approx €170 for 1 night and the surcharge for the dogs was again pointed out. I informed the receptionist that the hob didn't work and asked for a partial rebate. He argued the point, telling me how to work the hob. he also repeatedly told me that he had had to add 10 euros for each dog because they would have dirtied the room (nice of him!). This was speculation of his only. I'm not sure what his obsession appeared to be with the dogs, but either you accept them, or you don't. And our dogs are clean and well-behaved in any case.

He then told me that I already had a discounted rate for my room as it was a late booking. I replied that I still wanted him to do something about the fact that we couldn't cook our dinner and he simply wasn't interested and actually became angry.

I asked for the name of the manager but he said the manager was on holiday, and I quote "you won't get anywhere with them / they won't care either".

I informed the receptionist that I would be making a complaint about his response and attitude and also about the fact that he was smoking outside the front door, talking on his phone, rather then serving guests . He then started raising his voice at me aggressively and was red in the face.

"Who are you to tell me how to do my job?" he said?
"What gives you the right to say anything. What place do you have to judge?"
"I am working 15 hours a day. Do you not expect me to take a break?!"

I simply replied that as client of the hotel, it really is my place to comment.

Whether the hob worked or not (he phoned us 15 minutes after our departure to confirm it was working), no hotel receptionist should ever treat a customer in this way.

There is a complete lack of respect for clients, a total inability to politely and correctly handle a complaint and to at least pretend to empathise with the client.

I told him I had never, ever been treated so badly by a hotel staff and his final response was to tell me to leave and don't come back if that's how I feel.

Disgusting lack of service. This is a hotel that is out to make money and that is all. I'd be astonished if they get any repeat business.

Do not waste your money!!!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephane d, Gérant at Tulip Inn Residence Honfleur, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018
Google Translation

Madame,

Please stop annoying every hotel you go ! We already have 3 complain of you Normandy !

C'est votre comportement qui a été très décevant. Vous avez fait dormir vos deux énormes chiens dans les canapés, nous devions donc vous faire payer le supplément. Ce n'est parce qu'on vous refuse une réduction que vous devez vous montrer malpolie et non courtoise envers notre personnel. Mon collègue vous a expliquez comment fonctionnait les plaques, mais vous êtes restée bloquée sur votre idée pour réclamer des réductions. Je pense que ce n'est pas votre place de juger notre personnel ou le nombre de pause que celui-ci prend. Nous ne divulgons pas l'odeur de votre chambre quand vous partez n'est-ce pas ? Il faut savoir que vous n'avez fait aucune remarque négative avant qu'on vous dise que vous deviez payer le supplément pour vos chiens, comme par hasard. D'ailleurs nous avons encore le mail qui vous a été envoyé il y a des semaines de cela, précisant le tarif des animaux.

Au plaisir de ne plus vous recroiser.

Cordialement,

Laura Responsable réception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

This hotel with ample parking is beautifully situated on the outskirts of Honfleur and just opposite a Lidl supermarket. We had a lovely room with a balcony which looked out onto the covered swimming pool. The staff were attentive and friendly. We had a comfortable bed and had a good breakfast. It does not have a bar, but we will certainly use it again when we come to Honfleur

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dtredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephane d, Gérant at Tulip Inn Residence Honfleur, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear Clients

thanks a lot for your comment , we appreciate your sincerity

see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, 2 superior rooms with kitchenette - well worth the extra cost as it saved us from buying breakfasts each day.
The rooms were spacious and well fitted. Beds were comfortable but maybe a little firm for people who want deep, soft mattresses, perfect for us though.
Reception staff are very pleasant and helpful.
Location is perfect, just outside the town. There’s a Lidl opposite and, weather permitting, which it wasn’t for us, a 15 minute walk along the river to the town.
Plenty of free parking on site - parking in Honfleur is €2 an hour so can mount up, especially if you’re staying in a hotel in town with no parking - €22/day!
We will stay here again when we return to Honfleur.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank baggycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews