We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick brunch outside”
Review of The hungry Duck

The hungry Duck
Ranked #982 of 2,811 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Established in 2016 The Hungry Duck is a small neighbourhood restaurant. Our focus is on creating interesting plates of food with seasonal produce, locally sourced where possible. In general we would describe our food as a modern twist on classic dishes. We have a small team led out front by Bruno Berta, a restaurant manager with vast experience as the highest level of two Michelin starred restaurants in Dublin and Europe and our Chef du Patron Aidan Noctor has vast experience having and trained and worked with Kevin Dundon and Richard Corrigan. Our aim is to provide great plates of food and excellent service in a small cosy setting. The Irish Times described us as a culinary oasis is in a gastronomic dessert. We have the challenge of a dichotomous location in terms of dining but we are delighted to say that over past few years our independently owned restaurant run by a husband and wife team with strong ties to the area as become a valued eatery for locals and beyond.
Restaurant details
Description: Established in 2016 The Hungry Duck is a small neighbourhood restaurant. Our focus is on creating interesting plates of food with seasonal produce, locally sourced where possible. In general we would describe our food as a modern twist on classic dishes. We have a small team led out front by Bruno Berta, a restaurant manager with vast experience as the highest level of two Michelin starred restaurants in Dublin and Europe and our Chef du Patron Aidan Noctor has vast experience having and trained and worked with Kevin Dundon and Richard Corrigan. Our aim is to provide great plates of food and excellent service in a small cosy setting. The Irish Times described us as a culinary oasis is in a gastronomic dessert. We have the challenge of a dichotomous location in terms of dining but we are delighted to say that over past few years our independently owned restaurant run by a husband and wife team with strong ties to the area as become a valued eatery for locals and beyond.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really nice juice and lunch. Gentleman very nice and service very good. Would definitely recommend. Prices reasonable as well.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank judymathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2021 via mobile

Wow, Wow, Scrummy Yummy!
Falafel Bowl amazing. The flavours and textures are probably the best I have had in a very long time. Will definitely have it again

Date of visit: March 2021
3  Thank karenHE_dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2020

I visited this cafe recently with friends and I’ll be back again soon. Nice selection on the lunch menu. I had the bacon and egg sandwich, which was delicious! Also the cappuccinos/lattes were lovely! (Strong, the way I like them)
It was very busy at lunch time though, so get in early, you may have to wait a few minutes for a table, but it’s worth it!

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Marshy819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesleyo755, Owner at The hungry Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2020

Thank you for your kind review it's greatly appreciated. We hope to see you at The Hungry Duck again when we can reopen for indoor dining. Best regards, Aidan & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2020

We had a lovely brunch in the Hungry Duck. This is a great addition to Kimmage and has a wide selection of vegetarian and vegan options. I had the eggs florentine and the eggs were perfectly soft and runny; the bread to mop up the yolk was delicious. My husband had was delighted with the asparagus dish. We will return!

Date of visit: September 2020
2  Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesleyo755, Owner at The hungry Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2020

Hi Catherine,
Thank you for your lovely review we are so pleased you enjoyed The Hungry Duck.
Kind regards, Aidan & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2020 via mobile

Really enjoy this great café. The food is amazing as is the coffee!
Love the grilled fresh asparagus on sourdough bread with homemade hummus and pesto with wilted spinach. Really yummy! Also the Avocado with mozzarella, poached eggs and grilled baby tomatoes on sourdough bread with an amazing dressing. Wow!
A great place to just drop in. Aidan you and your team are super.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank karenHE_dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesleyo755, Owner at The hungry Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2020

Thank you for your lovely review Karen we are so pleased you enjoy the Hungry Duck and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best wishes, Aidan & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The hungry Duck also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The hungry Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.