We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,171)
Filter reviews
2,171 results
Traveller rating
1,466
556
104
23
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,466
556
104
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews abbey river bar and grill great hotel superior room modern hotel within walking distance city centre king john's castle secure parking hunt museum car park hotel restaurant great room both nights buffet style would highly recommend this hotel stayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 2,171 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018

As far as options in Limerick, this hotel probably is the best option. The city itself appears to have hit harder times. The security gates were down on storefronts, not many people walking the streets, lots of graffiti and security cameras. Unfortunately, it didn't have a "safe" feeling to be walking around the town.

To add to that, you can see this hotel takes security pretty seriously to protect its guests. Cars are parked in an on-site garage, only accessible through remote request to the hotel desk to have the gate and security door raised. If that carpark is full, the hotel directs guests to another secured garage with similar restricted access. No cars are left outside unprotected which tells me break-ins are an issue in the area.

Once in the hotel, the elevators do not operate without a valid room key. Every floor has security cameras in the hallways. That is a ton of security for a hotel, almost like a Vegas casino.

We were there during some pretty hot weather (84F/29C) and the air conditioning in the rooms struggled to keep up with cooling at those temps. We managed to keep the room cool by leaving one of the keycards in the energy-saver panel designed to make sure the A/C and lights are only on when the room is occupied. After several hours, the room cooled from way too hot to somewhat warm. If you did not do this, the room would be hot for hours while you try to go to sleep.

The room itself was fine. Basic furnishings and a nice bathroom. Given the overall environment in Limerick, it was a relief that the rooms were as nice as they were.

The restaurant bar was OK. Decent bar-food. I was surprised that several of their taps of the local beer were kicked, but they did have bottles of the beer as well. The breakfast buffet was OK with plenty of selection. It was not overly crowded at breakfast and there was plenty of seating.

The reception did not handle our check-in that well. We arrived around Noon and were advised rooms would be ready at 3:00, the standard check-in time. (no issue with that)

The rooms were not ready at 3:00. Things happen so even that would be OK as long as reception understands they have now impacted their customer and need to make them whole. How about a round of drinks in the bar? An upgrade on the room?

I wasn't there at check-in or I would have insisted on some compensation. If we wait three hours for rooms, they better be ready on time or we deserve something in return for our inconvenience.

The bright spot was the server in the bar-restaurant who served our group for lunch, dinner and breakfast the next day. Extremely pleasant, accommodating and friendly. Really hustled and worked with a great attitude. Always a pleasure to meet people like that.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank bt_dot_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnacha H, General Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

So first off apologies for the issues experienced particularly around check in, Sorry.
We'll always try to accommodate people if they arrive early but certainly you should not be excessively waiting as appears to be the case.

If we cant get your room by the check in time of 3pm then we should be looking after you for a gesture such as an upgrade or a drink and that is our normal procedure which clearly broke down so point taken there!.
Other than that, thanks for the positive comments about the rest of the experience.

Regards
Donnacha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Had a one night stay. When we enquired before visit about cost of upgrading to a suite we were given one complimentary! Suite was fabulous. Staff were very friendly. Food was great. Only disappointing thing was we were just there for 1 night. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nuala R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoManagerAbsolute, Front Office Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Hi Nuala R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. So glad you enjoyed your comlimentary upgrade. It is lovely to get a surprise , they are really beautiful and spacious. Glad our staff made you feel most welcome.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next time !

All the best,
Kind Regards,
Lynsey Molloy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Absolute Hotel is very stylish and sophisticated. We stayed in a mid-range twin room on the fourth floor. The beds were very comfortable. Extra pillows were in the closet. There was an iron, safe, Nespresso machine, two bottles of still water and a hairdryer. The shower was a wet-room with large round shower head, toilet and sink. All sparkling clean and beautifully presented.
The reception area, restaurant, lounges and public toilets were also really well tended and stylish.
We checked in quite late at night. The reception staff member was friendly enough, but seemed under pressure and commented that he was supposed to have finished work already and he was not overly interested in chatting about local amenities or advising about them but really just wanted to get us on our way. That was fine. It was quite late. The reception staff member the next morning was much more accommodating, even noticed that I was looking at a map on my tablet and offered a map of the area.
The breakfast was nice. Full continental breakfast and cooked breakfast with additional options cooked to order. There was a huge selection of dried fruits and seeds available at the cereal station, there is a make it yourself pancake machine, fresh fruits, yogurts, juices, water, pastries, sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs, toaster, etc. French toast, fried eggs and poached eggs available from the kitchen. It was a good selection. I'd have loved something like potato cakes or hasbrowns, and baked beans, but I can't fault them for it!

Room Tip: Twin room 427. Apparently hotel was quite busy but we didn't hear anyone else once we closed the door. A/C worked great too.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoManagerAbsolute, Front Office Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Good Afternoon azzo58,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am disappointed you felt your check-in was rushed , and you didnt receive some recommodations or maps,this is not the norm here at The Absolute -we take pride in taking the time with our guests upon checkin, and to ensure you are well looked after.

However , I am glad to hear you were looked after on check out with maps and I hope you took some time to explore what Limerick city has to offer.

Delighted you enjoyed our buffet breakfast - we get alot of feedback on breakfast and we expecially ensure everyone is catered for.

Great recommendations on the hashbrown/ potato cakes, I will be sure to let our Chef know!

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lynsey Molloy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Absolute Hotel was an absolute saviour after an early departure from a bad stay nearby in Bunratty. I wish we had more time to stay at the Absolute Hotel... the room and staff were great, even better than advertised.

Entrance is through the garage.. convenient access with luggage.

I had a suite as it was only a little bit more expensive than a regular room, but the space difference was significant. The room had a lounge area, dining table, separate sleeping area and a bistro table on the balcony overlooking the river. Such a peaceful place. Decor was modern and fresh.... it felt brand new. Free internet.

The bathroom had separate shower and bathtub, and double sinks. It was well appointed with thick, fluffy towels and Elemis soaps and shampoo. Smelled great.

We ate both dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant... had the same server, Magdalena, who went above and beyond to ensure we were accommodated with vegan options. Food and drinks, delicious.

The hotel is walking distance to the castle and the medieval section in one direction, and restaurants and shopping in the other.

The Absolute Hotel should be the first choice if anywhere within the region. We were so happy to find the Absolute for our last night in Ireland.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paigesherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoManagerAbsolute, Front Office Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Good Afternoon Paige,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I know you took some time to put this together and I was delighted to read it.

Happy to hear you had dinner with us and experienced our restaurant. Your server Magdelena will be delighted with this lovely review. She is one in a million !

We are very lucky to have such great attractions on our doorstep, and I am delighted you had time to experience Limerick city.

We hope we are lucky to welcome you back to The Absolute Hotel in the not too distant future.

All the best,
Lynsey Molloy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

We stayed here for two nights in late May. The Absolute Hotel (AH) sits alongside the Shannon river. It is easy to walk into town or to use the walking path that runs along the river. Our room was large and the bed was comfortable. There was a small balcony but no furniture to sit on. The hotel is bright and modern. There is a spa, which I did not use.
The breakfast included in our rate was good, especially the brown irish soda bread. The service was good.
The desk staff was very helpful with suggestions of things we might do during our two days in Limerick and gave good directions about how to use public transit to get to those places.I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: a room overlooking the river would be good and a room that is not above the entryway would be quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hengaoxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoManagerAbsolute, Front Office Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Good Afternoon hengaoxing,

We are delighted to hear that you throughly enjoyed your stay with us. recently. Our beds receive alot of feedback on how comfortable they are. Glad to hear our front desk staff were helpful and gave you lots of suggestions!

Nothing like brown soda bread to give you that Irish welcome, I always remember my granny's soda bread when visiting on weekend - it was THE BEST EVER!
Hope you visit us again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Lynsey Molloy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews