We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a House, What a Find”
other travellers have booked this property
Scartlea House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Scartlea House
Welcome to your new home from home - come on in! Spacious and Elegant Entrance Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Scartlea House
Welcome to your new home from home - come on in!
Spacious and Elegant Entrance Hall
Living Room with TV/Wii/DVD and Gas Stove
Open Plan Hall from Kitchen to Living Room
Kitchen/Dining Room with 7 Ring Hob, 3 Ovens and Large Reclaimed  Wooden Table overlooking gardens
Evening Sitting Room with Cinema Screen, Surround Sound and Home Theatre
Master Bedroom with Super King Bed, TV and Mountain Views. Ensuite with Spa Bath and Walk in Shower
Beautiful High ceilings and tons of storage in Master
Ensuite bathroom with double spa bath and separate walk in shower
Super King room with mountain views
Double and Single in a beautiful room overlooking gardens
Downstairs bedroom with King Bed, Tv, facing garden
Twin Room overlooking Garden
Established Private Back Garden with Swing/Slide Set, Bonfire Pit etc.
View of Garden from Dining Table and Kitchen
Sheltered Patio with outdoor loudspeakers, heaters and large gas Barbeque
Vibrant colour all year round
View of Killarney town
Around the Town
Muckross Abbey - 2 mins from the house
View of lake from the Abbey
Bluebell Woods also 2 mins from us
National Park - 2 mins from us
Muckross House- 5 mins
Torc Waterfall - 5 mins
Knockreer - 10 mins from us
Ross Castle from cycle/walking path
Curious Locals
Peace on the lakes at Ross Pennisula - 10 mins
Winter View from Ross Castle
The Meeting of The Waters
The Golden Gates  and Cherry Avenue at Killarney House - 10 mins from us
Beaufort Golf Club
A visitor at Killarney Golf & Fishing Club
Loch Lein and the Reeks
Hiking in the Gap of Dunloe
Riding on Rossbeigh Beach
Ballinskelligs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Killarney, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve099
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“What a House, What a Find”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just came back from Killarney and we were let down by our accommodation at very short notice and found this property on Tripadvisor and what a lucky find, words can't really describe this magnificent house, architect designed, beautifully maintained, pristine modern accommodation for the discerning traveller.
The owner could not be more helpful even when I couldn't figure out if/ how you could get RTE2 on the big cinema screen, what a place, there's even a fairy ring in the garden what a nice touch, the house is stunning from top to toe, located in lovely peaceful surroundings, far enough so that you get no light pollution to do a bit of star gazing whilst whiling away your time relaxing around the fairy ring, need I say more?
Everything is included even a bean to cup coffee machine, tons of nice thoughtful touches, a home away from home.
All thanks to the owner for sharing their wonderful home, something to be very, very proud of. Thank you, we'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The shear quality and attention to detail, stunning
Liked least: Nothing, if you dont appreciate this there is no pleasing you,
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Thank you for the review. So glad we could help you out in your hour of need and that your vacation was saved by the comforts of Scartlea House! Do come back again for some more star gazing another time. Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“¡Really amazing!. ¡Impresionante!. The house is exactly as the photos show!”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Really amazing. The bedrooms, kitchen, bathrooms,....etc!. Fiona, thank you very much for letting us enjoy one of the more incredible holidays!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Toda la casa
Liked least: Internet muy lento
Travelling group: Con amigos
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2015
Muchas gracias Antonio! We are so happy you all enjoyed your stay so much. We would love to have you all back in Scartlea House for another multifamily adventure. Gracias y hasta la proxima vez! Saludos Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol S
County Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Gorgeous house, great garden, great time.”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had a wonderful stay in Scartlea this June. Great house and garden for everyone from baby to grandparents. They really have thought of everything and were very helpful from start to finish. Would definitely recommend a visit. Thank you

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2015
Thanks so much for the lovely review - we are thrilled both young and old enjoyed the house so much and would love to welcome you all back another time. Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_H...
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Like home, but better!”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is a truly stunning property in a beautiful, peaceful location. We were so sad to have to leave, but honestly felt invigorated by our stay!

There were seven of us, ranging from toddler to grandparent and everything in between. Choosing to stay at Scartlea made a long-planned and very special get-together even more memorable. Scartlea has something for everybody - peaceful corners for reading and unwinding, great kitchen/patio/barbeque for sharing meals, a cinema screen for watching films, a well maintained, beautiful garden ideal for children etc. etc.

The house is full of light and space, and is kept in an immaculate condition - fluffy white towels, luxurious bathrooms, comfy beds, amazing coffee maker. What we really noticed were all the little touches - a spice rack, great cooking equipment/facilities, tea and coffee beans provided, yummy scones on arrival ... bubble bath! Everything you could think of has been provided, and there is so much useful information at hand. Fiona is a pleasure to deal with, and is so helpful and professional in how she runs the let.

The one issue I would have is that we had planned to do a lot more sightseeing around the gorgeous Killarney area, but found that we were too reluctant to leave our heavenly hideaway at Scartlea! (- I am taking this as an excuse for a return visit next year!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for the wonderful review - it is always a pleasure to hear that our guests find our home peaceful and comfortable and that they are both relaxed and invigorated after their vacation, how all holidays should be! Of course, you must see more of Killarney and its surroundings so do come again soon...the team at Scartlea House would be delighted to welcome you back. Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelBe...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful home in a beautiful place!”
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We visited as a group of friends for a long weekend. I am already telling everyone I know about this place as it really is beautiful. It really does need to be seen to be fully appreciated. The house has a very welcoming feel as soon as you walk through the door. The decor was amazing and the attention to detail impressive. Each room had a lovely feel and was perfectly fit for purpose, big open kitchen great for gathering, immaculately presented living areas for chilling out and beautiful comfortable bedrooms. The house is in a perfect location for exploring the sights of Killarney (if you can drag yourself away from the comfort of the house) I loved the little details, picnic bag in the cupboards, I can imagine this being a great idea in the summer (packing up and exploring the sights.) Fresh scones on arrival, children's toys tucked away in the cupboards for entertaining little ones and enough dvds to entertain on a rainy day with the huge projector in the living room. I can't wait to come back to Scartlea with my family possibly in the summer when we can make the most of the play area and the beautiful grounds. Thank you for your hospitality :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time in Scartlea House and look forward to welcoming you and your family back another time. It is always lovely to have others appreciate and care for the house so well - my housekeeper says it was left almost as clean as when you arrived!

I must advise you to book soon to avoid disappointment if you want to come again this summer as we are filling up quickly!! We'd love to show you what the house and Killarney can offer you in another season!

Thanks again
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing