We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
8
15
37
28
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
15
37
28
14
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Good location but all hotels in Montparnasse are well located anyway.
The room was on the first floor (Room 101 from memory, just above the hotel entrance door) and had the smallest bathroom ever !! If you sit down on the toilet, you cannot even close the door as your legs stick out, and you cannot open fully the bathroom door because the bed is in the way.
The street light was beaming through the window.
Not very clean neither, stains on the bedspread, carpet worn out.
The manager/employee at reception was not pleasant at all with a bad attitude (the only decent person was the night employee).
Terrible experience. We'll never go back. There are plenty other hotels in the area with better rooms and service.

Room Tip: Do not take the room on the 1st floor above the hotel entrance
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Selma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La D, Responsable relations clients at Edgar Quinet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Sorry you did not like your stay but we offer very low prices for a located in the center of Paris.
We bring a special care to the clean rooms and the welcome of the customers
cordially

the direction
HOTEL EDGAR QUINET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I booked via Booking;com and got a very good price. Then I read the reviews and started having misgivings. In the end, I can say this hotel is in one of the cutest areas of paris, and it is quite good ( you just need to close the window not to hear the vagrants quarreling in the local square).

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fifi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La D, Responsable relations clients at Edgar Quinet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Thank you for your nice comment
It gives us courage to continue
Hope to see you soon

Direction
HOTEL EDGAR QUINET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Small hotel with small sized comfortable rooms but this is typical of Paris.
If you book last minute (within a week) you may get good deals (whether direct with hotel or via booking.com for example).
Great location next to Montparnasse metro, with a nice local market on Saturdays and great crepe restaurants around.
Considering the price is lower than your average Paris hotel, what you get is not bad which is why i gave it 4/5.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DolphinsNSharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Location is fantastic - right opposite Edgar Quinet station in the heart of Montparnasse. Double room was small, such that it was good that I glad I was the only one staying there. But room was comfortable, wifi was good and front desk staff were helpful.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015

All I wanted was to have a nice holiday in Paris, and everything could have been great, but the management of this hotel have completely ruined it.
Such rude behaviour, such disrespect and lack of consideration for the guests I haven't seen anywhere in the world, and I have traveled in quite a few countries and stayed in numerouse hotels for both business and leisure.

They have absolutely no interest in facilitating a pleasant stay for their guests,
and unfortunatelly their staff is not empowered to do anything about it.

A couple of things were broken in the room and bathroom, so I have requested for someone to have a look at them, or to be moved to another room. Whatever question was raised, it always met the same answer: we will talk to the manager.
However nothing really changed as a result of this. One of the days I happened to speak myself to the so-called manager, and he was absolutely uninterested in any of the issues brought to his attention.

If they have at least aknowledged the issues, and tried to make the slightests excuse, or organize another room - it would have been absolutely fine, but their attitude was far from that..

Not much to say about the hotel itself. The room is very small, but you get what you pay for, so I did expect a small room, but it was also so uncomfortable to get in and out of the room, I had to juggle with the doors every time.
On the good side, it was a clean place, and the location was not too bad, but paying the full price while various things
are broken - better stay somewhere else. It's really not worth your money and your nerves, I certainly regret my choice.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GreenZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews