We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“How to make a work trip a holiday!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barley Cottage is a 2 double bedroom fully facilitated stone cottage with modern amenities.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Barley Cottage is a 2 double bedroom fully facilitated stone cottage with modern amenities.
Barley Cottage has an open plan living/dining/kitchen space with stairs leading up to the bedrooms.
Small Mezzanine reading area.
View from mezzanine reading area.
View from mezzanine reading area.
The Old North Road through Water Newton.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AliceC442...
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“How to make a work trip a holiday!”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My colleagues and I stayed here on a work trip and after a 15 hour work day we arrived to a warm welcome from the guys. Went for a tour of the lovely grounds and took a much needed dip in the pool! All beds were incredibly comfy and we slept like babies ready for another big work day the next day. Water pressure was lush! Cottages were super cute! Will definitely be back if we work in the area again!

It was exactly what we needed to break from a hectic work week! Xoxo George

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Hi George, thanks for your great review and really pleased you felt it made a good 'break' during your work trip.

Good to meet you all, and you know where we are for next time !

Best wishes and thanks from us both,

Stephen and Phil x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGriffi...
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quaint Comfortable Cottage - Quite Outstanding In Quality”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Most beautiful cottage, equipped to the highest standard, with everything you needed, even a cocktail shaker.
Owners were very accommodating.
Would love to visit again and perhaps stay longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
Thanks so much Nicky. We're delighted you had a comfy stay and we hope your son loved his Nene Valley experience with Thomas the Tank Engine :o) Best wishes to you all, from us both .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix D
, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend stay”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just spent a short weekend at Barley cottage with our teenage sons. It was blissful! Very comfortable, every detail had been thought of (including lovely towels, comfy beds and soap everywhere - not the norm in rental cottages).
The location is quiet, charming and easily accessible and we adored our walk down by the river. Stephen went out of his way to accommodate our every need. Thank you. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Hi Alix, thanks very much indeed for your lovely review. We're delighted you all had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and we look forward to your next visit !

With best wishes to you all, Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rzacharia...
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
“Superb Stay”
Reviewed 25 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We are from the USA and we stayed at Barley Cottage for a few days. We had a truly wonderful, relaxing time away from the hustle and bustle of our lives back home. We must compliment the venue, staff and location. It is quite unique and set in a beautiful rural river setting; truly English with a very old church next door. Lots of lovely country walks allowed us to recharge our batteries. Thanks guys; we hope to be back. x

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2017
Robyn, thanks so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and yes indeed, you'd be most welcome on a return visit ! Best wishes, Stephen and Philip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack W
1 review
“Such beautiful location, cottages and hosts”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is such a beautiful location cottages are lovely cosy and welcoming and both Stephen and Phillip are amazing hosts nothing is ever too much trouble. Definitely recommend to all friends and definitely come and stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
Thanks Jack - glad you enjoyed your stay ! See you again soon ! Stephen and Phil x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing