We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Istria
Nearby Hotels
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Eiffel Seine(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$267
US$257
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Duo(Paris)
US$323
US$312
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$1,282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$223
US$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$227
US$205
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Muguet(Paris)
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$224
US$207
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Astoria - Astotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$144
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
59
154
70
18
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
154
70
18
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboulevard raspailrooms are smallgare montparnasseminute walkrer bpleasant staysupermarketmetrostreetcellarmattress
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2015

I have been coming to this hotel for the last 3 years in March. Though the rooms can be small, which is quiet common in Europe, I found the location, price, and the friendly nature of the staff to be extremely helpful for this solo traveller. With some fantastic restaurants nearby the Istria is certainly a hotel to rest your head

Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbaldi, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Istria, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Thanks you a lot for this nice comment ! We are glad to read you come and visit us every year ! Look forward to welcoming you next time, Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

We chose this hotel because of its price & location. It is just across the street from a train station. Easy access to all parts of the city. Yes the room was small , but as we do not spend much time in the room, it was not a problem for us. The staff was polite and helpful, the room was clean, and the mattress was very comfortable. For the price, it was great! We prefer to spend less on our hotel and have more to spend on food & drink.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TKARCAROLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gauthier c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Istria, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015
Google Translation

Un grand merci pour ce commentaire si positif, nous sommes ravis de lire que vous avez apprécié votre séjour !
Nous espérons avoir l'occasion de vous accueillir à nouveau,
Cordialement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2015

The rooms are tiny even the delux room. You walk into the door and almost fall into the bed. There is almost no other furniture, there is even no real closet- just couple of shelves and hangers with no door. The bathroom is very old and smelly, there is no shower curtain or a hook to hang a shower, so you end up keeping the shower in your hand and trying not to have all the water running into the floor. We go the room that was located on the second floor of the internal yard, the entrance to the room was from a small passage/balcony, so it felt like a side-road motel in US. It was not possible to keep the windows open because one could just step into the room through the window. It was not possible to keep the windows open because one could just step into the room through the window. The personnel was not helpful when I complained about the AC, the smell in the room and the lack of a shower curtain. The cleaning staff tried their best to keep the property clean as much as it is possible in such an warned- out building
Location is probably the only advantage of the hotel- it is just steps from the metro and 15-20 minutes walk to most attractions in the Latin quarter

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gauthier c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Istria, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2015

Dear Sir or Madam,

We thank you for taking time writing us concerning your stay but are sorry to read such a disappointment. We're going to answer you precisely.
- the first issue you mentioned is the small room you stayed in : we are sorry to tell you that it is mostly the case in historical parisian hotels like the Hotel Istria. It's true that rooms are not as big as we wish but we want to offer a huge and comfortable bed to our clients so that they sleep well.
- the second issue you mentioned is the bathroom : we have noticed the problem and it's now fixed, thanks to clients feedbacks like yours and we thank you for that.
- the third issue you mentioned is the room in the internal yard : we're sorry to read you didn't appreciate it. Most of our clients enjoy its cuteness, peacefulness and charm.

We're also sorry to hear about the unhelpful staff, we'll inform the Director but be sure we all want your stay to be the most comfortable and nice possible.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2015

The hotel is located near the metro station, very easy and convenient.
This small and intimate, very conveys the atmosphere of romantic Paris ...
Rooms are small, but cozy and clean, and well-equipped.
The staff is very kind and helpful.
We did not take breakfast, because it was expensive in our opinion. It is better to eat in the cafe area.
You should go to the Tower Monfrns- 7 minutes on foot, there are dozens of restaurants and cafes and places of entertainment.
In short - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liraz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gauthier c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Istria, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2015
Google Translation

Un grand merci pour votre commentaire très positif à notre égard, nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour dans notre petit hôtel familial, qui bénéficie qui plus est d'une réelle histoire littéraire et artistique !
Dans l'attente de vous accueillir à nouveau, toute l'équipe de l'hôtel Istria vous prie de recevoir ses meilleures salutations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015

We booked this hotel because of the location. There was a Metro (Raspail line 4) 100 meter from the hotel. we didn't really see any decent restaurant nearby the hotel. We had to walk 1 mile going to Montparnasse. We got the standard room for a decent prize however the room was really small. We don't recommend it to a family of 3. We only have 1 big luggage and we don't even know where to put it. Breakfast was 12 euro, it was ok nothing special but it was convenient for us. They don't have laundry here and if you have car you have to pay the parking machine right outside the hotel (if you got lucky to find one). Overall experience it was OK. Staff were very helpful with all our queries. You can also book the shuttle thru them to drop you off at the airport (18 Euro/adult). It was really helpful and I think only 2 Euro more than taking the metro and train. We got really exhausted when we arrive because of all the transfer and it took us 1hr or more from the airport to the hotel when we chose to take the train and metro. We highly suggest taking the shuttle.

Breakfast was too expensive for a plain selection. Housekeeping doesn't speak english at all, but with sign language you'll be fine. The hotel also have elevator (as most of the small hotel doesn't) so it was a plus. Wifi works great in the lobby and in the room.

P.S the wall in this hotel was not sound proof. I could hear someone snoring at the middle of the night. Thought it was funny but annoying if it lasted for a while.

Room Tip: Booked the superior room for a family of 3 or more. The standard double/twin room is very small and it could only fit for a couple with small luggage.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charms F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews