We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
119
133
37
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
133
37
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews saint germain boutique shops great location brasserie lipp ac worked well room was nicely decorated shower stall very nice small hotel walking distance family suite latin quarter we loved our stay left bank charming hotel quiet street rooms are small great bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018

I loved everything except the winding stairway to the 2nd floor - it was difficult getting our suitcases up there. The staff was amazing! There wasn't a bellman to assist us though.

I know that some of the rooms can be accessed by elevators. I don't think it's clear enough on the website though.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jbarne534341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Deux Continents, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear Jbarne534341,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with other travelers.

Our staff have been pleased to read that you had a nice stay at Hotel des 2 Continents. However, we are sorry for the trouble you had with the stairs.

As Hotel des 2 Continents is made of three different buildings, two of them have an elevator, and one has only stairs. To make it clear for our hosts and avoid any bad surprise at arrival, we called the rooms of this building "Room - 2nd or 3rd floor without lift", and we added the information about the lack of elevator in the description too. We also inform our guests that there is no porter to help them. It is very important for us to tell our guests that they booked a room without elevator and do not hesitate to contact us if your have an idea of how to make it clearer. We sincerely apologize if it was not the case for you because we really did our best

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the deep heart of Saint-Germain-des-Prés.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

We had two rooms for three nights at Hotel des Deux Continents. Both rooms were towards the back of the hotel - quiet, quite small, with recently renovated, tiny but adequate bathrooms. It was quite warm when we were there and the AC worked well. There was a tea/coffee making pot in the room which was nice. On arrival in the room there were also some madeleines to eat. The hotel is in a nice area in the 6th arrondisement. We walked from there to the Rodin museum, the Louvre, to the Luxembourg Garden, the Marais, etc. we had a nice stay.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank MistyAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Deux Continents, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear MistyAsh,

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel des 2 Continents.

Our team had a large smile after reading that you appreciated your Parisian experience. Saint-Germain-des-Prés is a good choice of location for a visit of the city because it is central, lively and you can make beautiful walks until the main touristic places.

As well being of our guests is important for us, we like to propose them a sweet welcoming :)

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back for a new Parisian trip.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Property was nice and location was convenient. Help from the personnel at front desk was less than satisfactory. Just an fyi, don't believe them when they book a taxi to airport for 62 Euro. Taxi driver charged me 65 Euro. Also apparently there is a shuttle that moves from hotels to the airport. When asked at the desk about transport to the airport, the staff neglected to mention. Was not helpful that regard.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lessthansatisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Deux Continents, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel des 2 Continents.

First of all, we would like to apologize for the misunderstanding about the taxi cost. Our colleague gave you the correct price, because it is 62€ to go to CDG airport when we order a cab in advance. If your driver asked you for 65€, please contact us in order to tell us your name and the date of your departure. We will contact the company and explain them the situation.

Usually our receptionists give you the different choices you have to CDG airport (shuttle, taxi, bus or train), however, when it is too late to order a shuttle, they propose a taxi. We are sorry if you thought that we did not want to help you because this is why we do this job.

It would be a pleasure to see you again in Saint-Germain-des-Prés for a new visit of Paris.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Friendly employees, great location. Rooms were perfect for us with modern bathrooms. Amazing access to the fun and exciting parts of Paris. The front desk assisted us with reservations and local attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Deux Continents, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Richard B,

Thank you very much for your nice review on Trip Advisor.

Our staff have been very happy to discover your enthusiasm about your stay in Saint-Germain-des-Prés. The area a really fantastic because it is central and lively by day and night.

We do hope that you had a nice trip back home and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Recent bad experience with this hotel and I advise anyone considering a stay in this hotel to look elsewhere!! Rude and incompetent staff who could care less about guest comfort or customer satisfaction. Mound in shower, tiny rooms, rooms that were not ready until well after the 2.00pm advised time, total lack of communication from front desk staff. Will never stay here again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank SBF03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Deux Continents, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear SBF03,

Thank you for choosing Hotel des 2 Continents.

After your departure on Monday, we were expecting a review from you. We would like to apologize for your check in because you had to wait more that one hour after check-in time. We proposed you to check in into the first room available but as you booked 2 rooms, you decided to wait for the two rooms ready, and it took more time. It was a very bad start at Hotel des 2 Continents, and we did apologize for that.

When I arrived on Monday morning, I saw you yelling on our new receptionist because he could not find a taxi during the strike. He really did his best to find a solution, and even if we totally understand how stressful the situation was for you during the train strike, you can not say he was rude and incompetent. I helped you with your app to find a private driver, and I also went to the street in order to find a taxi. Well being of our guests is our priority and your comments about the staff is not fair.

After your departure, some of our hosts came at reception desk to tell us they were shocked by your behavior and we explained them that you were afraid of not catching your train.

Of course you will not be back but we needed to answer you because the experience you had in our hotel does not reflect a regular stay at Hotel des 2 Continents.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews