We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Fairview(Killarney)
US$170
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$338
US$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Brehon(Killarney)
US$209
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$459
US$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eviston House Hotel(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$302
US$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scotts Hotel(Killarney)
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
McSweeney Arms Hotel(Killarney)
US$168
US$151
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$106
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Innisfallen Hotel(Fossa)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$112
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,448)
Filter reviews
2,448 results
Traveller rating
1,878
410
115
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,878
410
115
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour postercastle ruinscastlelough restauranthuggard familymaster deluxe roomred deerjacuzzi bathnew wingnational parkposter bedlough leanering of kerryold worldmain restaurantrelaxing breakmuckross housetorc waterfall
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 2,448 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The place has a super location, it is great for hiking and MTB.
Rooms are clean, big and very romantic.
Food is good / very good, sometime the service at the restaurant is slow , but not always.
Same is for the manners of the main waitress at the pub, can be disappointing.
The hotel is very well looked after, recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luca_KTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report.
We are disappointed to hear that you found a member of our team to be unpleasant. This is most unusual for us, and is very disappointing to hear. We always have and always will put our guests first, and we always insist on going the extra mile.
Your comments and feedback will be discussed and addressed here with the relevant departmental Managers. We would pride ourselves on offering a warm, Irish welcome and helping all our guests have a lovely holiday with us.
I do hope that we can welcome you back to stay with us again in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us.

Kind Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely stunning hotel .Our room was beautiful and very clean. Definitely worth paying the little bit extra for this hotel as the view is absolutely breathtakingly. The food is lovely in the restaurant. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Would highly recommend. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank WinifredTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We certainly hope that you will return to us for a follow-up visit before too long and we appreciate you taking the time to review us so generously,

Kind Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spent the weekend at the Lake Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Got in late and they were at reception and upgraded our room to a lake view for free. The view is a highlight but the bar is also very nice and breakfast buffet also very good. Definitely worth a stay.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rossmmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us, it was our pleasure having you and we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us.
We do hope that we can welcome you back to stay with us again in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us

Kind Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were told that it was a must to visit the Lake Hotel because of its setting. We were very impressed by the beautiful views from the bars and restaurants. The food looked amazing and prices pretty good. Very interesting building with plenty of character! Staff very pleasant. Don't mean to be picky but...... for such a grand building with lots of lovely fireplaces why have such cheap basic looking electric fire inserts...gross!!! They were rubbish!! completely spoilt the ambience of what could have been a cosy inviting room. Come on we are not the only ones to think this???? A fireplace is such a focal point in any room. With such character and amazing views what a huge mistake. A few logs and candles would have been better! With the amazing range of fires including optimist can't imagine why on earth these horrid fires are there! Sorry if you don't like our comments but this beautiful hotel with the perfect views has been let down and so deserves better.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Carole_R150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Lake Hotel.
Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, we are very lucky to be located is such an amazing setting.
The Lake Hotel is a Family run hotel, built in 1820 and is currently under third generation ownership, and through many years of annual refurbishment we hope to have combined the old world with modern, we will be sure to pass on your comments with regard our electric fires to our interior designers and management so that they can look at this for our next refurbishment this winter,
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

I’ll start with the positives, the staff are dedicated and there is no better view.

Everything screams though that they are taking a premium price but giving a basic product.

The food is terrible for the price. Very low quality. Worst chowder in Ireland yet and they are serving raw rhubarb in their breakfast yogurt.

The dining area is not big enough for the number of people. Seating is not comfortable or enough on a sunny day.

It’s a shame. The view is worth a drive through visit though, it’s truest breathtaking.

Stayed: April 2018
2  Thank ParsonsL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Thank you so much for your lovely comments about our team here at the hotel, we are extremely lucky to have a team who are dedicated to making sure that all of our guests have a great time during their stays with us.
We are sorry to hear that you found our rates to be over priced. We find ourselves to be priced quite competitively with other 4 Star Hotels in the area, and this would be something that we would keep an eye on quite regularly.
We are disappointed you did not enjoy your dining experience here with us also, I will be sure to pass your comments onto our Head Chef, we are continually trying to improve the quality and variety of our food.
I hope that we may get another chance to welcome you back to The Lake Hotel, Killarney and to improve upon your recent stay.

Kind Regards

Niall Huggard General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews