We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food and Fantastic Charity Quiz Night!”
Review of Old Beams

Old Beams
Ranked #43 of 619 Restaurants in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A McMullen house since 1995, the Old Beams was rebuilt after a fire in 2007. Enjoy Seriously Relaxed Dining in this hidden country gem at the heart of Shenley Lodge. With the remnants of the historical pub abutted to the newer oak framed barn, the ingeniously reconstructed Old Beams is a glorious triumph of gastronomy over adversity! Dine inside warmed by log fires in the vaulted oak barn or private dining rooms of the old pub or, weather permitting, alfresco in the garden or on the patio. We serve glorious food with daily changing specials, tasty world wines, craft ales and world beers, credible coffee all to be enjoyed in this idyllic retreat that’s your home from home – where the chefs do all the work for you and we do the washing up!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First of all, the food!
We (three out of four of our party) ordered a calamari starter which was literally melt in the mouth! No rubbery calamari rings, it was fresh and perfectly cooked - one member of our party rated it as ‘best calamari she’d ever had’!
Mains were just as good - beautiful presentation and generous portions as well as delicious and a wide selection to choose from. Really impressed on all fronts - service from bar staff also great.

The Monday night quiz was also absolutely brilliant! In aid of Willen Hospice (well done Old Beams, such a great and deserving choice of local charity to support) the quiz was engaging, fun and challenging without being impossible. The quiz master was really enthusiastic and we can’t wait to come back and play again!

Definitely worth a visit - and go on a Monday evening if you can for the quiz!

Photo is of Creme Brûlée pud!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Charlottelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldBeams_MK, General Manager at Old Beams, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Charlotteou,
Thank you so much for your amazing review, we all really appreciate your comments!
Our Quiz night is now really popular and everyone seems to love our Quiz master Richard! We hope to see you again tomorrow night at 6pm for another fun bank holiday quiz!
have a great Bank Holiday weekend
warm regards
Tracie (General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff are brilliant, attentive and welcoming. There is a really warm and friendly atmosphere. The quiz is expertly organised good fun and raises money for Willen Hospice. Fantastic family and dog friendly location with great food. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank hayleymW3964FE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldBeams_MK, General Manager at Old Beams, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Hayley

Thank you so much for such a brilliant review! We can't wait to see you again in the future.

Warmest regards
Matt (Assistant manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic, challenging quiz for charity with a great variety of rounds - there’s something for everyone!

The cherry on the cake was the amazing quizmaster Richard - who kept us entertained with his witty commentary.

Thanks beams team!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 965helenaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldBeams_MK, General Manager at Old Beams, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Helena

Thank you so much for your amazing 5 star review and I'll pass your kind words on to Richard, looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Kindest regards
Matt (Assistant Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2021 via mobile

I had the pleasure of having a family gathering here on Saturday. From the initial booking to the actual day itself the guys at this place were fantastic!
Tracie was our event organiser and she made everything as easy as possible for me regarding the booking.
The day itself was amazing. We had our own designated waiter for the day (Dan) and nothing was too much trouble for him. The buffet was out of this world and there was so much of it.

Once again, thank you to the whole team

Richard O'Donegan

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank rodon1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldBeams_MK, General Manager at Old Beams, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2021

Hi Richard, Thank you so much for your amazing 5 star review on your family gathering at the Old Beams. It was an absolute pleasure and I have passed your kinds words onto Tracie, Dan and the kitchen team. We can't wait to see you again soon in the future.
Kindest Regard
Richard (Assistant Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2021

We visited for dinner today, I had the roast gammon and my partner the roast chicken. We tried to order a side of crackling and found there was none left, fair enough. It was only after we ordered that the server came back and then informed us that we also couldn't have roast potatoes or red cabbage so instead had to settle for chips with our roast dinners. When the food that we were able to have arrived, it was disappointing at best. Everything was bland and flavourless, we had to add salt just to taste something. The chicken was dry. The pigs in blankets had lost their blankets and is only a measly two sausages per portion. The stuffing was rock solid.

Although the food was poor, the service was fast and friendly. Overall, I feel that what we received was no where near worth the money spent and I wouldn't recommend or return here.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie117, General Manager at Old Beams, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2021

Hi James R
Thank you for your review and the lovely feedback regarding the service you received yesterday.
Could you please drop me an email to oldbeam.miltonkeynes@mcmullens.co.uk with the details of your visit, ie time, server etc so that I can investigate .
Warm regards
Tracie (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Beams also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Old Beams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.