We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Concarneau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We arrived in Concarneau with no reservations during high season. We went to the Office du Tourisme and they were kind enough to help us quickly. We gave our budget of 200+Euros for one night and they immediately recommended the 4-star Thalasso Concarneau...and it was available. This is where the pleasant surprises stopped. Upon arrival the staff is cold, unhelpful and unwelcoming. They couldn't even tell us how long it would take to walk to the town center. Which, by the way is about 45 minutes. The room was fine...clean and new. So I guess 2 of their 4 stars are for newness and cleanliness. As we arrived late we wanted a quick swim in some fresh water. The only choice was the outdoor swimming pool, which as shown in the photo has no chairs or anywhere to relax. Frankly it was no better than a roadside motel. The spa staff was rude so we did not bother going there. The toilet did not work properly. Nobody, upon check out, asked how our stay was, so we offered no feedback. Instead I contacted the hotel via their Facebook page. They read my message 4 days after I submitted it and now 3 days later they still have not replied. One of their stars cannot be for customer service. If you like being far from the conveniences of town (restaurants, shopping, tourist activities), rude service and poor amenities then stay here. Otherwise save a few hundred bucks and stay in town.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DonAndJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

2 - 6 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017

Booked a junior suite for my wife and two kids (6 and 3). We paid €250 for 1 night.

(1) Arrived at 1400 - was told curtly we could not check-in.
(2) We went to the restaurant to have lunch but noticed that there were no other children and the stares could have killed. The children's menu was for not 'child-friendly'.
(3) We left to return at 1700 after having lunch in the town centre. We went straight to the spa to go use the indoor pool. We were met to be told that there are no children allowed in this part of the hotel and particularly in the spa.
(4) We were told that he could use a heated pool for the 'apartment complex' of the Hotel. There were no changing facilities, no towels and it was nothing more than a camp site pool.

There are no warnings that this is clearly an adult-only SPA-Hotel.

My advice if you do not have kids that are over 16 years of age then avoid like the plague. Regardless, there are more suitable and certainly more friendly places in lovely Concarneau.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

My husband, daughter and I have just stayed here. It was a wonderful stay from start to finish. The junior suite was spacious and very clean. The hotel is pleasantly decorated and furnished with ample space for relaxing. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The restaurant food was delicious. Their standard of English was excellent. The selection of foods on offer at the breakfast buffet was impressive. The outdoor pool was clean and heated. The only things that disappointed me were that no children were allowed in the indoor pool at any time. It would be better in my opinion if there were a couple of hours in the day when they were allowed access. Enabling parents with children to enjoy the facilities as well. Also a few loungers by the outside pool would make it more comfortable when watching the children.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

The Thalasso spa &hotel is situated at the outskirts of Concarneau, but no further than 2,5 km along the seashore from the Ville Close, the very centre of Concarneau.
Fabulous spa with the heated seawater in- and outdoor pools, spacious and well designed and furbished rooms, good restaurant and the closeness both to the beach and the town make it to a great place to be in any weather. And Britanny is a champion in the changing weather conditions! We have experienced this year changes from +25 to +13 within 2 days;-)

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ludmila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

Wonderful spa. But Brits beware! Swimming shorts are not allowed and you will be asked to leave. Only trunks a la Tom Daley are apparently acceptable here.
So, humiliation, get dressed again, go to supermarket to purchase trunks and back again to enjoy an hour of ferocious whirlpools in a glorious setting.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
3  Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Concarneau
0.2 km away
Les Sables Blancs
Les Sables Blancs
#4 of 10 in Concarneau
596 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean
#7 of 10 in Concarneau
318 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Ker-Moor
Hotel Ker-Moor
#5 of 10 in Concarneau
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Le Cornouaille Hotel
Le Cornouaille Hotel
#1 of 11 in Benodet
124 reviews
16.4 km away
Manoir Dalmore
Manoir Dalmore
#1 of 4 in Nevez
213 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Du Port
Hotel Du Port
#6 of 10 in Concarneau
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort

Address: 36 rue des Sables Blancs, 29900 Concarneau, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Concarneau
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Concarneau
Price Range: $164 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort Thalasso Concarneau Situated near the Sables Blancs beach, the newest Spa Marin Group HMC Hotels & Resorts offers a privileged environment with beautiful views of the nearby ocean, as an invitation to relaxation and well being. The property is a new building of 3 floors with 2 lifts and a free enclosed car park and a heated outdoor pool. It is directly connected to the thalassotherapy institute Thalgo. Its 68 rooms, the majority with beautiful sea view, all have a balcony, a refined decoration and high quality furniture. The restaurant Le Domaine A showcase of the establishment, the restaurant offers contemporary cuisine showcasing local & fresh products. Admire cakes & lobster from our tank, or discover a wide selection of wines. Lounges dedicated to receptions, conventions and cocktails await you as well as a wide range of menus tailored according to your wish. The lounge area with views of the gardens and the sea, welcomes you throughout the day in a cozy atmosphere for you to discover our selection of the world's coffees or enjoy the cocktail of your choice. Your seminar Thank you for the interest you have shown in our brand new hotel. Please find attached to this document, containing all your benefits quote requests and general conditions of sale. If you wish, we can send you sample menus we offer. Finally, you will find below an overview of the area and suggestions for activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Expedia APAC and Agoda so you can book your Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing