We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,340)
Filter reviews
1,340 results
Traveller rating
926
229
117
46
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
926
229
117
46
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews napoleon iii historical hotel old world guerlain spa grand dame former palace summer palace leading hotels of the world real palace bygone era frank sinatra exceptional hotel villa eugenie indoor pool du palais the atlantic ocean main restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 1,340 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Staying here is a unique experience! This is in fact the palace that Napoleon built for Spanish princess Eugenie. It's a magnificent palace on a cliff with the most breathtaking views of the coast of Biarritz. The interior is very impressive fabulous ormolu high ceilings , marble floors , period furniture, drapes and beautiful carpets throughout the palace and on the gorgeous staircase with wrought iron balustrade. The carpets are adorned with bees which is the symbol of Napoleon the third: representing industriousness and hard work. The palace boasts a beautiful sea water swimming pool set in lovingly kept grounds. The hotel also has an imposing relaxing spa with an indoor pool. The staff in the hotel are very helpful and courteous. The food in the hotel is first class. And the presentation is faultless.This is a destination like no other where one will always look forward to returning.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDuPalais, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Palais, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor and taking your valuable time to write us about your recent visit to Hotel du Palais, Biarritz.
It is wonderful to read you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again,
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

I highly recommend the Hotel du Palais. Great location with friendly, efficient staff and luxurious accommodation. I spent two nights here with my parents and daughter, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andreacH1700AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDuPalais, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Palais, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post us your great feedback regarding your recent experience.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

This hotels remains a star. The property is magnificent and the location very special. All the public rooms and restaurants are beautiful and elegant. The buffet breakfast is delicious and very varied.
The staff is superb in every part of the hotel including the spa.
The bedroom was furnished in a very cheerful and attractive way and all the amenities are of the highest quality.
The mood of every aspect of the hotel is most professional.
Biarritz is also well located to make,excursions into the French Basque villages, which, while nearby, offer a special rural experience.
I highly recommend this great property.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDuPalais, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Palais, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for writing us a great review on Trip Advisor regarding your last visit to Hôtel du Palais. It is wonderful to read you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

Location was key to this hotel - best location on beach in all of Biarittz. Could walk everywhere. Unfortunately the weather wasn't ideal while we were there to enjoy the beautiful outside pool and beach but the indoor facilities (ie gym and pool ) were awesome as well.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marybeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDuPalais, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Palais, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post us your great feedback regarding your recent experience.
We look forward to welcoming you again,
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

My husband and I booked one night only as they were booked following nights.
The hotel is in a perfect location of Biarritz as it has grand views of beach and walking distance to everything you would need.
Upon entering the gates to hotel we were greeted by valet. Entered hotel and given a lovely tour of grounds. The hotel is maintained very well and has 1920's charm with modern amenities. In other words its absolutely gorgeous. Every turn filled with landmark pieces and history.
We arrived early and hung out by the pool until we could check into our room.
The room is charming. Beautifully furnished with art deco charm. They gave us turn down service and brut for our wedding anniversary which was a pleasant surprise.

The amenities of hotel are 5 star. Michelin rated restaurant on grounds. Gym with sweeping views of the ocean and trainer on stand by. Spa to meet all relaxing needs. Two bars both gorgeously decorated. You seriously do not need to leave Hotel du Palais ever.

The service was outstanding. Each staff member was friendly, welcoming and eager to assist us at any given moment. The concierge was very helpful with booking beauty appointments and dinner reservations/ recommendations around town.
Thanks for the charming stay we will return.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Melissa1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDuPalais, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Palais, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post us your great feedback regarding your recent experience.
We look forward to welcoming you again for a longer stay,
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews