We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunchtime visit”
Review of The Pelican

The Pelican
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Chew Magna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Peli, as it's fondly referred to by locals, is set in the centre of Chew Magna in the beautiful Somerset countryside. This well loved pub boasts a top notch food offering which will keep you enticed through every course. With a fabulous wine list and even better selection of Butcombe beers on the bar, there's something to tickle even the most refined taste buds. Come rain or shine, you can choose from cosy log fires or our stunning sun trap to while away your hours with friends and loved ones. The Barn - As well as hosting our own regular events in our function room, our private space is available for meetings, parties, baby showers, intimate wedding receptions and more. Contact us to check availability for your event or special day.
Reviewed 11 June 2021

My wife and myself had lunch at the Pelican pub on 10th June 2021. We were so impressed with the bar and lunch waitress service, both young girls were so polite, friendly and always smiling when talking to us. The food was unbelievable so nice, thank you to the kitchen team and bar team, you really deserve some credit and recognition visit from the Butcombe senior management. This pub is clean, always tidy inside and the courtyard is so nice to sit and finish our coffee etc. We live some 30 miles from Chew Magna, and will definitely be back. Thank you all.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank MarkT3904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Owner at The Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Markt3904, thank you so much for your positive comments about The Pelican and the team! It was lovely to have you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2021

We had a great evening at The Pelican Inn, lovely food and perfect service from the bar and waiting staff. Compliments to the Chef too. They have really worked on the inside and outside environment of the pub, and the pergola outside is lovely to sit under especially with the heaters on!!

Will be back soon, and thoroughly recommend a visit.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Q8215SVhelenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Owner at The Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Q8215svhelenc, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience and are glad to hear you have enjoyed our new pergola! Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2021

Great lunch. Extensive menu and everything was excellent. Secluded and spacious garden area. Fantastic service. Brilliant app order set up!

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Owner at The Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Anna T, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Pelican! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

We booked online due to Covid restrictions. Bank Holiday Monday the service excellent and the food was top-notch. We will definitely be back to try more of the yummy food. Thank you

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank joolzhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Marketing at The Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2021

Joolzhw, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Pelican! We hope you had a lovely bank holiday weekend and look forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2021 via mobile

I visited the Pelican Inn for lunch and was disappointed with both the food and the service. I went for the flat iron chicken - the chicken portion was tiny - approx 5cms x 5cms and had a thick layer of soggy skin on the top.

I complained to the lady who appeared to be the manager, she reluctantly said that she would bring more chicken, unfortunately this didn’t appear before i finished my meal. There was no apology and no offer to take the price of the meal off of the bill. The rainbow slaw was also lacking flavour and the chorizo polenta chips had no chorizo in them.

All in all a very disappointing lunch and I won’t be returning.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Marketing at The Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2021

Catherine C, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Here at The Pelican, we are always looking for ways to improve; we appreciate your input. If you would be willing, we would like to have you contact our manager at 01275 331777 to discuss your experience and ways we can better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pelican also viewed

Chew Magna, Somerset
Chew Magna, Somerset
 
Chew Stoke, Somerset
Chew Magna, Somerset
 

Been to The Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.