We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch ”
Review of Woodman

Woodman
Ranked #68 of 485 Restaurants in Peterborough
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Lovely dinner, all fresh veg and potatoes.
Plenty of food on plate and a lovely warm welcome from Sue .
Will be back

Thank rachaelpigott3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B, Manager at Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for you great feedback.
I am really glad you enjoyed your meals and we will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Visited for a sat lunch with friends before even settled in was told limited menu haven't got this , haven't got that, fire in kitchen and chief not turning up plenty of excuses won't be going back or recommending .

Thank Bigbum7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B, Manager at Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

I am really sorry about your recent visit.
Due to a new menu change we had a limited amount of the food that was coming off the menu.
I am sorry that you thought that they were excuses as we try our best to deliver great service and food and we would rather let you know before hand if there is anything we have ran out of.
This is not our normal service and hopefully you will try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

There were 4 of us & we chose this pub which was near our hotel. At 6.30pm on Saturday they ran out of Sirloin steak, risotto & others. There were 2 fillet steaks left. In the end I chose grilled salmon & roasted vegetables. That was so disappointing as the salmon was over-cooked & lost its succulence. The roasted veg was dry, under-cooked & hardish. My husband & son were happy with their fillet. Daughter-in-law had prawns jacket potato which was ok. I ordered shandy (peroni) & got full peroni not shandy. They also ran out of pinot grigio by the glass & opted for sauvignon blanc by the glass instead. I honestly thought the waitress was joking!
Then a waiter told us we should be shown to our table not to choose our own seating as our table was "reserved" for 6 being in the corner despite there was no RESERVE notice on table. There were 4 of us. He was looking at other vacant tables (there were several empty tables) & was about to put us onto a table seated for 8 also in a corner next to the one we already seated. Then he decided it was too much work & let us stay where we were. Service was bad because of 1 waiter but the other 2 who served in between were good so bad service from 1 waiter can be over-looked. The food was terrible & let-down. Poor cooking & food availability are good reasons NOT to recommend or come back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LaToner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B, Manager at Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback.
I am really sorry about your last visit, this is not our normal standard of service.
We were running stocks out as we had a new food and wine menu starting on the 26th.
We did have a note up letting the customers know, but the server should have explained to you.
I am sorry that you didn't like the salmon dish and I will speak to the kitchen team about this.
Hopefully we will see you again to restore your faith in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

Have been here several times in the past and although it is more often hit & miss with the availability of food on the menu and waiting time last night has got to take the biscuit!
Arranged to meet a couple of friends here for a drink and a bite to eat. Arrived just after 7.00pm and there was a notice on the bar informing of 1hr 30 min wait for food fair enough there seemed to be a lot of people outside but not exactly full inside.We decided to order more or less straight away and bear with it. However when the guys went up to order the notice had changed to 'kitchen closed'! When they questioned it no reason was given and the staff were quite rude! We therefore phoned a taxi left and found a restaurant capable of serving food!
Would it not be easier to insist on bookings only if the staff cannot cope?

    • Service
1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B, Manager at Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thank you Anne for taking the time to let me know about your recent visit.
I am very sorry about you experience and I hope this has not put you off coming again.
Due to the weather being fantastic, we were extremely busy and the team were trying there best to deliver. Just due to the amount of people we had in, there was to much for the kitchen to deliver any quicker, they closed the kitchen for 30 minutes to allow the team to get the food out that had been ordered.
Sorry again for your disappointing experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We both had slow cooked belly pork off main menu, good portions, prices and absolutely delicious. Returned with our daughter the following day and chose from lunch menu; haddock florentine, all day breakfast, fish and chips, all delicious good portions and prices. Granddaughter with us both days chose from wide selection on children’s menu; sausage and chips, doughnut dippers, chicken nuggets beans and chips, ice cream sundae.
Rob and Liam both gave good service.
Very spacious and relaxing atmosphere with plenty of free parking, highly recommended. Slightly amused by netting to protect outside tables against balls from the attached golf club!

2  Thank Daugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B, General Manager at Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thank you for your great feedback.
I will pass these great comments onto Liam and Rob, as it is always good to hear that they have given great service.
We hope to see you again soon.
Look out for the new menu that starts on April the 26th.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woodman also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Woodman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing