We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,164)
Filter reviews
1,164 results
Traveller rating
628
360
118
45
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
360
118
45
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel historical building internal courtyard main restaurant converted hospital original features l hermitage old church steam room star hotel atrium bar modern art turn down service glass roof the ground floor minute walk rooms are nice
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 1,164 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Spent 3 days in the hotel last week and really enjoyed the building. Great atmosphere and good combination of old and new. However, despite the quality of the building the attention to detail and service was far below 5*.
We arrived about 11am which was before check in time. We were told the room was not ready (expected ) given a map, suggested we left luggage and come back later. In every other 5* we have been offered coffee or other drink and the offer to freshen up. At 2pm on our return were told to sit in the lounge whilst they checked if room was ready. Sat for an hour then on checking back to reception told room was just ready?. If the hotel knew we were in the town early why not prioritise getting the room ready or offer a different room. I doubt the hotel was full.
Breakfast was good quality but again fell short. Good quality ingredients but limited offering for the standard of hotel. No berries, nuts or compot. Etc.
On 3 separate days we had no tea spoon, no dessert spoon or no coffee cup or cruet. Every table we sat at rocked. Labels identifying the buffet offerings only appeared on the first day and worse off all tables noisily being reset for lunch around the breakfast diners.
A bottle of wine was in our room (arranged by our tour guide),but was left with only one glass and no means of opening.
Only instant coffee in the bedroom and only 2 portions of creamer left each morning. I am sure I could have ordered extra but why make it necessary.
All very small points, but far to many.
Full marks for the wifi and the Nespresso machine in the breakfast room . location was Good- only a 10 minute walk from the centre
Bar service was good but, as has been said by others pricey
The impression we left with was that guests were an inconvenience and the hotel wold have been more efficient without them. (This applies particularly to the older male staff ).
Bearing in mind the price charged I would not return.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank johnny061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed there last weekend and i must say the hotel is beautiful with large rooms and all clean with necessary facilities in the rooms, friendly staff and nice atmosphere in the hotel, however our room wasn't include the breakfast and on arrival the lady at the reception mentioned to us that although breakfast is not included, you can have it free of charge ( like an upgrade) but when i did the checkouts , they have charged us €46 euros per day extra! And the manager wasn't helpful at all and he refused to accept his receptionist mistake! Obviously i paid in the end, but it left a very bitter taste in my mouth after a nice stay so therefor not sure if i go back there again (as much as it was a beautiful hotel) one thing i can suggest if the hotel manager is reading this is to train your stuff or take their mistake responsibilities! And keep ur customers happy so they come back! Thats the first sign of a successful manager, specially for hotels.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

An unique experience, old hospice rooms are turned in very nice rooms. Old wood panels are combined with modern and sleek furniture. Perhaps because of the age, rooms are very quiet, not a sound from the corridor nor outside.

Nice but not overwhelming buffet breakfast. Good bar and very knowledgeable bar tenders. The spa is quite small.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mikko V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Loved this hotel. As a Marriott Platinum member I was given an upgrade to a junior suite which was spacious and charming. The room was overlooking the glassed in courtyard; it was very quiet. The hotel is a Marriott Autograph Collection in an old convent. Breakfast buffet was excellent, even had Champagne (probably sparkling wine)... too early in the day to start drinking for us.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quiet although it is not on a busy road so front side should be OK too.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DaveCNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is interesting and the rooms are good and clean. It has a nice bar area but breakfast was pretty terrible, even though they did have gluten free options which is good for France.
The pool is small but very nice and there is a steam room.
The hotel is about a ten minute walk from the centre of Lille.
The staff are great and really helpful. They have safe parking.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews