We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit in 10 years and 50% is closed”

Bolton Library and Museum Services
Ranked #6 of 40 things to do in Bolton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bolton Museum and Art Gallery has something for everyone. Visit our Ancient Egypt Gallery to see fascinating artifacts, learn about Bolton's rich heritage or meander your way through our collection of art. Learn about creatures from all over the world and don't forget to say hello to our dinosaur friend on your way in! We are also home to Greater Manchester's only aquarium.
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Took the grandchildren and the Museum is being re-furbished and not open until August, There is a library and underground Aquarium (recommended 10/10) and a small artefact display room again 10/10 for all. When the Museum opens it will have a theme around Egypt on permanent display and i feel that once visited that we may not return as it will be like going to the same supermarket with the same theme day in day out and become boring.... It is a shame really as they have enough in the cellers/stock to display 10000,s of other items. In my opinion a bit of everything would be better. Now Preston Museum is a good place to visit.

Thank Ivor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
231maureenl, Information Services Assistant at Bolton Library and Museum Services, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I'm glad that your enjoyed visit.

When the museum opens Bolton's Egypt will feature a full size reproduction of the burial chamber of Thutmose III as its centrepiece and depict the town’s important links to ancient Egypt in a family-friendly and interactive exhibition.

The new Nature Gallery and Art Gallery will showcase a huge amount of objects from the collections. The objects that will be on show will be rotated with other items in our stores. The Temporary Gallery will give the museum the opportunity to host lots of exhibitions.

We look forward to welcoming visitors when the museum reopens.

Kind regards

Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"local history"
in 20 reviews
"small aquarium"
in 8 reviews
"rainy day"
in 9 reviews
"le mans"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 5 reviews
"town centre"
in 7 reviews
"for sale"
in 3 reviews
"basement"
in 25 reviews
"exhibits"
in 23 reviews
"tanks"
in 12 reviews
"skeleton"
in 6 reviews
"material"
in 5 reviews
"archives"
in 3 reviews
"children"
in 29 reviews
"crescent"
in 9 reviews
"collection"
in 10 reviews
"scan"
in 4 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Great little aquarium and other bits and bobs, all free! Great to take the kids to see the fish which they always love again and again and then you can take them up stairs for a story time x

Thank Cole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
231maureenl, Information Services Assistant at Bolton Library and Museum Services, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hello,
Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your trip to the aquarium and the library.

We hope to see you again soon and hope that you will definitely return when the new galleries open towards the end of the year.

Kind regards

Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Very educational and well worth the trip. Keeps everyone occupied on less than sunny days. Something for everyone and you learn something new each time you go Fab

1  Thank 55trebor4472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
231maureenl, Information Services Assistant at Bolton Library and Museum Services, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hello,
Thank you for your review and we are really glad that you enjoyed your visit.
Look out for forthcoming activities and events on our website and we hope to see you again.

Best wishes

Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

The aquarium is amazing for little kids the museum is under construction at the moment but I'm sure it'll be just as good

Thank padder0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
231maureenl, Information Assistant at Bolton Library and Museum Services, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Hello,
Thank you for your review.

We hope that you will come back and visit when the museum reopens later on this year.

Best wishes

Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2018

We go to the library at least once a month on a weekend day. The kids love the massive choice of books and the relaxed environment. They also have colours and printouts. A lot of the time (particularly in the school holidays) we arrive to find additional crafting activities set up. Brilliant free activity

Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
231maureenl, Information Services Assistant at Bolton Library and Museum Services, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Hello Claire,
Thank you for your review and I am glad that your family enjoy visiting Bolton Central Library.

Our Saturday Club takes place every week from 1.30pm to 3pm.

February half term is coming up and I've listed our events below:
- Activity sessions from 1.30pm to 3pm on Saturday 17, Tuesday 20, Thursday 22 and Saturday 24 February.
- Fish feeds at 1pm on Tuesday 20 and Thursday 22 February.
- Cinema at the Crescent and we'll be showing the film 'Big Hero 6' on Wednesday 21 February.

Our other Bolton Library and Museum Services venues will be organising events so please have a look at our website.

Hope you and your family will be able to make it to some of the events.

Best wishes

Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bolton Library and Museum Services also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Bolton Library and Museum Services? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing