We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded our expectations- which were already...”
other travellers have booked this property
Magical lake house with private pool set in 3.5 acres
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Magical lake house with private pool set in 3.5 acres
Secluded private pool area 13x5m child friendly private pool with lake views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Magical lake house with private pool set in 3.5 acres
Secluded private pool area
13x5m child friendly private pool with lake views
Private gated child friendly pool area
Covered seating area with stunning lake views
Private terraces with stunning lake views
Dedicated childrens play area in the grounds
Secure private parking
Dining room with bespoke 4m oak dining table
Entrance hall with feature wood burning stove
Large open plan kitchen with wood fired pizza oven and breakfast table
Snug lounge with wood burner and UK Satellite TV
Dedicated ground floor playroom for kids
Bedroom 1 double bed with en-suite
Bedroom 2 double bed with day bed & en-suite
Bedroom 3 king bed with en-suite
Bedroom 4 with double bed and en-suite with bath
Bedroom 5 family room with twin singles, bunk beds and en-suite
Bedroom 5 family room with twin singles, bunk beds and en-suite
Bedroom 6 with super king bed and private bathroom
En-suite bathroom
Dining room log burner perfect for a winter break
Lake shot on Xmas day, perfect winter retreat
Dining table laid up for a festive winter feast
Tranquil country house with magical lake views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Kat W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded our expectations- which were already high!”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing stay at Maison Tranquil. The location is beautiful and incredibly peaceful. We were a big group, 15 in total, but the house had ample room and everything we needed- the kitchen was particularly well equipped!
Mark and Andrea were the perfect hosts. They were endlessly patient with our queries and went out of their way to help us (even giving us a lift to a restaurant one evening when we couldn't book a taxi!) A massage with Andrea is a must!
There are plenty of activities in the surrounding area and lots of pretty villages, vineyards and good restaurants near by. Mark and Andrea were happy to help organise anything we were interested in.
Cannot recommend Maison Tranquil enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lone253
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brillant vacations in southern France”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Great vacations in a wonderful house. Beautiful view on the lake and very , very calm. Really nice area and a super location for a guest house. We also had brillant food, Mark and Andrea are really good cooks. Very nice for family holidays, I just can recommend it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JDiffey
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely house for a reunion”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Eight of us - mostly old university friends gathered for a reunion in this house overlooking a lake in deepest Languedoc. The house is ideal for a group of friends since most of the rooms are en-suite and there is a great deal of space for socializing downstairs. Since the weather was kind for most of the week, we all spent a lot of time out on the terrace where we could sit in comfort, eat our lunch outside, enjoy a glass of blanquette de limoux as the sun went down.

Mark, the owner could not have been more helpful, getting shoppiing in for us in advance, and cooking and serving three evening meals for us. I can thoroughlly recommend this to any group.

The only reason I have not given this property five stars is that the kitchen left something to be desired in its layout - but this is a minor quibble, and I understand that Mark and Andrea are planning to revamp it this winter.

Finally - the house is very child friendly with a large play room and toys. The grandchildren of one of our party visited us one day and seemed very happy with the facilities.

Thank you Mark for a memorable stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the position of the house and the view
Liked least: the layout of the kitchen and poor level of lighting
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke M
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and tranquil setting”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Big thank you to mark and andrea for making us feel so welcome at maison tranquil.
The setting is so peaceful and away from it all, just what we all needed. ITs never completely peaceful with 4 adults and 5 children but plenty of inside and outside space to enjoy.
Weather was mixed but lots of local attractions to visit, including local lake in carcassone ( fab total wipe out type water park) and obviously the amazing walled city in carcassone.
Hope to go back one day, thank you again

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing