We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you are looking for a good house near...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gap of Dunloe
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Gap of Dunloe
Macgilycuddy Reeks
Gap of Dunloe
Jaunting car at the Gap of Dunloe
Walkers at the Gap of Dunloe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Killarney, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Remko1980
Enschede, Overijssel, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a good house near Killarney, look no further!”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We've spend 5 days in this beautiful house near Beaufort and Killarney.
The welcome was very warm, the house is very neat, clean and well decorated. The big living room, kitchen, the nice bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms and the lovely fireplace make you feel at home and cosy immediately.
The host is very friendly and helpfull.
We made trips to the ring of Kerry and the Dingle peninsula. It is all well within driving range.
If you are in a group from 4-9 people and you are visiting South-West Ireland, look no further!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinsprin...
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Glorious Week in Kerry”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We just returned from a glorious week in County Kerry. The weather was perfect and the people could not have been friendlier. We rented a house just outside of Beaufort and The Gap of Dunloe. The views from the house were spectacular and the house itself was everything we expected and more. We were four mature adults and the house was perfect for us. Two ensuite bedrooms upstairs, two ensuite bedrooms downstairs. All beds are doubles, with a separate twin bed included in the upstairs master. The kitchen is spacious and became the conversation center for the house. The equipment in the house is all in like new condition and very easy to clean and care for. I would not have changed a thing. The owner, Anne Foley, was extremely helpful and made wonderful recommendations for area restaurants. The Beaufort Pub and Restaurant was a delight. Our only problem was that we all ate too much good Irish food. I would highly recommend this house to anyone.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambusK
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great house in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Good choice for 9 of us 2, 2+2children,2+1child (all children under 6) Sleeping accom. kept 3 groups separate and the two tier open plan arrangement worked well for the kids. The house is well presented and equipped. (We took an extra TV/DVD for the kids which was a great help. For this number some extra cutlery would have been useful also some serving spoons. Also only 6 dining room chairs for a house which sleeps 9. The main TV confused the children who had never seen an "old style" TV before and the controls confused the adults a bit! but it was fine.) In all, a very nice house with secure gardens in a very quiet area. There is a large field behind the house which we were able to use for exploring with the kids ( no sheep!)
The location is about 15/20mins out of Killarney, but very well situated for exploring Kerry area which has much to offer. There are a couple of shops much nearer for top ups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good layout in house for 3 family groups incl two tier openplan space gave children a separate area
Liked least: less facilities for young children e.g. outdoor play....
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Delighted to hear that u enjoyed your stay. In reference to your concerns you had, there was a box of spare cutlery in the drawer. We had a new tv but it was stolen so that is why we put that tv in . Reference to the seating there was 6 chairs at the table and 2 fold up chairs in the bedrooms so u could bring them to the table. We actually had 3 but one was stolen this year. I did bring u over a chair when u requested it straight away. Normally we replace items at the end of season. Once again thank for your concerns and they will addressed at end of season. Hoping we see u in the near furture again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penny p
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic time in a fantastic house”
Reviewed 19 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I have just returned from a lovely week in Killarney staying with my son, two daughters and their families for my daughters wedding.
From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we had such a lovely time and felt so welcome by the owners. Fresh soda bread was baked on our arrival and again in the week which was a lovely touch and absolutely delicious. As an extra touch they arranged for a bottle of cava for the bridal party which was unexpected & a lovely gesture.
We could not fault a single thing with the property & its location to Beaufort and the main town were perfect. You will need to hire a car but these can be hired reasonable in advance.
We would stay here again and would recommended the property to anyone who will be visiting beautiful Killarney.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mkayes
Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable Home, Fabulous Views and Location”
Reviewed 28 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We were a group of 5 mature adults, two couples and one single person, and the home was more than adequate. The four bedrooms were spacious with adjoining baths. The common living area is divided in three large gathering spaces...a large kitchen/dining area, a living area with large screen tv ( these two spaces share a fireplace/wood stove), and a third sunroom area that is bright and cheery. The grounds around the house are very well maintained and are surrounded by a pastoral farm setting with sheep. The backyard hillside is planted with a lovely variety of flowers.

The location is on the road to the amazing Dunloe Gap, Kate Kierney's Cottage for food and music and morning conversations at the outdoor picnic tables. It is als quite near to the small and posh village of Beaufort with the Beaufort Bar with its relaxed atmosphere and delicious food.

While we loved the area, we were a little disappointed in the busy narrow road in front of the house. While a passageway for logging trucks and farm equipment and lots of fast cars that seem to forget that the road is very curvy with blind turns and no walking area or bike path. Walking in the road is not a good idea because there is often no place to go if a car is nearby. We had thought we would be able to walk more and finally learned that if we drove to Dunloe Gap, which is about two miles from the house, we could hike some of the most beautiful area in Ireland.

We experienced difficulty operating some of the equipment in the house...namely the stove which we could not turn on and the heater which we could not turn off and did not need. These and other problems would probably have been addressed if the property manager had not left for her family vacation on the day we arrived and returned just as we were to check out. While a elder family relative did near by, she was not responsible for the house.

As a additional comment, I would like to say that Imagine Ireland is a wonderful company with which to plan a vacation. They always respond in a timely manner. They are polite, clear, and actually listen and respond within 24 hours to any concern we had. We would used them again perhaps to book a different property which is located on a less busy road and closer to Beaufort village.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location in this pastoral hillside setting.
Liked least: The mattresses on 3 of the 4 beds.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing