We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,598)
Filter reviews
1,599 results
Traveller rating
988
419
123
43
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
988
419
123
43
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porridge old world charm historic hotel irish whiskey old style the river wonderful hotel cie tour the pub waterford crystal breakfast was excellent car park full irish breakfast bar food viking triangle hotel bar central location
Filter
Updating list...
655 - 660 of 1,599 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

What a great time enjoy. Food amazing staff brilliant rooms so great. Its only a little thing but there were mugs in the room for tea. Bottle water free, great entertainment both nights. Also a great selection of gluten free food.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Annemarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

We appreciate your in posted this review. It’s the little things that count and thank for reviewing them. Delighted that you and your friends has an enjoyable time and hopefully you will make a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016

We were met with very welcoming and informative staff on reception on our arrival and we had two lovely rooms, apparently each room in the hotel is similar but have individual differences which makes each unique. We had very comfortable beds, but unfortunately the double was two single beds linked together. This made for a very large bed, great, but left a rather uncomfortable ridge in the middle of the bed. We had dinner in the hotel and I had the soup of the day, cauliflower and broccoli, which promised so much but was rather disappointing as it was watery and bland. However, the baked cod (fish of the day) was absolutely delicious. We had great service from Edita both for dinner and breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was a massive disappointment. The food was just dreadful with everything overcooked having been left under the heat lamp for too long, and that includes some beautiful kippers which were totally dried out; the baked beans were undercooked and the scrambled eggs were cold. In fact, nothing was really hot. The scrambled eggs were sent back and we expected a fresh breakfast to be brought back, but the original plate was returned which seemed merely to have been passed under the salamander grill which had heated and cooked the scrambled eggs even more thoroughly so it was like little bullets and the bacon was burnt to a crisp. And that's what lost this lovely hotel a star. We did complain to the reception staff when we left and they were very apologetic and upset that we had been served such a poor standard of food. I believe, reading the other reviews, that this was an anomaly and do hope that it was investigated as promised. Apart from the food, we loved this hotel and all the people who worked here were great.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank E M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Many thanks for taking the time you did to post your review. Your review is very fair, firm and considerate. Your review has been shared with the team and we recognise that we let you down by not delivering our normal standard. We got it wrong and sincerely apologise. We enjoy a good reputation and you were kind to say that you believe this to have been an anomaly and that you loved the hotel and the people who work in it. We all have our part to play and your review is a reminder to us of how important it is that we all deliver. Once again I apologise and I hope you will return to The Granville Hotel someday when we will get the opportunity to show we can do better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

A gem of a hotel with great character and the best service you will get. The food is always so good, from carvery lunches to dining in the restaurant. The breakfast menu is great and the porridge with Baileys is a must. There is a great selection of Gins in the Bar and the staff are extremely friendly and obliging. This is a superb hotel, full of character and well run and conveniently located on the quay in the heart of Waterford City.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank conniehalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Many thanks for that wonderful recommendation of being “The Best Hotel in Waterford” and “ A gem with great character and the best service you will get” Very much appreciate and we grateful to you for taking the time. Perhaps one day you will get to visit The Granville Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

The Granville is an old fashioned traditional hotel with genuine Irish hospitality charming staff and good food. You are right in the centre of Waterford over looking the river. The bar is buzzing with activity and atmosphere. The breakfast is delicious, I had Waterford specialty 'blah' bread rolls with poached eggs. I was recommended the porridge with Waterford whiskey but I was working so I couldn't indulge.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Maybe when next in Waterford you will be able to indulge in the whiskey with your porridge!! Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

Excellent hotel in the heart of Waterford. Reception very pleasant and attentive on arrive. Room spotless and clean with very good facilities. Wifi very good through out the hotel and bar area.
Bar staff and food very good and well priced with such a varied choice.
Well recommend the hotel itself and bar.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank Diarmuid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your positive comments and that The Granville Hotel is an “excellent hotel in the heart of Waterford” We are grateful to you for your recommendation. Hopefully you will get to stay at The Granville Hotel sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews