We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ever”

The Coffee Shop at Heaton
Ranked #2 of 68 Quick Bites in Bolton
Description: Coffee Shop - serving the best Coffee in Bolton, a range of teas, milkshakes (made with Fredericks Ice Cream), cakes and a great food menu to suit all taste including veggie & vegan options.
Restaurant details
Description: Coffee Shop - serving the best Coffee in Bolton, a range of teas, milkshakes (made with Fredericks Ice Cream), cakes and a great food menu to suit all taste including veggie & vegan options.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic lunch as always here. The staff go above and beyond. My parents only have very weak coffee, so a cup of frothy milk as given with the coffee on the side so they could make to their taste. I had a delicious jacket potato with crab and prawn, the addition of dill in the sauce really adds to the dish. The homemade cakes were also wonderful.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cornflake9435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I know it's tough after lockdown but spending 30 minutes waiting for an order to be taken then waiting another 20minutes for 4 sandwiches and coffee is a bit much.
Chef needs help....

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 922andrewj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane H, Owner at The Coffee Shop at Heaton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, we’re really sorry that you had a bad experience.

We can only assume you visited us on Saturday. We unfortunately suffered a perfect storm that day. Lots of customer support and a fairly new In experiences member of staff.

We tried our very best but it was slower than we’d like.

We will improve and hope you will give us a second chance and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2021 via mobile

I ordered afternoon tea for two for a lockdown birthday treat for collection. From the moment I ordered to the moment I collected, The coffee shop at Heaton didn’t fail to please. Diane kindly answer all my questions (even out if hours)

Afternoon tea per person comprised of: 3 large half sandwiches, sausage roll, crisps , 3 cakes, a homemade scone with clotted cream and jam and a choice of a hot or cold drink. There was more than enough for two and it was very filling (saved the cakes for the day after)

I would definitely recommend the afternoon tea if you fancy a treat, food is delicious, all homemade and the staff are lovely

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank h1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2021 via mobile

It hasn't the same ring as Tiffany's and they probably won't turn it into a film but they do a pretty tasty breakfast and that suits me. I've been all over the world, staying in hotels and on ships and been in some lovely restaurants but had never been to Heaton coffee shop until today and it's just around the corner. We booked ahead just to secure a table, it being the weekend and this covid thing still being with us. The greeting on arrival was very friendly and all the eating establishment rules were in place even to the hand drier in the toilets being switched off which it isn't in most other places. Our table had a reserved sign on it with our name attached. It was 11am and was fairly busy. Our food, a full English with a bacon sandwich was perfect as it seemed to be with everyone else who was eating. I had heard really good reports about the place before I went and saw nothing to dispute it. I will certainly be going again. Well done everyone.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2020 via mobile

Ordered a mixture of sweet and savoury afternoon teas including a children’s one on Sat, 12th Dec 20. Everything was absolutely delicious and you could tell it was all top quality produce. The children’s afternoon tea had a good selection of items and my little boy said it was the best
Highly recommend you give this place a try, you won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank dianescorsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coffee Shop at Heaton also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Coffee Shop at Heaton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.