We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet and pretty place - just what we needed.”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room, looking through to the dining room and kitchen Sitting room showing the woodburner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Sitting Room, looking through to the dining room and kitchen
Sitting room showing the woodburner
Dining Room seating for 6
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Rustic cart wheel clematis and roses
Sunrise at Genetou
Free range hens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
La Chatre, Indre, Berry, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andrea R
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet and pretty place - just what we needed.”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed for a week here in November, and found a little piece of tranquility. The gite was clean, warm and comfortable and the views over the countryside were picturesque. There were a few days of late sunshine, so we sat outside and took in the garden - a little piece of paradise with climbing roses and lavender.
There are many local walks nearby, and we visited the local town of La Chatre, which had some good eating places (especially pizza) and historic buildings and churches.
Would highly recommend this place - Tim and Juliet were very welcoming and informative, so am looking to book again soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2017
Thank you for your review, we looking forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nigel F
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Relaxing luxurious hideaway”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We have just spend the last few days in what must be the best little hideaway in central France, a well equipped gite tucked away in tranquil countryside a few minutes drive from La Chatre.
The gite is furnished with great taste and has all you need at your fingertips...along with perfect hosts who have obviously looked after their little piece of France very well. The gardens are excellent, and in the summer must be beautiful, and the views are to die for, looking over the valley and into the far distance.
Nothing was too much trouble for Tim and Juliette, the owners and we cannot wait to visit again during the summer months.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The weather, but that couldn't be changed!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A WONDERFUL TIME”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a few days with Tim and Juliet in their new Gite. We are new to 'Gitting' and we really enjoyed the peace and tranquillity. Set in its own private garden with plunge pool (which we did not use) the property was well fitted and furnished. The views over the autumn countryside were fantastic and the night sky was 'out of this world'. We had a superb meal waiting for us on our late evening arrival and Juliet had set us up with a starter pack of food and drink.
Yes a first for us but not our last!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martnlind
Funchal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous relaxing break in a beautiful area complimented by brilliant hosts !”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

A four party stay over 4 days with my wife,19yr old son and my Mother in Law. The accommodation is situated in a tradional French Gite which has been renovated to an extremely high standard by the very friendly owners Tim and Juliet. The Gite is a detached property set a short walk from the owners own living accommodation and has everything you need for a very comfortable stay, including its own washing and cooking facilities.All rooms are tastefully decorated and well furnished in keeping with the properties age and style, the views from within and out on your private patio area are simply stunning, over the owners well kept gardens and beyond to the stunning country side.The pool is area is a real bonus and is ideal for a well needed cool down after soaking up some fabulous sunshine or alternatively if you get a bit warm after Being soundly beaten by your son out on the lawn playing badminton ! The piece and quiet locally ireally is quite stunning, you can hear all manner of birds singing the the occasional local cow, no cars, planes or trains. However short jaunts through the country lanes to local towns and villages are recommended, my particular favourite being La Chatre which is approx 20 minutes away, a really lovely traditional French town with great shops,bars and restauaurants,try to catch the Saturday market. Tim and Juliet are really welcoming folk and can't do enough to help you out if and when reqiuired with localised attractions etc, and by the same token they will certainly won't be interrupting your peace or stay. If you pick some of the gardens strawberries and raspberries for Juliet you may even be rewarded with a cold beer !
In short thoroughly recommended by all, and yes we are going back next year !

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing