We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Twelve Hotel(Barna)
US$229
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$257
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$294
US$259
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$177
US$173
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Almara House(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barnacles Hostel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Snoozles Hostel(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,199)
Filter reviews
1,199 results
Traveller rating
681
326
123
51
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
681
326
123
51
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorla kielyhen partiesspanish archcar parkhen nightquay streetlatin quartercocktail menulovely hotelreception areadeluxe roomcentral locationlocation is excellentloved this hotellast weekendstayed here for one nightgalway city
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,199 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay very much. The room was very comfortable, especially the bed. Our only criticism was that the breakfast was very poor. The food we ordered that was cooked did not taste good and my eggs even tasted strange and I couldn’t eat them.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank travelbuggirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great Location. The room was a little bit small, but very nice
Clean
Personal very friendly.
Actually they helped us to find an Hotel in our next stop
Not enough place to stop with the car and let the baggage. They have place in front but let the cars park there, so when it is full, there is not more place for the next ones. The parkgarage is just 3 minutes walk. So all the cars should go there instead let the cars in front the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Grace198508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The stay was amazing! We loved the location and the staff was extremely helpful. The restaurant atmosphere was lively and enjoyable. We asked for recommendations of other places to visit and they took the time to give up great.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ariellejuli6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This four-story stone building, originally a warehouse, which was converted into a 4-star hotel over 10 years ago Perfectly located in the middle of Galway. Immediately upon entering the hotel, the impression was of a ladies' boudoir, with lots of pink chairs, silver framed mirrors and numerous bric a brac. Once adjusted to the "home away from home" vibe the over the top girlie décor was less oppressive and even amusing to an extent. There are many advantages to this hotel including a good breakfast buffet with fruit juices, yogurt, and pastries included, as well as a variety of egg options, including eggs benedict hotel entree choice. The beds were very comfortable We much appreciated the with Orly Kiely bath products - the best shampoo - the very flimsy toilet paper was less of a bargain! The afternoon tea/coffee with scone, jam and cream for 5 euro added to the homely ambiance and the bar boasts an impressive cocktail list, with tequila mixes featuring prominently.
The free wifi had a good connection all through the hotel and some local TV channels but couldn't get BBC or CNN - however it was a nice change to hear local politics being discussed. There was a rain shower and a handheld shower spray plus a towel warming rack in the bathroom; the water pressure is impressive strong and it's worth knowing that the water off position is in the centre of the dial - otherwise a high pressure cold shower is guaranteed after taking a hot shower - fortunately, there is some scientific evidence that taking a cold shower after working out may be more beneficial than the hotter version!

The bar was very loud on the Wednesday night we were there, but most of the noise was absorbed by the walls and windows. Most of Galways' restaurants, shops and pubs are clustered around the very busy Quay Street area, and it's less than a 10 minute walk to the combined bus and train station. Parking is available at a garage just around the corner for 8euro, 24hours (enter and exit as you please). All-in-all this is a luxury boutique hotel with stylish interiors, and a relaxing change from the monotony of the larger hotel chains.

Room Tip: Breakfast stops at 10am
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, Guest Relations Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear John M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. This is great feedback for both ourselves & our future guests.

We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay & were about to appreciate our unique boutique setting.
We've been getting great feedback on our beds recently & it's nice to know our upgrades are valued by the guests.

We would love to welcome you back to The House Hotel should you return to Galway.

Kind Regards,

The House Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Room quality has deteriorated since earlier visits and was below expectations, decor and condition of furnishings now in need of attention
in particular the breakfast experience was unsatisfactory as kitchen service very slow and NOT responsive to particular requests (e.g. overcooked) and because of inordinate delays during a period that was not busy the food was cold

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank patrick_mulvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr Mulvee,

I am genuinly sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with your most recent visit to the House.

We are about to undergo a refurbishment of the ground floor and there are a number of items in our bedrroms that are scheduled for upgrade over the coming weeks. I do apologise if there was a delay oin your breakfast and there is no excusing this if it was not busy. Please be assured that I will be raising the issue with the relevant departments to ensure that the isue is addressed and does not re-accur. I would appriciate if you could contact me directly on this.

We pride ourselves in our breakfast which is cooked to order and we are constantly reviewing our offering to ensure a positive experience.

I hope that this visit will not deter you from staying with us again in the future as we would aprriciate the opportunity to rectify the situation.

Warmest Regards,

Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews