We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a very special place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Perigueux, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
degmisgav...
Misgav, Il
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a very special place”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Maison de Marc is a decorated country home with everything in it - you would like to move in and live there : fully equipped kitchen, living room with a fire place, 2 bed rooms, bath room with washer and dryer and a nice yard. The owners, Catherine and Max are very friendly and helpful. The village Cubjac is not interesting. Rouffignac cave is quite near. For other attractions - more than an hour's drive each direction.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is charming
Liked least: a lot of driving is needed to reach the main attractions
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MushuAnd
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“In the heart of the Dordogne river | Castles | Chateaux”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Beautiful village. Flew directly to Bordeaux from London - British airways or Air France - hired and car with GPS - headed for Peregueux about an hour and half from Bordeaux. Was worried about getting in and around the airport but with the GPS it was easy and literally 2-3 round snouts and you were on a fantastic motorway/ highway for 132 km. Toll fee is €9.90. You get a ticket at the beginning of the motorway and pay at the end through automated machines.
In Peregueux - went to the local shops then topped up at the supermarket - Hyper-U Had a delicious lunch in the town - which has Roman architecture, cobbled streets and narrow lane ways. Easy parking and easy to get around.

Put Cubjac in the GPS and headed off to this charming village. The river flows through it and the old bridge connects both sides of the town.
Le Maine is right at the end of Cubjac Village and the cottage we stayed in at the end of the lane way.
The cottage was two bedrooms, one upstairs with en suite, and well selected furniture. The bed upstairs could be made into two singles.
Downstairs off the living room was another large bedroom, cobbled floors, en suite and gorgeous carefully selected art prices that gave the room a sense of home and charm.
Lounge dining area had bench seat and two chairs - couches for four seated and a snugly rug to curl up in front of the fire - coffee table and fire place that we had going on some nights more for the ambiance, as the cottage is beautifully warm with an understated sublet warmth from under floor heating.
This really made the stay comfortable and was a welcome after some cold brisk walks.

The kitchen is well appointed with almost any thing required for good meals, coffee Nespresso machine, coffee percolator, microwave, full oven and stove top, along with a dishwasher and washer dryer which made staying easy and really convenient.

Outdoor seating area along with chairs table and umbrella with a private courtyard would be really wonderful in summer but was almost too cold to sit outside unless it was sunny and midday.
The cottage outdoor areas are beautiful with flowers and lovely hidden seating areas, walks through the 60 hectare property as also is very relaxing.

Cubjac is literally two minutes walk past French style houses, narrow laneways, and has markets on Friday which has meats, fruits and vegetables, crafts, leather goods, local honey, flowers and off course the bakery in the town square.
A small grocery store in the Main Street with few things you might have forgotten, a hair salon, tobacconist, one ladies clothes shop as well. The pharmacy is also good for almost anything medicinal and you can get good advice for ailments and medications from the pharmacist rather than having to see a doctor.

As it was winter all the canoes were packed away until March.

Maxine and Catherine are generous hosts with a wealth of experience in what to do and where to eat in the local area.
We explored by car and all the main attractions of this region are within 1-2 hours.
Quaint villages, historical sites, Lasauax Caves, Castelnaud, Le Roc, and so many more chateaux's, castles, and villages which have markets on different days of the week.

At Le Maine the donkey Zeb and sheep Rothschild make for a touch of farm life and love old dry bread !

We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Truly brand new and modern
Liked least: a little cold
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westward3...
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“VERY SPECIAL”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I have just returned from a week in the Dordogne staying in La Maison de Marc on the beautiful estate of Le Maine. We have rented many properties in France over the years but this is by far the best we have ever stayed in. It has been very tastefully converted, is extremely well equipped and very comfortable. The setting is lovely too, but what really made it special for us were our hosts Catherine and Maxence who were a delight to meet and so generous with their time and knowledge of the area. If we ever return to the Dordogne, we would not want to stay anywhere else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicity...
1 review
“A beautiful place that one must return to...”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

La Maison du Marc de Maine was a wonderful, restful place to stay. We were welcomed by our hosts by way of some regional wine, delicious strawberries and locally produced goat's cheese and bread. We supped on this for dinner, outside in the well appointed garden, listening to the sounds of the small birds around us. The cottage, once a henhouse/farmhouse, has been renovated to perfection, whilst maintaining the romantic elements of a time past. The kitchen is well-appointed, and the bedrooms and living areas cosy. A bouquet of flowers (dahlias, meadow blooms and ivy sprigs) delighted us upon arrival. Plenty of wood for the fire, and ambient light to read by in the evening. The village of Cubjac is quiet, but importantly houses a boulangerie which produces the most terrific chocolate eclairs and croissants. The range of bread is also pleasing. Cubjac could do with some more life, as there are echoes of what once was a thriving town, so I recommend this place for the traveller.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clare560
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful place to relax, with immaculate accommodation”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent a wonderful week here earlier this year, in July. My family (2 young children) absolutely adored staying at La Maison de Marc within the beautiful estate of la Chartreuse de Maine.
Catherine & Maxence are such welcoming hosts and yet they left us to come and go as we pleased - a good balance!
The restoration of the buildings is impressive and we couldn't help but notice the lovely finishing touches and attention to detail within the Maison de Marc. You really have everything you need in this home and plenty of space for our family of 4.
The swimming pool & deck in the grounds are lovely and views from the pool are stunning.
The animals in the grounds provided an ideal focus for our young girls, who adored visiting Rothschild & Zebulon - skipping there each morning and evening. My husband was very content with the barbecue and all cooking facilities provided. I could not have been happier unwinding in these beautiful surroundings.
I already knew the Dordogne a little and was not disappointed with what is has to offer. A truly beautiful region in France :) Cubjac is a charming little village - the tabac cafe is really friendly for a cup of coffee and a chat with locals.... and the little stretch of sand "the beach" is perfect for the children to have a play.

Thank you to our lovely hosts - we will absolutely return in future and will not hesitate to recommend your accommodation to friends & family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high quality of the accommodation within beautiful surroundings
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing