We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,056)
Filter reviews
1,056 results
Traveller rating
285
426
238
76
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
426
238
76
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews converted convent glass roof old town lovely hotel central atrium car park quiet location the main areas third floor beautiful building good size huge bed bar prices great weekend bit dated air conditioning sitting area
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,056 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Location - good
Service - good
Rooms - okay
Room value - okay
Bar atmosphere - good
Bar value - poor

Stunning hotel in a nice quiet area with easy reach to all of Lille.

Rooms are a little tired and in need of a refresh/modernisation.

Bar is great with large glass roof.
Service was very good good but the cost of drinks was ridiculous. €19 for a small glass of champagne!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ianh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Firstly the staff at this hotel are great, polite friendly and helpful, on first impression it looks really chic and modern within a very old shell of the old convent. My room on the third floor overlooked the old quay, sounds wonderful except the cobbles on the road and surrounding buildings echo and cars use it up to 1am so don’t expect a good nights sleep. Around 4am deliveries begin to arrive and they drop goods off the lorries onto the cobbles giving the effect of rifle fire. So two nights of broken sleep. Then the toilet that flushed on its own about 10 times a night and an alarm clock that came on by itself , was there a Ghost in the building ? Perhaps so given the history.
The bar and restaurant are good if a little overpriced but I must add the food is good.
When I booked the website said free parking, this not correct it’s 21 euros a day if you are lucky to grab a space. The good bits, the park, canal and Zoo are 5 minutes walk and worth a visit. The old town and historical attractions are 10 minutes walk and the bars, cafes and restaurants are plentiful . There are lots of beggars in Lille and they acost you so be prepared. Eurolille shopping by the station is just like Bluewater with the same shops. The people are friendly and you will be tempted with chocolates and sweets made locally.

Room Tip: Avoid the quayside facing rooms on all 3 floors
Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We spent four days at this pretty hotel. It is about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Lille. A converted convent which is tastefully decorated. The room was well appointed and clean. The in-house restaurant was very good but found the drinks fairly expensive. Staff were very friendly and attentive remembering our name when greeting us.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Whilst the hotel is somewhat stuck in a 90's time warp it remains my preferred hotel in Lille. It provides a solid, but not perfect, 4* offering with a good location both for access to the town and also for access to the Citadel, friendly staff, comfortable (if a bit 90's themed) bedrooms, a solid breakfast offering, and surprisingly good food from the bar - I did not try the restaurant, which was closed on some evenings. There is also parking and some charging for electric cars. My 15 year old daughter and I walked both from and back to the station, but some people might find it a bit far to walk, especially carrying bags - but this is so so much a nicer environment than the area immediately surrounding the station (where some of the competing hotels are located).

This is a solid 4* offering - if you want a 5* offering then look to the nearby Relais et Chateau Clarance Hotel.

There is much good with this hotel. It provided us a friendly and comfortable stay, but it is not perfect: the bathroom of 401, for example, was starting to show mould and needs a good clean with bleach or similar, but this is easy enough to sort out. One of the two lifts was out of order and appears to have been for a while.

The hotel has a very attractive location and is a 90's conversion of an historic building, whose former life includes being and convent and then it was used by the army, and more recently it was completely dilapidated. The 90's conversion and refurbishment was clever, even if now looks a bit dated. The bedroom was large and very comfortable, but the décor is a bit dated. The television in the room showed BBC1 & BBC2 (in addition to CNN) once we had worked out how to access these channels - and of course French TV as well as a little from other countries.

Whilst it does not have a gym the hotel is just around the corner from the Citadel, whose grounds provide good jogging opportunities. The hotel is also a comfortable walk into the old town and some of the galleries, etc., if you like walking.

We found the breakfast to be a solid 4* buffet offering and would recommend it, especially as alternative options are limited, especially on Sundays. There was a bit of everything and my daughter, who can usually find issues with most things, was happy with the offering here.

All in all we thought this to be a comfortable hotel in a good location and we hope to return.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travel-Recipient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Me and a friend booked to watch Lille play leicester city and booked to stay at Bellevue unfortunately they had to cancel 2 days before arrival. Late rooms transferred us to this hotel and I’m so glad they did a beautiful building within walking distance of the city centre. Room was huge and very clean and staff were very friendly. Would highly recommend

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews