We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food great happy hour cocktails”

The Wellington Pizza Pub
Ranked #508 of 2,481 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

I love this place, great Aperol Spritz and happy hour deals and pizzas are delicious! If you like spice, the got pizzas are epic.

Thank Doug T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2018

We went for lunch, only 3 other customers besides us so the place was empty. We ordered garlic bread starter and lasagne. The starter came and although I do like thin pizza this was so thin that it resembled a poppadom, we didn’t enjoy it al all. We had been in the restaurant quite a while when the waitress came over and said sorry the chef has only just told me he hasn’t got any meat lasagne just vegetable. I couldn’t understand why it had taken so long to tell us and it sounds like the lasagnes are bought in, not made on the premises, I wonder if that’s the case for the pizzas. The waitress did say that we could have the pizzas at half price. The pizzas were ok. The restaurant was also really cold.

Thank redminiLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Went on Saturday night using Groupon Pizza and Spritz deal, nice place and rustic decor.
Choice on menu was good, pizzas were superb and pretty big portions, we had sides with ours, cocktails and beers were also nice.
Service for the food was reasonable but a little slow with drinks and the bill but well worth the deal and would definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ScottyG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

when we visited, mid week, early evening was a nice relaxed atmosphere, a large tasty pizza each, good choice to pick from and a bottle of Prosecco to share.A very good Groupon offer. Nice surroundings and pleasant staff, enjoyable meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GrossBruder1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Came here with my family on the Tuesday evening just after bank holiday.As we were sat by a waitress with black hair she told us they had ran out of many things on the menu!.Lets just say there wasn’t much choice to start with and even less now.The food arrived and it was pretty poor with soggy under cooked pizza and cold microwaved lasagne.we decided as we had a voucher for £30 we’d just eat up and move on without causing a fuss.This was however until a mouse ran over my foot!! I turned to see a second one dart under a skirting board.That was final straw and we left our food half eaten and went to get out ASAP.As we paid we told the waitress with black hair that we’d seen mice and it ruined our night.I could not believe her response!....she laughed and said “well to be fair it is Manchester “ and if that wasn’t bad enough she then asked us “anyway was the mouse cute!!!!” I cannot believe a restaurant could react that way and not take the fact a mouse ran over our feet seriously.This waitress should be sacked and if you value your health do not eat here!.

1  Thank Denat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at The Wellington Pizza Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hi
Thank you for your feedback and i apologise first of all for the food you received this is not our usual standards and the chef on shift will be informed as the food we send out is always of a high standard.
As regards to the mice i am very shocked this happened and also the way it was handled. We have a very strict policy when it comes to pest control with regular reviews from an outside company, as result we do not have a mice infestation nor will we.
Our food hygiene and preparation is kept to very high standard with no current or future risk to the public.

Once again i apologise for what happened during your visit and can assure you that everything you have addressed will if not already done be dealt with.

Kind Regards
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wellington Pizza Pub also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Salford, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Wellington Pizza Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing