We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice simple museum - won’t fill a day”

Bolton Library and Museum Services
Ranked #6 of 41 things to do in Bolton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bolton Museum and Art Gallery has something for everyone. Visit our Ancient Egypt Gallery to see fascinating artifacts, learn about Bolton's rich heritage or meander your way through our collection of art. Learn about creatures from all over the world and don't forget to say hello to our dinosaur friend on your way in! We are also home to Greater Manchester's only aquarium.
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Lovely little place but certainly not a whole day out. The museum is nice and there are some interesting artefacts however the aquarium inside looks awful and could do with a total revamp, and the whole place could do with a spruce up. Limited staff so little in offerings of further information but if it’s raining and you’re passing well worth a pop in and browse. Certainly won’t entertain for long however. It’s a shame as it could be beautiful when you look at outside building.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
231maureenl, Information Assistant at Bolton Library and Museum Services, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Hello,
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit.

Our new galleries on the top floor of the museum will be opening in a few months so it would be great if you could come and visit us again.

Best wishes

Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"an aquarium"
in 17 reviews
"local history"
in 21 reviews
"stuffed animals"
in 11 reviews
"egyptian exhibition"
in 10 reviews
"egyptian room"
in 6 reviews
"egyptology section"
in 6 reviews
"lots of interesting facts"
in 4 reviews
"le mans"
in 4 reviews
"rainy day"
in 9 reviews
"free admission"
in 4 reviews
"industrial revolution"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 5 reviews
"town centre"
in 9 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 8 reviews
"school holidays"
in 4 reviews
"all ages"
in 9 reviews
"my partner"
in 4 reviews
Filter

20 - 24 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2018

Well the place has improved with its numerous facilities, the dvd collection could do with being better displayed and placed in catagorys and more space allocated to displaying front coverss, it helps with them being resonably priced. Staff are in need of training on this area, as there knowledge in this area is very limited.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
231maureenl, Information Assistant at Bolton Library and Museum Services, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Hello,
Thank you for your review and comments. We hope that you will visit us again when our new galleries open later this year.

Kind regards

Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Enjoy a day out at the fantastic library, aquarium and museum. So much to see and do for children (and adults)

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank ahmedred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
231maureenl, Information Assistant at Bolton Library and Museum Services, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Hello,
Thank you so much for your review and glad that you enjoyed your visit.

Hope to see you again.

Best wishes

Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

This is a great family day out when you dont want to spend a fortune. There is a small aquarium in the basement and upstairs is the museum. It kept my 2,3 and 9 year old engaged so a wide range. There is an egypt section which is smaller than some bigger museums but still great and the huge dino skeleton was a hit with all three of them. I really enjoyed the local history section. The souvenir shop isn't too pricey either. Parking can be found throughout the town centre just a short walk away.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank lovinit88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Took the grandchildren and the Museum is being re-furbished and not open until August, There is a library and underground Aquarium (recommended 10/10) and a small artefact display room again 10/10 for all. When the Museum opens it will have a theme around Egypt on permanent display and i feel that once visited that we may not return as it will be like going to the same supermarket with the same theme day in day out and become boring.... It is a shame really as they have enough in the cellers/stock to display 10000,s of other items. In my opinion a bit of everything would be better. Now Preston Museum is a good place to visit.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Ivor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
231maureenl, Information Services Assistant at Bolton Library and Museum Services, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I'm glad that your enjoyed visit.

When the museum opens Bolton's Egypt will feature a full size reproduction of the burial chamber of Thutmose III as its centrepiece and depict the town’s important links to ancient Egypt in a family-friendly and interactive exhibition.

The new Nature Gallery and Art Gallery will showcase a huge amount of objects from the collections. The objects that will be on show will be rotated with other items in our stores. The Temporary Gallery will give the museum the opportunity to host lots of exhibitions.

We look forward to welcoming visitors when the museum reopens.

Kind regards

Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bolton Library and Museum Services also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Bolton Library and Museum Services? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing