We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,460)
Filter reviews
1,460 results
Traveller rating
946
310
117
59
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
946
310
117
59
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car ferry munster room private island presidential suite golf club driving range self catering lodges claw foot tub rose suite fairy tale round of golf washing machine sitting room family wedding old world short drive from start to finish
Filter
Updating list...
430 - 435 of 1,460 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We had a lovely room with four poster bed and clawfoot bath and a very large room. We had a view out to the river and could watch the deer wandering around. Only issue was the room was a bit hot as no air con (it is a castle) and the window were too small to let in a breeze but 18deg days are very unusual I gather. Lovely grounds to wonder around and it was fun to cross to the property on a little car ferry

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2wiseib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.
Waterford Castle is a genuine Castle dating from the 16th century. I am delighted to see that the lack of air conditioning did not in any way spoil the enjoyment of your stay.

I am glad you had the time to explore the grounds, they look particularly colourful this time of year with an abundance of wildlife to be seen.

Thank you again for your review, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Went here for a family meal, the staff were very accommodating as there was a very large group of us. The food was delicious and the service was great. The restaurant is really nicely decorated in a really relaxing location with scenic views.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Dear Carly,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are delighted that you chose Waterford Castle as the venue for your family get together. The location and surrounds rarely disappoint.
I will share your comments with the Restaurant and Kitchen staff who work tirelessly to ensure our customers have a memorable time.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016

We spent two nights at the castle and loved every minute. The restaurant is wonderful, the bar is cozy, the staff was great. We loved the island and the ferry is convenient. Don't miss the walking trail along the river. In addition to visiting Waterford and the crystal factory, we went to the famine ship in New Ross and the hook light house. Very worthwhile.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Dear Paul,

Thank you for sharing your review.

It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your time with us here at Waterford Castle.
The Castle is a great base to explore Waterford City and surrounds. The Famine Ship in New Ross and Hook Lighthouse should be on everyones list of things to do while here.

It is great to see that you also found the time to explore the Island and enjoy the
walking trails.

Thank you again for your lovely comments, we look forward to seeing you
at some future date.

Kind regards,
Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Waterford Castle is really cool, coupling old world charm with modern luxury conveniences. Their bar and lounge area is fantastically laid out,the music is chilled and perfect, and the bartender is attentive and competent. Their scotch and whiskey selection is excellent.
The rooms in the castle are amazing, but the lodges accommodation is the best value for money. Great place to stay with fully equipped kitchen and great living spaces, including really spacious and comfortable bedrooms (good beds!).
The golf is affordable, but not fantastic. But it's a great experience tk play in Ireland. The ferry crossing to get to and from the castle is a cool experience, but can be annoying if you are in a rush to get on or off the island. A car is necessary to make this trip.
Food in the golf club was mediocre, as was breakfast in the castle. Good wifi in castle and in lodges.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Dear Jon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Waterford Castle is as you describe having Old World Charm with modern day conveniences.
The Castle Rooms are as you might expect from a bygone era, while the Garden Lodges are totally modern, with open plan living and dining spaces.

It is great to see that you took the time to explore and experience all we have to offer from Golf to our Whiskey list.
The Ferry crossing is a very unique mode of transport that we hope sets the tone for a very unique experience on The Resort.

Thank you again for sharing your comments, I look forward to sharing them with the entire team.

We look forward to your return in the future.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

First class operation all the way. The ferry ride over to the private island sets the tone. The approach and all of the shared spaces are classic and extremely well crafted. The service is great across the board.

Food was great. Grounds were great.

We only spent one night there, but it seemed that there were tons of things to do without leaving the island. We may have to go back to check all of this out.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerJLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Dear Traveller JLB,

Thank you for sharing your review.

It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your time with us here at Waterford Castle.
Waterford Castle, is as you describe Romantic,dramatic and classic.
A very special place for a short break away.

Thank you again for your lovely comments, we look forward to seeing you again when, we hope you will have an opportunity to sample some of the activites on The Resort.

Kind Regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews