We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 9:45 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Musee d'Orsay
from US$80.10
More Info
from US$19.60
More Info
from US$39.50
More Info
from US$48.50
More Info
Reviews (60,233)
Filter reviews
60,233 results
Traveller rating
47,617
10,608
1,548
257
203
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47,617
10,608
1,548
257
203
Show reviews that mention
All reviews van gogh train station impressionist art favorite museum in paris old railway fifth floor wonderful museum musee d'orsay love this museum museum pass beautiful building art lovers amazing collection on display audio guide degas sculptures
Filter
Updating list...
26,303 - 26,308 of 60,233 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Outstanding. Not only were the exhibits mind shattering, but the building itself is a work of art. It used to be a train station and has since been restored. You cannot go to the Musee d'Orsay without visiting Van Gogh & Monet in person. Even my 10 year old daughter was interested in seeing the art work with bare naked eyes up close. Owning the prints in your own home just will never be the same. Recommend purchasing tickets in advance. We showed up with our museum pass and got to by pass the horrendous ticket line. We also ate at the cafe on the 5th floor. There was a line to be seated, but unlike french style, they actually served quite quick. It doesn't matter where you start or what you see, JUST GO!

Date of experience: March 2013
1  Thank traveler_n_texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

If you've never visited this musee then put it on your list. Like us, if you have, then it's time for a revisit.
Included in Museum pass.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank celticmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I love this museum, and my visit to it almost a decade ago started my love of impressionist art. My recent trip brought back all these memories. It's accessible to even people new to art; it's the art I would love to be able to afford for my house. For now I just have to settle for prints from the museum shop. The museum building itself is very impressive as well with beautiful views of Paris and Montmartre out of huge see-through clocks.

Date of experience: April 2012
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

As the Museum is very big we took a guided tour named: highlights of Musee D'Orsay that can guide you to some important artworks and after that you can see what interested you most. Of course there is a lot more to be seen but is a starting point. The building itself is remarkable, no photos are allowed, but everybody is carrying a camera.

Thank Mixtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

To start - the building is incredible, so just being inside is quite a trip. I love the selection of furniture and furnishings in the tower, that happens to be topped by a fantastic caffe - a very civilized place for a beer and a sandwich or a cup of tea and a pastry. Whistler's disapproving Mother would not approve of the caffe as she would consider it way too frivolous - but just walk past her and avoid her disapproving look.

The unbeatable views of the Seine and Tulleries gardens from the top floor windows area are an added bonus.

If you are pressed for time you could (rush) it in half a day, but more time would be better. We did this as part of the museum pass, and if you time it right with a pass you can take advantage of the late night openings (Wednesdays Louvre, Thursdays Arts & Metiers). Don't miss the Orangerie acros the river.

A good museum for both museum buffs and those less so inclined given the beautiful building, views and also the paintings and sculptures.

Date of experience: March 2013
1  Thank Roadbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews