We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly a home away from home!”
other travellers have booked this property
Dine Alfresco on the sunlit patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dine Alfresco on the sunlit patio
Through the gates of Teach Mo Chroi' Drive through the canopy of trees on Cartronbower Boreen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Dine Alfresco on the sunlit patio
Through the gates of Teach Mo Chroi'
Drive through the canopy of trees on Cartronbower Boreen
Welcoming wide hallway entrance
Living Room solid fuel stove
Open plan Living Area
Living Room with Reading Library
Comfortable seating for 6 adults
Hearth Fireplace in the kitchen gathering space
Seating for 10 at the Table & Breakfast Bar
Master Bedroom w/Ensuite Bathroom & Walk-in Closet
Bedroom with Queen Bed & Single Bed sleeps 3
Large Bedroom with 2 Queen Beds, TV, DVD, & VCR
Whimsical Butterfly Bedroom with a Queen Bed & Single Pull Out Trundle Bed
Friends drop by for a Snack
Donkey Soccer - Game On!!
Our Summer Window Boxes
Inside Ballintubber Abbey, Home to Celebrity Weddings like Pierce Brosnan of '007' Fame!
Historical 12th Century Ballintubber Abbey our parish church
Close up view of Croagh Patrick from our Patio
Snow blanketed Croagh Patrick
Climbing the Holy Mountain Croagh Patrick
A view from the top of Croagh Patrick of Clew Bay & the mouth of the Atlantic
Descending Croagh Patrick
Breathtakingly Beautiful Kylemore Abbey
Keem Strand  One of the many beautiful beaches of  Achill Island
Surfing on Achill Island
Strolling in Galway City
A Typical intersection in Clifden Town
Roundstone Pier, Co Galway
Map of the West of Ireland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Westport, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sandy K
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly a home away from home!”
Reviewed 24 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 12 days in this wonderful house while visiting County Mayo from the USA. It was the perfect location for staying while exploring the west of Ireland. There were 7 of us and we had more than enough room in this spacious house and inviting house. It was very clean and well-maintained both indoors and out and had every amenity that was needed. It truly was like being in your own home in another country. Our host and housekeeper were more than helpful in showing/telling us how everything worked and were available if we needed to telephone with questions. The location of the house is situated between Ballinrobe and Castlebar, and it was very easy to drive to either town for grocery shopping, etc. We cooked most of our meals instead of going out to eat at restaurants and found the kitchen to be well-equipped. The home is child-friendly as well, which was a plus for us since we had one teenager and one child in our group. They enjoyed the basketball and soccer goals. There is also a swing set for younger children. I highly recommend staying here if you are planning on visiting Mayo. It really made our vacation more enjoyable, comfortable and memorable! Thank you again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself was wonderful and the location was perfect for exploring western Ireland.
Liked least: There was not anything that we did not like about it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2012
Sandy it is a pleasure to have had such respectful guests. You left the house in terrific condition.

While it is true we are situated in off the main N84 Castlebar/Ballinrobe Rd, we are also less than 15 mins from Westport town, an easily accessible road just behind the home leads you straight into town.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen...
Montpelier, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We traveled to Ireland to visit my son who was doing a semester abroad in Dublin. This was our first time to Ireland and my first time using homeaway.com. Our experience was wonderful! We stayed in "Teach Mo Chroi" for an entire week and the house was just amazing and very, very beautiful! Everything was at our disposal and there was nothing lacking at all! The Kitchen is huge and well-equipped with all of the amenities! We cooked wonderful meals each night utilizing the fresh local produce and meats from the local markets. The floor plan of the house is perfect for families who want to have all of the kids in one end of the house and keep the other end of the house "quiet" for adults who might want to go to bed alittle bit earlier. The outside space is very private with sheep and lambs surrounding the property. The landscape is beautiful and we really enjoyed taking walks down the driveway and along the dirt road.
We have rented houses before in the US for vacations but I must say, this has definately been one of our favorites! Thank you so much to Karla for letting us have such a wonderful vacation in her beautiful home!! I hope that we can make it back to Ireland again next year because there is still so much to see and do!!!
kb

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was top-notch, high-end, well-equipped, and it just made it so easy to relax and feel right at home!
Liked least: nothing, it was all wonderful!
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2012
As always, we realize there are many choices out there for self catering rentals, and are very grateful when guests choose "Teach Mo Chroi'". We strive to make your visit as pleasurable as possible, and appreciate when our guests give us such positive feedback. It means we've done a good job! Thank you for visiting.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meaghen G
Waterloo, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Home in a Peaceful Beautiful Rural Setting”
Reviewed 6 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My family had a fabulous stay at this lovely home. The home was clean, spacious and had everything our family of 5 needed for a relaxing vacation in Ireland. The views were gorgeous, the setting so peaceful. The bedrooms and kitchen were large and the bathrooms very up to date. We took several day-trips from here, including to gorgeous Achill Island, Westport, Ashford Castle (where we fished and did horseback riding), and to visit family in Sligo. We enjoyed cooking in the cozy kitchen, and relaxing fireside in the evenings. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views, the spaciousness, the location
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2011
We strive to offer exceptional accommodations at a reasonable rate, we are happy to have met that goal for your stay with us. I'm glad our recommendations for fishing and horseback riding at Ashford Castle turned out to be an enjoyable experience for you and your girls. Many Thanks, Karla
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Reviewed 28 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wisconsin
Reviewed 18 September 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Sep 2011
We strive to provide excellent accommodations for our guests and are very happy to hear your stay with us met your expectations. The home was designed with large groups in mind so handling your party of 11 easily, is a welcome compliment. We hope we'll have the pleasure of hosting you again one day. Thank you for choosing Teach Mo Chroi'.
Karla Geraghty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing