We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,164)
Filter reviews
1,164 results
Traveller rating
628
360
118
45
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
360
118
45
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel historical building internal courtyard main restaurant converted hospital original features l hermitage old church steam room star hotel atrium bar modern art turn down service glass roof the ground floor minute walk rooms are nice
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,164 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

I loved so much about this place: a unique collection of historic buildings, with lovely rooms and friendly service. The hotel's more informal restaurant was really enjoyable. A very eclectic place, excellent value for money when we stayed, and highly recommended.

Agree with a couple of the other comments here: the breakfast falls short of the quality of everything else in the hotel. The price of a beer in the lounge is ridiculous. And it is a bit of a walk into the centre. But it's such a nice place that it still rates a five out of five for me.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank JCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the L’Hermitage for two nights at the start and end of our tour. The hotel is different as it is in a restored hospice with many of the historic elements still in place. The decor is a blend between modern materials and more traditional tiles and features. The rooms are spacious and quiet, which offers a good night’s rest. The main city centre and train stations are a short walk from the hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient in their service. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would happily return.
Thanks for your vote.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TWal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jérémie J, Front Office Manager at L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear TWal1

We would like to thank you very much for having chosen L’Hermitage Gantois Autograph Collection on your last stay in Lille.

By answering to our survey, you have shared your experience with us and I am extremely grateful for this.
Your feedback is a great value for us and I am glad to learn that our level of service has reached your expectations.

Once again, thank you very much for your positive feedback and we hope we will soon have the pleasure to welcome you back at our hotel.

Warm regards,

Jeremie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

It is about a 15 minutes’ walk from the beautiful centre of Lille and it is a gorgeous place. It has been a hospice and with feeling they kept many of the elements. The rooms were nice, but for a 5-star hotel you don’t expect, and you don’t want, to climb in a bathtub to take a shower. The hotel bar is nice and there is a Spa.
We stayed only one night on our way to Burgundy. In this summer of 2018 we selected the place on the availability of air conditioner, allowance for our medium size dog and safe parking place. The parking was an extra € 30, = and the dog cost us an extra € 25, =. But dog was nicely welcomed, and they had an accurate valet parking.
For the breakfast we will go outdoor the next time. The extra charge of € 23, = a person for scrambled eggs made of egg powder, burned bacon, cold eggs in the water and bad coffee served didn’t fit our expectations in this class of hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cint55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Without a doubt, this former monastery is impressive, and tastefully restored, with a virtually intact chapel as one of the attractions. The panelling in the rooms is intended to echo the original panelling in other parts of the building; however, it is not entirely successful. The paintings around the premises are a mix of interestingly abstract and embarrassingly kitsch.

At the back is a big building pit. After being woken up at 7.00 after our first night, we asked for another room -- and graciously were given one.

Apart from the expensive "gastronomic" breakfast (which we didn't sample), the hotel offers a quick and cheaper variety (€12) in the lounge. This did not live up to the hotel's five-star ambitions. Surely one may expect a freshly squeezed juice and fresh marmelades; the Pain Quotidien does a better job in this respect.

The staff is highly correct, but somehow did not made us feel really welcome -- we missed warmth and enthusiasm.

The hotel is located in a part of town that is somewhat ragged and in need of further development. Hopefully the presence of this hotel will help improve the quality of this neighbourhood. It is a twenty-minute walk to the Flandres Station, and to the city centre.

So despite the splendid ambiance, we were a little bit disappointed by the hotel.

Room Tip: During building activities at the back, opt for a room at the street side.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ChF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jérémie J, Front Office Manager at L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear ChR_10

We would like to thank you very much for having chosen L’Hermitage Gantois Autograph Collection on your last stay in Lille.
By answering to our survey, you have shared your experience with us and I am extremely grateful for this.
I am sorry to learn that we have not been able to reach your expectations on that occasion.

Rest assured that all the necessary actions will be taken in order to welcome you in a proper way on your next stay with us.
Moreover, I remain at your entire disposal for any assistance.

Once again, I apologize for the inconveniences encountered and I hope that I will have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Jeremie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

From the moment you arrive you know you are going to stay somewhere very special. The modernisation of this hotel has not impacted on the history of the building, all has been carried out with reverence & attention to detail and does not detract from the historical value of it; but still offers all of the comfort of a very modern high quality hotel.

There are a number of areas to sit in whether you want to be inside or out all are very bright, welcoming & comfortable.

The rooms are well appointed very clean & comfortable. It was very hot when we visited but the air conditioning kept our room at a very good temperature. So we slept very well.

We used the spa for a swim & steam room it was fine but nothing very special.

We would tend to agree the bar prices are rather expensive however the quality of the wine was excellent. We were a little put off by the cost of the buffet style breakfast as that too was rather expensive, however we gave in and tried it and it was well worth the cost, a wonderful offering of so many choices all of which (or a least the ones we tasted) were very good, we were definately spoilt for choice.

Finally the staff, everyone we came in to contact with were, friendly professional and willing to help in any way they could.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAPEVERDEEXCELLENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews