We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see when in Paris”
Review of Musee d'Orsay

Musee d'Orsay
Ranked #1 of 2,263 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This beautiful museum, once a railroad station, now houses a staggering collection of Impressionist art, as well as other items created between 1848 and 1914. In 2011, the museum is running a renovation of the top floor (impressionist gallery). Only ground and medium floor are accessible. The top floor will re-open on the 20th of October. Meanwhile, some impressionist masterpieces are not visible.
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Ok...we had to wait in line outside in the snow for 40 minutes so that part was not fun. However, the museum is amazing. van Gogh, Monet, Renoiri, Toulouse-Latrec, and so many more it was crazy. They even had Whisler's Mother hanging there. We spend 5 hours here and it was so worth it.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"van gogh"
in 2,516 reviews
"train station"
in 3,055 reviews
"impressionist art"
in 1,296 reviews
"favorite museum in paris"
in 667 reviews
"old railway"
in 567 reviews
"fifth floor"
in 462 reviews
"wonderful museum"
in 695 reviews
"musee d'orsay"
in 580 reviews
"love this museum"
in 330 reviews
"museum pass"
in 1,154 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 919 reviews
"art lovers"
in 467 reviews
"amazing collection"
in 314 reviews
"on display"
in 581 reviews
"audio guide"
in 650 reviews
"degas"
in 1,552 reviews
"sculptures"
in 2,771 reviews
Filter

26,301 - 26,305 of 60,240 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

This was a lot bigger then I thought it is worth going for sure especially if you like Monet, Van gogh, Renior.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank Voshte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

There are lots of museums in Paris but I'd say this is definitely worth a visit if you are only doing 1. The entry fee is pretty reasonable relative to other European galleries. The building itself, which has recently been spruced up, is super impressive and almost worth the trip itself. The art though is the obvious attraction. I am certainly no art expert but I was very impressed with the Impressionist rooms. I'd be surprised if most people don't recognise several of the pictures on display. Lots of famous artists' - Renoir, Monet, Manet, Sisley, Van Gogh - work on view. A good couple of hours spent here.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank EdinburghGlaswegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Outstanding. Not only were the exhibits mind shattering, but the building itself is a work of art. It used to be a train station and has since been restored. You cannot go to the Musee d'Orsay without visiting Van Gogh & Monet in person. Even my 10 year old daughter was interested in seeing the art work with bare naked eyes up close. Owning the prints in your own home just will never be the same. Recommend purchasing tickets in advance. We showed up with our museum pass and got to by pass the horrendous ticket line. We also ate at the cafe on the 5th floor. There was a line to be seated, but unlike french style, they actually served quite quick. It doesn't matter where you start or what you see, JUST GO!

Date of experience: March 2013
1  Thank traveler_n_texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2013

If you've never visited this musee then put it on your list. Like us, if you have, then it's time for a revisit.
Included in Museum pass.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank celticmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee d'Orsay also viewed

 

Been to Musee d'Orsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing