We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Farm Cottage

Front View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front View
Lough Gill within 100 Meters of Cottage View from Front Gate, Knocknarea and Ballysodare Bay in the backround
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Front View
Lough Gill within 100 Meters of Cottage
View from Front Gate, Knocknarea and Ballysodare Bay in the backround
New bathroom
Bedroom # 1
Main Bathroom
Kitchen
Dining Room
Loads of Parking and Secure Drive
Sitting Room with Satellite TV and Playstation
Back Garden
Back Garden
Hens for on site free range eggs
Patio Area Other direction
Patio area for barbecue which is supplied (GAS)
Top Bedroom
bathroom number 2 with Shower
Large front garden
Swing
Wintertime
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sligo, County Sligo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
MickeyJam...
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Cosy 3 bed room cottage with great garden for kids to play.
The hens were a big hit with our little one.
The eggs were the best we've ever tasted.
Hugh was very helpful and kind.
Great location, very close to Lough Gill and Dooney Rock.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fresh eggs and the location
Liked least: can't think of anything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Thank you Michaela. Glad you enjoyed the week and the hits were a hit. Kind Regards. Hugh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brest, France
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: la situation de la maison, les oeufs frais tous les jours, l'accueil des propriétaires, le wifi.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Many Thanks. It was great having you are you were fantastic guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Costadell
Winchelsea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic country property close to Sligo”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very good communication with the owner Hugh before arrival. We were amazed by the welcome basket-eggs from the hens at the back of the cottage, butter, Catriona's homemade bread and jam and wine! The cottage had everything we needed;it is warm and cosy and outside there is an enormous garden, which is great for kids. There is ample off-road parking. The situation is fantastic, with panoramic views towards Knocknarea and the sea. A short walk along the lane brings you to the top of the hill, with a breath-taking view of Lough Gill. Sligo is within very easy reach and may be accessed by foot along the side of the Garavogue River. Hugh is a mine of local information and he cannot do enough to make your stay a success. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation. Friendly welcome.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Many thanks. We are glad you enjoyed all Sligo has to offer including Sligo live which was on during your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hughie65
Sligo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous location with great scenery and wonderful accommodation”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Great location and fabulous and unique cottage in a wonderful part of the world. The fresh eggs were wonderful and the kids loved collecting them. Great facilities for young children with the new quality swing and slide

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the hens
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony b
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Location, lovely cottage and brilliant hosts”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a fantastic time at Old Farm Cottage.We stayed here for a week with our 3 children.
Hugh and Catriona were perfect hosts the welcome baskets left for us was a very kind gesture and contents were delicious they even contacted a neighbour with an 8 seat taxi to accommodate our family to take us where we needed to go,when needed. The cottage was very homely just like a home from home with everything we needed. Our 3 boys enjoyed the use of the play area in the garden and the toys and play station kept them entertained after a long day of walking and exploring such beautiful places around Sligo. We came to Sligo to renew our wedding vows at Hazelwood forest unfortunately the weather wasn't the best and restricted us from doing so therefor we renewed our vows in the garden of this beautiful cottage with it's breath-taking views. We will be visiting Old Farm Cottage again and would highly recommend this holiday rental to our family, friends and anyone wanting to visit Sligo.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing