We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eygpt Mishmash WTF 3.8 million???”

Bolton Library and Museum Services
Ranked #6 of 41 things to do in Bolton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bolton Museum and Art Gallery has something for everyone. Visit our Ancient Egypt Gallery to see fascinating artifacts, learn about Bolton's rich heritage or meander your way through our collection of art. Learn about creatures from all over the world and don't forget to say hello to our dinosaur friend on your way in! We are also home to Greater Manchester's only aquarium.
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Someone please provide the museum directors contact details, as I have just come into some magic beans that he may be interested in.
If the directors not interested in the early t'eygpyt bean, I at least hope he got the egyptian extension, pool and Audi TT, what a shower.

Thank empire75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"an aquarium"
in 17 reviews
"local history"
in 21 reviews
"stuffed animals"
in 11 reviews
"egyptian exhibition"
in 10 reviews
"egyptian room"
in 6 reviews
"egyptology section"
in 6 reviews
"lots of interesting facts"
in 4 reviews
"le mans"
in 4 reviews
"rainy day"
in 9 reviews
"free admission"
in 4 reviews
"industrial revolution"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 5 reviews
"town centre"
in 9 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 8 reviews
"school holidays"
in 4 reviews
"all ages"
in 9 reviews
"my partner"
in 4 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2018

very interesting and knowledgeable place. Would recommend a visit, wont take long to walk around as only small but worth it.

1  Thank travelforever0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

There's alot to keep children entertained on a rainy day. The aquarium, museum and library all under one roof. I've entertained my young cousins in here for hours before with no problems - a free day out if you have children that are easily entertained :)

Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
231maureenl, Information Services Assistant at Bolton Library and Museum Services, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Hello,
Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that your family and yourself enjoyed your visit.

I hope that you will come back and see the new museum galleries which will be open from September 22.

Kind regards

Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Lovely little place but certainly not a whole day out. The museum is nice and there are some interesting artefacts however the aquarium inside looks awful and could do with a total revamp, and the whole place could do with a spruce up. Limited staff so little in offerings of further information but if it’s raining and you’re passing well worth a pop in and browse. Certainly won’t entertain for long however. It’s a shame as it could be beautiful when you look at outside building.

Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
231maureenl, Information Assistant at Bolton Library and Museum Services, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Hello,
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit.

Our new galleries on the top floor of the museum will be opening in a few months so it would be great if you could come and visit us again.

Best wishes

Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2018

Well the place has improved with its numerous facilities, the dvd collection could do with being better displayed and placed in catagorys and more space allocated to displaying front coverss, it helps with them being resonably priced. Staff are in need of training on this area, as there knowledge in this area is very limited.

Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
231maureenl, Information Assistant at Bolton Library and Museum Services, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Hello,
Thank you for your review and comments. We hope that you will visit us again when our new galleries open later this year.

Kind regards

Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bolton Library and Museum Services also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Bolton Library and Museum Services? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing